We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tabano

El Tabano
Beach Road Tulum, Boca Paila Km.7, Tulum, Mexico
+52 984 134 2706
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 223 Restaurants in Tulum
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Inmersed in a lushious garden in the jungle side, El Tábano is a favorite amongst neighbors and visitors alike. Serving homemade flavor infused with regional character, and a touch of the chefs personality into each dish- it is a true experience of all senses.Family warmth, exquisite taste, fresh and creative food prepared right in front of you . And if you like to take the recepies, just come into our kitchen and live the joy of cooking with us.The staff is always happy to share the secrets in exchange of a smile.
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Divine Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Loved the food at El Tabano! Prepared with care and love by local chefs. Outstanding selection of dishes. I would only suggest that the bar and bar service improves.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    129
    54
    24
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glen, NH
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had an excellent dinner here. This restaurant has tons of character, and the food and service were very good. I took a star off because, on the night we visited, it was buggy because of a shower that afternoon. The building does not get much light, so the bugs like it. But really, the choices are many and the food will not disappoint.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food at El Tabano is more interesting and complex than most of what can be found on or near the beach, though it wouldn't bother me to see a vegetable once in awhile. The jungle setting is wonderful as well and the massive numbers of mosquitoes can attest to that. Seven or eight bites in less than an hour and some of them through two layers of clothes. Wow. They were really hungry. What was really irritating though, was the price gouging on wine, and to a lesser extent on food. Nearly everything in Tulum is more expensive than elsewhere in Mexico, but 80 pesos for a meager glass of ordinary Mexican wine is a bit much. Most everyone else in the neighborhood charges 50 or 60 (already high for Mexico) and often for a better wine. My advice, if you're looking for a tasty meal try El Tabano, but bring lots of insect repellent and lots of money. Buen provecho!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you can't join them, eat them!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Successful places in Tulum work because they have their own style and stick to their concept. This one is a sweet winner too!
El Tabano is your own livingroom. Build heaven out of whatever you have at hand.
Highly creative kitchen, funky friendly skilled and open bartenders.
Try their Loma Bonita, a mezcal based beauty.
Or just tell the staff your taste of the moment and they prepare you a custom made virgin that in my case was spot on, without exception.

Many people would like to work as a member of the team in this place. And that happiness on the workfloor is a guarantee for a good vibe...
Cheers!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslox2
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Home made fine cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a truly exciting culinary evening! As it is me and my husbands first time in Mexico, and our only experience with Mexican food is tacos and ceviche in other countries, I'm not sure if I can call this restaurant "authentic". But we are very experienced gourmet eaters, and we both agreed that this restaurant was EXQUISITE. Everything was super fresh and exploding with flavor. We had stuffed jalapeños and ceviche to start with, then a shrimp pepper grating and their signature red chicken as mains. This roadside joint kicks most New York cities fancy places [--]!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tabano also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Tabano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tabano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.