We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not an Eco Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nueva Vida de Ramiro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Save
You added Nueva Vida de Ramiro to your Saves list
Km. 8.5 | Carretera Tulum Boca Paila, Tulum, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not an Eco Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel provides the basics and what it has going for it is the beach front location and price , which is why it's receiving great ratings. However it is not necessarily an Eco friendly hotel. Cheap Plastics elements are everywhere in and outside the rooms, the label Eco Hotel pretty much used to attract tourist and justify some of the short comings that could have been provided in an Eco friendly way. In essence if you use the definition Eco Hotel that defines this place, than pretty much all hotels in Tulum are Eco Hotels. So, if you are looking for the basics in a beach front hotel, this place will do, however there are other places in Tulum to choose from.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear RobertHajdu:

It seems your reason to rate us so low is the use of plastic. We are really sorry you feel that way, it's true, we do use plastic, most in the water bottles we provide to our guests, which, as well as any other plastics that are thrown either in the trashcans placed in many locations around the hotel specified as non organic waste or in the waste bins in the rooms, also any plastic trash that might be collected in the mornings when cleaning all our beach strip, all these are carefully separated and taken every week to the recycle center in town which we help build with our donations.
We really do make an effort to keep as ecological as possible, our energy is solar and aolic, reason why we do not allow the use of hairdryers or irons and why path lights are turned off at 11 p.m. We do not shut down the electricity in the rooms for the comfort of our guests, yet we do ask kindly to turn off the fans and lights when not in the room.
We have ongoing coconut and chit reforestation, we follow a low density ideal, reason why we are chosen by guests new and returning, for the quiet and privacy of our accommodations.
It is because because of our known compromise that we are one of the centers of the conservation of marine turtles in the Mayan Riviera, providing housing and food for the volunteers every year from May to November. Among being always active and present in projects that threaten the ecosystem of our surroundings.
We are sorry you did not mention your discomfort when you visited, we would have gladly explained in person the above and give you a tour of our installations and you might have had a more pleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    121
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
50
412
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

La Nueva Vida de Ramiro couldn't be better, the reception was always very helpful. We spent the first few nights in the Lirio Garden Room which is not on the beach but we LOVED it, so private and cozy, the beach was only a two minute walk away! If you are on a budget don't hesitate to reserve this room, it is beautiful. We spent the last night on the beach in Room 3 (can't remember the name!) and it was wonderful but after staying in Lirio I have to imagine all of the rooms here are amazing. The breakfast was really nice, fruit cups, freshly baked bread, and pretty decent coffee. The lunch and dinner menu are pretty pricey but we realized that is just a characteristic of Tulum beach restaurants, if you want more affordable incredible food venture into town! Overall we would definitely return, nothing beats laying on a one of La Nueva Vida's beach beds looking out into the beautiful blue water of the Caribbean.

I have to comment on SunnyBlueSky2014's review, you do realize that in Mexico and nearly every other developing country south of the United States you don't flush your toilet paper? That is not just some eco rule of La Nueva, not everywhere has the complex infrastructure it takes to be able to flush paper down a toilet….reconsider traveling outside the US if this disgusts you so much.

Room Tip: Beach rooms are amazing but we loved Lirio Garden Room, so quiet and private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The accommodations are great, well equipped, clean and comfy. We stayed in a villa and loved it!! A nice breakfast is included which can even be delivered to your room.
The one star off is only due to the restaurant that accompanies Nueva Vida, which is mainly meats and such. Very limited, if any, salads and lighter food.
The beach is beautiful.
Tulum itself? well, the hotel area is a crowded road, with different cabana places lining the street, on both sides, all right next to each other, each with it's "own" beach area. All geared towards the tourist.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

