We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average budget stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Sol

Save Saved
You added Casa del Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa del Sol
No. 815 Polar Pte | Entre Saturno y Luna Nte., Tulum, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 64 Specialty lodging in Tulum
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average budget stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Arrived late at night, and most of the beach hostels were fully booked. A private room (hut) for two persons was 300$ pesos, which is OK (although it was the most expensive stay in our Mexico-Belize trip, maybe Tulum is a bit more pricey than other locations). Rooms are very basic, but we were surprised that during the heavy rainfall at night, almost no water came through the roof (made of palmtree leaves, as most of the huts in Mexico). And yes, there are cockroaches, but we saw them everywhere in Tulum (the town). The owner made banana pancakes for breakfast, good atmoshpere during the evening/morning as most of the visitors were backpackers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    22
    20
    17
    11
See reviews for
4
40
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Private room so dump the bed was wet. The private bathroom definitelly needs maintenance. As a private room it wasn't cheaper than any hoter hotel room we stayed during our travels. The place has great potential with some effort but I wouldn't go back there. Shame

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Moved here for a few nights after the Weary Traveller hostel closed down after our first night and it turned out to be much better. Decent breakfast. Bikes available to rent for the cycle to the beach. Our room was big and decent value. Good spot for meeting other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I chose this hostel because I arrived late at night and it was close to the bus station. The brochure at the bus station showed a nice looking pace and it promised 5% discount on prices with other services such as breakfast etc.
I was advised the discount did not apply because it was the low season and the price was already reduced (this should be written on the flyer). The dorm was dark and dirty and I was not enitirely sure the sheets were clean. There was a cockroach crawling over another guest's water bottle and the room stank. The whole place stank. The bathrooms weren't much better. The owner was nice enough but something needs to be done about the cleanliness issue. There is no air-con either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Great informative and friendly hosts who were willing to go the extra mile for customers. (Desperately needed to do laundry last minute and even though they don't provide this service, they made an exception for us and for a very humble fee.) Very clean rooms and have excellent breakfast (included). Cheap rental for snorkels and bikes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerville, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Best thing about this place is the family who are perfect hosts. Carlos is the boss and he is a very laid back, friendly and lovely fellow.
Great value rooms. Great social area. We are very happy we chose Casa Del Sol. We usually stay mid range price rooms but decided to go to a hostel for some social interaction - we found plenty!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a private cabana, it was 300/night and 50 key deposit (best value we found).

The place has free breakfast (crepe w banana + cafe), wifi, hot showers, huge stocked kitchen, fridge, cheap bike rental (50/day) and a jacuzzi. Our cabana was authentic but quite basic with only a bed and fan. The architecture at the hostel is impressive, very cool vibe.

Alberto was running the place when we were there, very nice guy. Be aware that you can catch a collectivo from the main road to the ruins for not much (they dont tell you that) or a bus from The Weary Traveller at 9am for 15 pesos return.

Only issue with the place was the location, a little further than the rest. But its not that bad only 10 mins walk from bus terminal. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol

Address: No. 815 Polar Pte | Entre Saturno y Luna Nte., Tulum, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 64 Specialty lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Constructed, less than a year ago, in a quiet neighborhood only a block off of Tulum Ave. this 58 bed plus hammock and tent Hostel has everything from Private Rooms with a Private bath and kitchenette (no appliances) to a place rooftop terrace to hang a hammock or pitch a tent on the roof of or dorms. Old Mexican-Mayan Charm. We even have a Mayan Te Mascal Temple in the garden. Cabanas are cool and Dorms have solid wood bunks with thick mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sol Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.