We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Cabana #22” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Azul Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Playa Azul Tulum to your Saves list
Playa Azul Tulum
Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 8 | Tulum Beach, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Cabana #22”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Playa Azul. Every cabana here is very different as far as we could tell, so my opinions refer to #22 which is located a bit back into the jungle, but still on the sand and a very short walk to the beach. This cabana offers the most privacy, I believe the only or one of few with its own locked fenced in outdoor courtyard of tropical plants and trees. There is a large outdoor tub/hot tub - 2 hammocks - an outdoor shower made out of conch shells - and a seperate outdoor seating area. This was extremely romantic for honeymoon purposes - don't let the off-beach location deter you! (Although, we split our stay between this room and a beachfront room at Luv Tulum/Amor room further down the beach to have both experiences. Having a beachfront view is amazing, but we felt #22 at PA was much more comfortable and private, which is nice for a honeymoon). The beds are very comfortable and large, much more comfortable than other beachfront places. This was nice as it rained most of our stay, making us thankful for a comfortable indoor area to sleep and lounge. There is a large heavy chest to lock up your valuables for security, which was a nice plus we did not experience at the later place we stayed. The shower is also massive and very romantic, with water always hot and flowing out of shower shells. The restaurant here was pretty good and typically priced for the area - around 200 pesos give or take for most entrees. The food was not amazing, but good. I highly recommend the lime soup, and the lobster and fish were very fresh. The complimentary breakfasts are also good, although somewhat basic. We ordered on the menu one day to break it up, and the huevos divorciados and eggs in a pot were both very good. Service was good - Daniella was awesome. We enjoyed the bar thoroughly - 2 for 1 deals each of the 3 days we were were there, which included exotic well crafted frozen cocktails at reasonable prices. Gilberto was an excellent bartender here - very personable and talented -we thought about returning after we left to the next hotel just to spend time at his bar. The bar also plays excellent music - relaxing but not your typical well known beach songs. The grounds are immacculate, and check-in and out was quick and friendly. Reception gave us a map of the area, and was able to thoroughly explain directions to requested places. Parking was plentiful. Being low season, we were amazingly some of the only people at the resort. Fresh water is plentifully available at reception, very important as you can't drink the water here. Wi-fi was only available at the restaurant and reception unfortunately, which is common of Tulum beachfront hotels. We are unfortunatley unable to say much about the beach chairs, as it rained most of our stay, but they seemed comfortable and plentiful. The beach was clean - with seaweed raked up every morning. This place is also very artistic with lots of character - having a hotel mascot, artfully decorated placemats, etc. We never had problems with electricity, and there was a large ceiling fan which kept us cool during our stay. We would definately return to Playa Azul.

Room Tip: Cabana 22 is beautiful and very private - with a private locked outdoor courtyard with 2 hammocks, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    101
    26
    14
    8
See reviews for
48
243
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Binningen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Altogether we enjoyed our stay at Playa Azul.
4 nights in Cabana 2 (USD 160.-/night incl. breakfast).

I have to say that we only stayed once before in a bungalow and we realized that we don't like bungalows. I love mother nature but I don't like insects ;)

PRO
* we liked the breakfast: divers choice of bread, fruits, coffee, orange juice.
* the bar and restaurant was so cool
* cabana was at the very front at the beach
* nice balcony/forecourt with a hammock and two chairs and a side table

CONTRA
* laundry service: the clothes were smelling fumy and one short was missing!
* 2 cockroaches, a lot of big red ants, a lot of tiny little ants or the like
* moscito net was too short at the head so ants woke me up in two nights *ew*
* lavatory was ugly smelling each time you turn on the water (only salty water as they have to cleanse it by themselve)
* towels and bedcover had sometimes orange blotches

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

As a couple that loves good vibes and celeb' honey moon - this place is just what we hoped to find.
The people are more the great - very friendly and kind.
Best organic experience we had so far in Mexico!
Very recommended for relex and rewind.

Bliss

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Where do I start? My girlfriend and I planned our first trip to Mexico about three months ago. We both agreed that we wanted a not so crowded, quiet place and Playa Azul was perfect! As soon as we got to the hotel we were immediately greeted by Olga, she was very kind and warm. She had seen that the room we booked was not the greatest, so she offered us a free upgrade for 4 days with a room facing the ocean. Something that she could have charged us for but she didnt. She also offered us a cabana right near the ocean for only $20 extra a night after the 4 night stay.

