We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Creative Food - Slow Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tabano

El Tabano
Beach Road Tulum, Boca Paila Km.7, Tulum, Mexico
984.134.2706
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #66 of 191 restaurants in Tulum
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Inmersed in a lushious garden in the jungle side, El Tábano is a favorite amongst neighbors and visitors alike. Serving homemade flavor infused with regional character, and a touch of the chefs personality into each dish- it is a true experience of all senses.Family warmth, exquisite taste, fresh and creative food prepared right in front of you . And if you like to take the recepies, just come into our kitchen and live the joy of cooking with us.The staff is always happy to share the secrets in exchange of a smile.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, Creative Food - Slow Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The food at El Tabano is very good. Dishes are creative and very flavorful. The ambiance is very nice, but as other reviewers have mentioned, there are lots of mosquitos. I had repellent, so this was not so much of an issue.
The restaurant is clearly very successful and by 7:00 pm is extremely busy.
We waited with our 2-year-old for 35 minutes for the check to come. Besides that, however, the experience was great, and I will be going back for sure!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    309
    120
    51
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“pleasant place, but very odd service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

El Tabano is located on the beach strip southeast of Tulum, and it definitely has a beach vibe - very laid back. The meal was very good, and the setting is charming, but we were pretty sure our server was stoned. It was quite bizarre. We would defiitely go back for the food and setting, but it is difficult to whole-heartedly endorse a place when the server had trouble finding our table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Definitely overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant setup changed since last year.. Not for the best. I the past you were eating in a sort of organized jungle.. Now nothing really special.
The food was just ok.. But definitely not the kind of food you expect for same price as new york.
So the overall experience was more than disapointing.
The service was just ok, the waitresse was vry nice and helpful.
So i recommend to find another place to eat...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The food was great and so was the service. The wine selection is excellent as well.
Bring your mosquito spray! If you forget they usually have some. Most of the restaurants in Tulum that are not on the breezy beach front will have mosquitos. There is only so much one can do to keep them away.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We didn;t even bother to sit down.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Service was so poor (we got shoved to the bar to wait to be seated, then watched people arrive and get seated before us) that we left and went elsewhere. Had a lovely experience there a year ago. Now they've added a bar and other new bits and the place is buzzing but the whole friendly vibe has disappeared. Seems like they may be a victim of their own success. For a more enjoyable experience try the place next door. We did.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tabano also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Tabano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tabano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.