We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest dining experiences ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Margherita

Posada Margherita
Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 4,5, Tulum, Mexico
+52 984 801 8493
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 279 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“One of the nicest dining experiences ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

after some cocktails, I mistakenly doused my delicious pasta with salt, thinking it was parmesan cheese, ruining the dish. The hostess asked if anything was wrong, since I left the pasta untouched, I did devour the excellent lobster, however. I explained my mistake, and she offered to bring me another dish. When I declined, she came back a few moments later and invited us to dine with them again at their expense. I was blown away by this unexpected generosity. We had another fabulous meal the next night. They refused to take any money, not even tip or wine, which I offered to pay for. Delicious food, great people.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank reidschaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent drinks, Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our party of six dined on a Monday evening at Posada Margherita. Restaurant was very busy.
We enjoyed evrything from the apetizer to the dessert. Alessandro was our serverand he was awesome, very helpful for reccomandations on wine, apetizers , entrees and desserts.
Entire experience was enjoyable and food was very good. Worth the visit if you are in Tulum. Thanks again Alex

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carsem80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't get the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

No flavour, just beautiful setting....too bad the food is not good. Very nice service though.
If you want mediocre food at an expensive price, this is the place for you

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was one of my best meals in Mexico. Food was excellent, service was great and prices are reasonable. Ambiance is very relaxed and welcoming. All pasta is home-made and everything is super-fresh. Definitely a must-do in Tulum. Make sure you come hungry (portion sizes are large)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We went as a family group of 6 the last time we went there and it was perfect (as was the time before that but I was not a member then ;) They made our pasta to order, not only cooked but made my pasta to order and it was perfect, with the fresh prawns, the talented kitchen crew, and the manager/owner who is a delight, this place is a must visit!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posada Margherita also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Posada Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing