We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific restaurant. Must try” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Margherita

Posada Margherita
Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 4,5, Tulum, Mexico
+52 984 801 8493
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 204 restaurants in Tulum
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific restaurant. Must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Delicious pasta and wonderful staff. Had dinner here twice in 4 days with my children. Did not realize the restaurant was cash only until after we sat down and ordered drinks. Hostess told us not to worry and that we can return the next day to pay for the meal. We still reminisce about the meal now that we are home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    796
    187
    93
    57
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“About as Italian as Sauerkraut!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this restaurant left me feeling cheated. The Italian wine list seemed overpriced for the quality offered; our meal was tasteless and bland; and the bill was the most expensive we've had since arriving in Tulum. If this was a taste of Italy, I'm not hungry

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food was delicious, one of the best Italian meals I have had since I lived in Florence. The service was excellent and I loved the look and feel of the restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munka-Ljungby, Skåne Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere, sooo italian!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

First time I visited the place was in sept 2012, and second some days ago. The place is awsome, and it shows on the number of parking cars outside. The best is the antipasto plate every quest gets before the food. LOVELY focaccia and many other good things.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The entrance to Posada Margherita was beautiful! And when you got to the seating area it looked very enchanting. We ordered drinks and a nice man sat down and explained their menu to us. They had just a few choices but they were all freshly made.
The they brought out a long dish of appetizers, then dinner.
My husband had the fish of the night Vera Cruz style, he loved it. I had the shrimp pasta.. It was really good. We finished up with tiramisu that was light and delicious a great finish to a great meal!
I definitely would return on my next visit to Tulum!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posada Margherita also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Posada Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Margherita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.