After having read the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, we were very excited to spend a few days at this resort. There were some things we were prepared for after reading reviews on tripadvisor like the lack of air conditioning, modern amenities, possibilty of bugs, salt water showers etc. What we were not prepared for was poor service and that is what prompted me to write this review. I usually look at trip advisor to make a decision and this time the reviews were quite different from our experience. We were checked in by Roger who was very unhelpful from the first day on. whenever we needed anything, it took at least 2 visits to the desk before anything got done. there is no phone, so everything required going to the front desk.
Basic supplies like soaps and towels were not replaced when cleaning the room. There is an open drain in the shower and the soap fell in it and we had to ask the cleaning people twice before we could get more soap.
We were woken up on 2 nights with the strong stench of raw sewage. You are not able to flush toilet paper down the toilet and are asked to throw it in a trash can! that was disgusting.
Worst of all when it rained on our last night there, the bathroom roof leaked and there were puddles on the floor making it very slippery. We had to throw down some towels to soak up some water. When the rain stopped, we went down to reception and asked Roger to have the room cleaned and give us some fresh towels. We went for dinner and came back about 3 hrs later and Roger was gone for the day and the job was not done. There was a lady at reception who was very apologetic and helped right-away, but it still required 2 trips.
This was a sharp contrast to the excellent service we received in Merida on the same trip.
Having said that, the beach was beautiful and the location of the resort is perfect. If only the service was better it would have made it an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront room - more breezy and less bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

beautiful natural environment and layout and architecture of the bungalows -- all close to the beach. The management and service were warm and outstanding! The environment was restful and rejuvenating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoYoYogis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

From the moment Roger graciously welcomed us, the day we sadly had to leave, we felt like we were in the arms of an old friend. The oceanfront room was beyond compare. Filtered ocean views through the perfectly manicured trees, the breeze, the sounds, the sights... nothing can compare to this. The property is large with perfect sandy pathways that lead to the cabanas and the beautiful, BEAUTIFUL ocean. Mornings (and a few evenings) at their open air, wood stove, Banana Restaurant was like sitting with family . Love this place and everyone who runs it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Pros: Perfect place to escape the trials of everyday life. Very casual relaxed atmosphere, attentive staff always pleasantly available to meet your needs. Place is amazing. Great management. Bungalows are built into jungle landscape surrounded by lush vegetation providing wonderful privacy. Never bought insect repellent, did get one bite. Didn’t stay beachfront, stayed second row back, had a gusty ocean breeze every night. Wifi a real plus, even connected on the beach.

Guess it depends on what you are looking for, with me it’s all about the beach (have been to many) and this beach is fabulous for walking and NVR has the ideal setup. No hassle over chairs, beds, or umbrellas, all nicely spread out, lots of space between others. Did lots of walking on the beach and didn’t see a better beach setup. Only place I have ever been that provided a beach bag. Waiters from Casa Banana Restaurant (across the street) appeared every day around 11:30 to take orders for lunch, drinks, whatever.

Cons: Poor water pressure. Rooms dim, bring a flashlight. Bungalows close to road probably would get ocean breeze. Casa Banana same free breakfast got old after a few days, could change the selection a bit to make it more appealing. Have to comment though, did not see any other table that left a tip. Also lots of flies and honey bees (after the jam) were annoying. Can order breakfast in advance and have delivered to your bungalow. Casa Banana opens at 7:30am, would be nice to have coffee in lobby of NVR earlier for early risers.

All and all, a wonderful place to stay. Don’t like to go back to places I have been before, but would go back there in a heartbeat. Kudos to the owners and the staff, you do a great job!

Room Tip: Stay as close to beach front as possible to get a good breeze. I was there in February and the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Jamamac:

So grateful for you amazing review, the fact that you would stay again with us makes us very proud and confirms that the hard work and love we put into our little paradise is valued by our guests.
We were surprised though by the comment of the coffee before Casa Banana opens, since we do leave a Nespresso machine every night at 10 p.m. until the next morning when Casa Banana opens at the reception, next to the computer for guests. In fact we are leaving it now until 9 a.m. since many of our guests have grown fond of it.
You will also be receiving at your email a newsletter with a promotional code we sent to all of our returning guest to get a 15% discount in all your future stays with us.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nueva Vida de Ramiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nueva Vida de Ramiro

Address: Km. 8.5 | Carretera Tulum Boca Paila, Tulum, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#19 Family Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Hotel Tulum
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nueva Vida de Ramiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.