We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Azul Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Playa Azul Tulum to your Saves list
Playa Azul Tulum
Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 8 | Tulum Beach, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

After weeks of research and eliminating possible hotel choices, we opted for Playa Azul. What was our criterion? Beach front accomodation, located on the best beach possible and Mexican Food (surprisingly a lot of hotels serve other cuisine) - Playa Azul ticked all of those boxes.

About the hotel:

We spent one night in a suite above the restaurant - it was gorgeous (room 17) and I fell in love with the overall design and impressed by the little extra's - quirky decorative peices which made you feel you were somewhere 'different'. On the downside, the room was incredibly hot and we didn't get a good nights sleep (so much for all of the reviews saying the first floor rooms get better breezes - we did not find this to be the case).

The next three days were spent in Cabana 15, the most beachfront location of all of the cabanas. This was amazing and we were the envy of many of the people we met. (although no one was complaining about their rooms either). The room was a good size, great decorative order (not sure why people are saying the rooms are 'rustic' and not as the pictures depict - we did not find this to be the case) and a nicely laid out bath area. Be warned however that there are no doors between the bath/toilet area and the sleeping area.

The food and drink were all very good. Service is laid back - as you would expect however there was nothing that we were told 'no' to - i.e. lunch menu for dinner? sure! Substitutions at breakfast? not a problem!! and speaking of breakfast, the included continental breakfast consists of fresh fruit and an amazingly fresh croissant... excellent. I couldn't fault a thing.

The beach area that the hotel sits on is THE BEST in the area. They staff rake it every morning. We took long walks down the beach and can honestly say, Playa Azul sits directly on the best part. It is breath taking. And yes, there are hotels which sit on rocky,and narrow strips of beach. However as another traveller pointed out this also means people not staying in the hotel come down to Playa Azul and use the beach facilities so grab your space early.

So - why the bad reviews?

If you are expecting a cabana boy and michelin star table service, this is not the place for you. Then again, that would include all places in Tulum. Tulum is not a cheap seaside holiday destination. Nor is it cheap to eat out and drink (neighbouring Posada Margharita has fantastic pasta dishes - the least expensive being near to £12) - so if you are visiting the area you need to consider this and the hotel should not necessarily be faulted for this as it seems par for course.

Also - this is not the far east where you will get people willing to wait on you hand and foot in order to provide services (in return for tips etc) - the locals are quite laid back although hard working people. There is a true carribean vibe.

There are some very elegant and world class hotels / resorts located all the way down the Riveria Maya so there are options if you would prefer someting more luxurious (i.e. with air conditioning, better electricity etc) however if you want a beach front, eco chic experience, Tulum is the place and we can not recommend Playa Azul enough.

Back to the hotel....

I could write about it for days however you probably get the idea by now... if you take the time to look around and see how beautiful it all is, there really is nothing to complain about. We had a dream stay at Playa Azul.

Room Tip: Cabana 15 is amazing - with a great sea breeze at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    101
    26
    14
    8
See reviews for
48
243
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

After staying a couple nights in the actual town of Tulum, we opted to move to the beach for three more nights, and chose Playa Azul. All cabana were booked so we settled into room 20, one of a few over the restaurant/bar. The view of the beach/ocean was fantastic from our balcony. Don't know if this happens regularly, but our power went out each night at different times throughout our stay. The bar below had music that was quite loud, so if you're a light sleeper or one who hits the sack early, better get a cabana. Service in the restaurant was extremely slow, though the wait staff was pleasant and the food was good once it arrived. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We would book there again, but perhaps eat somewhere else if you're the least bit impatient (who wants to be impatient when you're in paradise?!)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed in cabana #6 at Playa Azul Tulum for four nights in March. The beach and the water are absolutely amazing, and the location is fantastic. The grounds are kept very nice and everyone is very friendly. I think that the location is great and you can rent a bike for $10 if you want to explore the area. You will also need to get a taxi to get around, which can be costly if you don't negotiate.
We really enjoyed the cabana but at night it gets really dark. So, for women I would advise to get showered etc early. Also, you can't use a hair dryer but there are outlets in the bedroom and bathroom for your phone etc. I would recommend to bring a bug repellant because we came home with bites on our legs. Also, a few mosquitoes still found their way into our bed. The only main complaint is the bed. My husband and I both woke up with sore backs. But, the beach, water, food and location are worth it. If you are looking for a relaxing trip in a beautiful/minimalist environment then I would recommend this location.

