We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mayan Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aventuras Mayas

Aventuras Mayas
Carretera Federal Playa del Carmen-Tulum km 2.5 | Riviera Maya, Playa del Carmen 77712, Mexico
+52 (984)8032551
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We are committed to create unique and unforgettable adventures for our guests by providing warm and personalized attention; our excursions aim to show you the beauty and mysticism of the Mayan culture while enjoying the adrenaline rush of our adventures in a family and eco-friendly environment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Decatur, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mayan Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our family of 5 did the Mayan Adventure snorkeling tour. We had a great time, despite the rain! Hugo was our guide and he was fantastic! You visit 3 different sites to snorkel. We saw many fish. It was well worth it. Hugo even let me wear his shirt because I was a little cold....thanks again Hugo!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventurasMayas1, Manager at Aventuras Mayas, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for recomending us to the rest of the world, we are glad you and your family were able to experience a snorkeling day in the company of Hugo who we know will be as honored as we are to read your comments. Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,537
    288
    30
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We did the ziplines, cenote and ATV tour. There were 4 of us (2 adult, 10 and 13 year olds). t first I was a bit scared of the ziplines but after the first one we were hooked.

You do three zip lines, one taller and longer than the next. Then you go swimming in an underground cenote for like 15 minutes. That was beautiful. Watch your head and do not touch anything! Fanny was our tour guide and she was fantastic.

Afterwards we rode the ATVs with Cedric and Carlos (Charile) who were also terrific. First you drive to another cenote where you zip line or dive into the water. That was a lot of fun. Then you drive for a while. The driving course was pretty cool with holes and water. We drove through a narrow construction site, through a town, alongside the highway, jungle. Awesome.

The food buffet was pretty good as well.

There is a photographer taking pictures throughout the whole trip and at the end he shows you all your pictures. How he manages to make a CD with only your pictures by the time you get to the end is amazing. The cost for the CD was $70 and after hesitating we bought it. When we got back to the hotel we laughed so hard at the pictures. It was a well worth purchase!

The tour us will pick you up at your hotel and will also pick up others so be patient. Bring only cash for tips to the tour guides (WELL DESERVED!), the pictures, and if you want to purchase ATV insurance (we did because we had kids but if you are careful, you won't need it).

Overall, amazing service. Thank you Fanny, Cedric, Carlos and picture man (did not catch his name!).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventurasMayas1, Manager at Aventuras Mayas, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for spending an ATV XTreme day with us and recomending us to the rest of the world. We will make sure to share your comments with Fanny, Carlos and Cedric who will be as grateful as we are. We sure hope you choose Mexico for your next holiday. Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great fun and worth every penny. Our guide Juan was the BEST! He took us snorkeling where we saw giant sea turtles, sting rays and a barracuda. The cenota was awesome, and we had a blast on the zip lines and repelling tower. Juan took the time to make sure everyone in our group had a wonderful experience. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventurasMayas1, Manager at Aventuras Mayas, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for recomending us to the rest of the world, we are glad you were able to experience an adventure day in the mayan jungle and snorkel sorrounded by amazing marine life, isn´t nature just amazing. We will congratulate Juan for a great job
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Ahhhhh.......Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked the Mayan Adventure snorkeling trip that included snorkeling 3 different locations. First we snorkeled the ocean inlet where fresh and salt water mixes together. We saw many colorful salt water fish there. Next we snorkeled the cavern cenotes (sink hole) to quote our guide, Israel, it was "refreshing" the water was crystal clear, the stalagmites and stalactites where absolutely beautiful. This was easily my favorite part of the tour. Lastly, we snorkeled the open cenotes. Here we enjoyed a zip line and a 12 foot plunge straight down into the cenotes. Sounds scary but was actually lots of fun! After all that snorkeling we were treated to a delicious prepared lunch that included flavorful chicken, Mexican rice, pico de gallo, guacamole & fresh tortillas. Our guide, Israel, was absolutely fantastic! He was friendly, knowledgeable and fun! In addition, he was concerned with our safety and that each person on our tour had the equipment that they needed ie. prescription snorkel mask to fully enjoy this excursion. I would definitely recommend this excursion to couples & families. I plan to request Israel for our guide on our return trip with our kids.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventurasMayas1, Manager at Aventuras Mayas, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your adventure with the rest of the world! We’re thrilled to read you had such a great day in the company of Israel a.k.a. Izzy . It's an honor that you recommend our adventures to your fellow travelers - muchas gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It worth the price, they are so organized, we went to swim with giant turtles (we saw them) 100% guarantee and also saw sting rays, then the ATV's are the last model and the Cenote is so beautiful!! Our guide was Cedric, he was always at our side!!. We had lunch included in the price.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AventurasMayas1, Manager at Aventuras Mayas, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for spending an ATV XTreme day with us and recomending us to the rest of the world. We will make sure to share your comments with Cedric who will be as grateful as we are. We sure hope you choose Mexico for your next holiday. Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aventuras Mayas also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Aventuras Mayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aventuras Mayas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.