We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Margherita

Posada Margherita
Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 4,5, Tulum, Mexico
+52 984 801 8493
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 250 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pricey, but good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had the snapper cooked in sea water - a must!! Also tried the shrimp in brandy sauce which was excellent. They are full shrimp so it was messy peeling them, but well worth it. Keep in mind you are served appetizers also, so we were very full when we left. My favorite is always the fish in sea water, we order it every time we go.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    943
    242
    112
    68
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
““Posada Margherita.....It's All About The Food!!””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We drove out to Tulum while staying in the Rivera Maya to eat at Posada MARGHERITA after recommendations on many foodie blogs. We were warmly welcomed by Alessandro who runs the front of house with complimentary focaccia and olive oil/balsamic, bruschetta and marinated cauliflower to get started. The entire apetizer plate, a house speciality, was just excellent.

Alessandro made some house recommendations and he helped us with the wine list.

The mains arrived, both well presented, just as ordered and nicely accompanied.. My seafood pasta was as good as I've had (I've eaten this dish all over the world) and my wife ate all of a generous and very visual red snapper plate which is unusual for her so that speaks for itself. While we were enjoying our mains the chef came out to check our progress, turns out the chef is il patrone, Federico! It's always a good sign when the proprietor runs a restaurant from the kitchen, it means its all about the food. We finished the meal with a massive tiramisu shared between us and this too was just excellent and so authentic. We paid a moderate bill for a near perfect meal and left with warm farewells from Alessandro and Federico. Very highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The food quality does not deserve the exccesive price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The restaurant welcomes you with a free appetizer. It is based exclusively on bread. iIf you gift something you make sure is your best presentation but it isn't. The main course it is just quantity but there is place for quality. I doubt the freshness of the pasta as I do about the seafood. It is overated, from my point of view it is an avarage restaurant.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Location is perfect - on a beach. Food was good and different from other restaurants nearby. Lower prices could be found in other bars.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netarts, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Tad expensive, but the pasta is fresh and the sauce is tasty. Our favorite place to eat in Tulum and the only place we had to go back to more than once during our stay.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posada Margherita also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Posada Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Margherita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.