Room Tip: Cabana #6 is central and has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Went in March 2012. Stayed in Cabana 1 and Cabana 4.

This place is a pretty cute little hotel and i would recommend it to couples or maybe a few friends. The restaurant is good but a little pricey ( so is everywhere in Tulum though) and the rooms were nice. I liked Cabana 1 as it provided more privacy and the best was facing the ocean so we could just lay there with the wind blowing through the door. The restaurant / Bar is never noisy at night so we were relieved. The wash-rooms are a little rustic but not bad.

The staff at Playa were all amazing. The bartender was hilarious and the receptionists were both extremely helpful and honest.

The best thing about Playa Azul is the beach. It is probably one if not the best spot along that stretch of beach. They rake and clean it every morning. The only downfall is that because it is so nice, people from other resorts come and pay to sit on the lounge chairs. If you don't get up and put your towel out by about 930, you will have a hard time getting chairs under the umbrellas. Hopefully they realize this and either reserve some for the guests or put more out.

All in all my GF and I had a wonderful time and would definitely come back in the future.

Room Tip: I really liked Cabana 1. It is quite windy in Tulum so having a cabana off the beach actually has s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed cabin 14 in Feb 2012. Tree house feel, fabulous hammock on balcony facing into the trees. Had own pet iguana that sat on the wood railings sunning himself. Just a great place - the bar staff were very attentive and friendly especially Jonathon. Food again genuine, cheap and yummy. Nicer area of the beach, less seaweed so not smelly at all. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed in the hotel 2 nights, in cabin 22. On the plus sides, the hotel's restaurant has limited variety but what we tried was good, honest food. Had a massage there which was also very good and reasonably priced (USD70 for 60 mins). On the negative side, Cabin 22 is relatively open, so we had water coming into the room on our last day when it was raining. Also, the outdoor area is nice, but poorly lit, so you dont make use of it at night and it is not so well-kept as to be useful during the day. The shower drain was also deffective, creating a swamp of water every time you used it, drying up only a long time afterwards. Service was nice but needs a tweak, had no umbrellas for us to use or buy (and it was pouring cats and dogs) and no one offered to help us put the bags in our car (despite the super intense rain). I would still go to Tulum because it is simply amazing and the beach is gorgeous, in a laid back kind of way. But would probably give one of the other hotels a try. Recommendation, take the pictures with a grain of salt, the place is a lot more rustic.

Room Tip: Expect more rustic-ness than the pictures suggest and dont be afraid of bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We found this hotel to be Clean, trendy and with a great food, not to mention that is located at the best part of Tulum beach. We were at room n:2 and we couldn't ask for more... maybe for some the price is hi, but all Tulum is! .We specially like from this hotel that works most of the time with eolic energy, what for us is a big plus this days! it's nice to turn on the light and know that the wind make it works. WI-FI works perfect.
I recomentd getting a massage, Carlos the therapist is really good, and at the restaurant we loved the lobster " al mojo de ajo" the best of my life! Thanks playa azul team for this great days, we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Azul Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila Km 8 | Tulum Beach, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul sits on an incredible stretch of beach, close to the Mayan ruins. There is a kite school, with IKO certified instructors, and a full-service beach bar with service on the beach. The two-story restaurant and lounge provides the best views on the beach in Tulum! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your Playa Azul Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Tulum Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Azul Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.