After checking in our bags were immediately taken to our room by the staff, and Olga showed us all the rooms and gave a quick tour of the hotel. Being new to Mexico we had a ton of questions, mainly about food!:) The restaurant food was amazing at the hotel, lobster pasta was off the hook, and the Mexican ceviche was to die for!! Breakfast was of course free every morning and Manuel was our server almost the whole time we were there so he almost knew everytime what we wanted. For breakfast there were about 3 choices: French toast, crossiant, or pancakes, I personally tried them all and all were amazing!

The front desk staff was super super awesome! Olga, Antonio, Pepe aka Joseph, and Paula were always very very helpful and always dedicated their time to us even if they were busy! They helped us pick local restaurants find the cheapest ways to get around and gave us ideas on what activities to do. They were very very knowledgeable and treated us just like family! They did everything they could to make our stay comfortable and memorable.

Local restaurants are the way to go if you want cheap delicious meals, our favorite was rincon chaepaneca (spelling totally off but pronounced rin-con chap-o-neca), you get a large plate of whatever you order and either a liter of whatever soda, or agua de fruta. (the jamica will make u use the bathroom the other way but tastes soo good!) two plates with two large drinks was only $9.

If you like laying on the beach then this is the only choice for you and the perfect one! The staff made sure that the whole beach was raked every morning and there was little to no seeweed. The beach was never crowded and you can swim anytime, the water was so clear you can see large fish while swimming and I also got to see 3 sting rays swimming along shore.

The whole trip I had absoultely no complaints with anything! The people were so friendly and warm hearted! We were treated like V.I.Ps everyday! Just an overall amazing experience and I will be returning to Playa Azul!!! Love that place!!!

Room Tip: any room facing the water will help you sleep at night if you cant stand the heat
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Playa Azul first week of Sept. THE perfect ultimate beach vacation to totally unplug/relax/breathe/enjoy life. I'll put it this way: Expereince was SO good that I want to quit my job, move down there and work with them barefoot in the sand everyday!! In addition to the hotel itself being great, super clean, beautiful and literally on the sand; the beach, water and location is perfect. Secluded and peaceful, yet you can walk up the beach to other places to eat (or rent a bike there at Playa Azul, it was really fun to get around this way - just dont go at night as we did...way too dark to see) or do a little shopping. However, there is no need to leave as Playa Azul has everything you need and brings it to you at your beach chair. Food is great and priced well. Breakfast that comes with the room is fantastic with a handful of choices. Each cabana has an outdoor shower to rinse off and most with a conch shell shower 'head' like the sinks do in each bathroom. There is so much to say, but will conclude with the highlight of our entire trip: Baby sea turtles hatching and appearing out of the sand everywhere our 2nd night there (and more the next 2 nights), what an amazing once in a lifetime experience. We are very thankful to discover the gem Playa Azul, the team there works very hard to make your stay fabulous and very helpful on excursions, tours etc. too. We are going back next year and taking friends with us, so much more to explore in the Tulum area and really have no desire to try another place to stay. We know a good thing when we find it !!! What we would change: Stay longer !

Room Tip: For ocean breeze: choose a beach front cabana, a 2nd floor cabana or a room (they are on the 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was there from 9/10-9/15 and thank god for Trip Advisor for this platform, since cause of the reviews and pictures I decided to stay here. We were in cabana #1 beachfront, had our own little private entrance to/from the room to the beach. Tulum is truly a magical place, this place was so clean, the food was always on point. The beach was private and deserted, we felt alone all the time. We even slept with no locks!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent 7 beautiful nights at Playa Azul. From the front desk to the room to the bar/restaurant to the beach-it was fantastic. The entire staff was attentive, friendly, and knowledgable. We felt as if we were among friends not service staff! The room was very comfortable, quirky and immaculate. The food and drinks were excellent. The beach was one of the best maintained for kilometers. And the staff was wonderful! We can't say enough about them. The staff make a beautiful resort perfect! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Stayed in room #19 and always had a nice breeze at night. Even though it was close to the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Azul Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 8 | Tulum Beach, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Tulum
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul sits on an incredible stretch of beach, close to the Mayan ruins. There is a kite school, with IKO certified instructors, and a full-service beach bar with service on the beach. The two-story restaurant and lounge provides the best views on the beach in Tulum! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Playa Azul Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Tulum Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Azul Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.