We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my most memorable lunches - ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Azul Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Playa Azul Tulum to your Saves list
Playa Azul Tulum
Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 8 | Tulum Beach, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of my most memorable lunches - ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We didn't stay here (maybe next time!) but went for lunch on a recommendation. Five of us had the lobster burritos which were AMAAAAZING. The guacamole starter was fantastic too and all the staff very friendly and professional. A truly memorable day.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    101
    26
    14
    8
See reviews for
48
243
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We went for our honeymoon and had an amazing time. The theme is eco-chic so don't expect air conditioning and lavish bedrooms, but they keep it very clean. The rooms have a nice bohemian touch and the beds are very comfortable.

The beach is absolutely gorgeous and beach staff are always available for drinks or food. Speaking of food, we were very impressed with the Monterrey chef. Several nights, we opted to stay at our hotel rather than explore the plethora of quality options that Tulum has to offer. The tostadas salpicos(sp?) and the fruta fresca were my favorites. Great live music too.

Finally, we were fortunate to have tremendous help. Jose, the concierge, was welcoming and suave. Arturo, one of the waiters, was gregarious and attentive, and Jessica, the manager, ensured our stay was special when she learned of our honeymoon and a social connection between my wife and her. Bravo Playa Azul!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Good location, the beach was perfect! The service was wonderful and friendly. Loved the cabana however the bed could have been softer. We really enjoyed the cute details such as the conch shell shower outside the cabana. The water in the showers is a bit salty but it works fine. The restaurant was good, excellent breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cintagliata
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just reviewing the restaurant. We came here on the recommendation of a woman from Monterrey who works in a local shop. We tried the aguachile, a sort of cooked ceviche, and it was wonderful--plump seafood and just the right amount of lime tang and onion crunch. The location, right on the playa, was unforgettable. And our waiter, Arturo, was charming and very attentive, as was another named Sergio.

Highly recommend coming here for friendly service with a good price for the zona hotelera!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playaazultulum, General Manager at Playa Azul Tulum, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hello there!!

We're very happy to read you enjoyed the time spent with us at Playa Azul's restautant and our famous ceviche!
I'll make sure Arturo and Segio get your nice comments on their service.
Thank you very much

Yeye Ramz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Playa Azul in Tulum! The grounds and cabanas are beautiful. The restaurant was beautiful as well with good food, service and reasonable prices. The staff there is very accommodating and I was so thankful that 2 security guy's were there to let us in our room when we arrived at 3:30am on the ADO bus from Belize! The shower was wonderful, the bed was comfortable, The mosquito netting (although not needed) was very nicely done, the hammock was perfect and the cabana was clean and bug free. The location was great, secluded yet a nice walk to everything. I highly recommend Playa Azul and hope to return with my kids next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playaazultulum, General Manager at Playa Azul Tulum, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for recommending Playa Azul Tulum :)
It would be our pleasure to receive you and your family on your next visit.
It's always nice to see how new guests become frequent visitors.

Really looking forward to your next visit!
Yeye Ramz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Loved the hotel, the staff and people were friendly and helpful. It was clean and beautiful views! There are many cute boutiques and great places to venture out to nearby. The restaurant was good and there are many great options for food nearby as well. The water was amazing and the beaches were clean. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playaazultulum, General Manager at Playa Azul Tulum, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hello Amy,

Thank you for taking the time to write down a review about your stay with us.
We take our guest's feedback very serious in our seek to achieve excellence, by improving ourselves every day.

Have a good one :)
Yeye Ramz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Turquoise water in one of the best beaches of Tulum.
My husband and I stayed at Playa Azul Tulum last January in cabin #2 and trust me... all you see is clear blue water on the beach and thin white sand beneath your feet. Just like a postcard!
The cabana is neat and simple, but it somehow gives you a sense of coziness with the mosquito net around the bed and the big wooden trunk as a safe (like if you were a pirate!)
They have a hip beach bar with a deck right in front of the ocean serving fresh ceviche and great frozen margaritas!
Overall, it was a nice surprise and exceeded our expectations... strongly recommend it!

Oh and Donovan was very helpful when it came to inquiring about kite-lessons and was able to arrange this for my husband... thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playaazultulum, General Manager at Playa Azul Tulum, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Wow! Thanks so much for your beautiful review.
It's always rewarding to read how our guest notice the little details and efforts from all of our staff.
Glad you enjoyed the room setup and the incredible views from our cabanas :)

Be sure to come back any time!
Yeye Ramz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Azul Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 8 | Tulum Beach, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul sits on an incredible stretch of beach, close to the Mayan ruins. There is a kite school, with IKO certified instructors, and a full-service beach bar with service on the beach. The two-story restaurant and lounge provides the best views on the beach in Tulum! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your Playa Azul Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Tulum Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Azul Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.