We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Prolongacion 5ta. Avenida Mza. 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Belize
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Firstly, i must say that the resort is beautifully kept. The dining areas were a bit far but we didnt mind walking after stuffing ourselves. The specialty restaurants were ok so we ate mostly at the buffet area. Our favorite part of the day was just sitting on the verandah and watching the guest enjoying themselves at the pool. The rooms were tastefully decorated and the jacuzzi was a definite plus.
I would rate this place 5 star if the food was better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Manager at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent visit with us and for providing the feedback. I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay at Grand Sunset Princess.
I am glad that our hotel, services and the attention from our staff, met your overall expectations.

Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next visit even more comfortable. Our entire team stands at your service.

.Best Regards
Grand Sunset Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,268
    1,726
    810
    403
    317
See reviews for
1,558
2,555
61
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,445)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The resort was nice... the beach was good.... the food was bad and it was cold the hot dogs looked like they were taken right out of the package and put there.... i dont recomend it i have been to better... the Iberostar was the best the Playa Pariso Beach

Room Tip: The corner rooms are the best they are big.... room 2245 is good same with 3443
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Taylor,
First of all we would like to thank you about the time you invest to share your comments about your last stay with us at Grand Sunset Princess, for us the principal goal is the satisfaction of the guest that choose us to enjoy your vacations in the Riviera Maya.
We are very much regret that we could not meet all of your expectations; We would have liked that you provide us more information about your stay and explain in detail what was wrong with the food.
We hope that you will not hesitate to visit us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Grand Sunset Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The wedding was held at this resort, and was where we all stayed. The food was good, my only complaint about the food is that I wish the buffets opened earlier for dinner but I understand why they don't. The rooms were beautiful and no smell of mould or anything else in my room at all. Grounds were well kept. Bars were staffed adequately for the most part, except the lobby bar, The lobby bar was what made the hotel shine for a large portion of our group. Guadalupe, who was in the lobby bar during the evenings, was the best of all the wait staff I have ever encountered anywhere in the world. She always made sure our drinks were full and kept bringing us drinks she thought we would like. I absolutely recommend the lobby bar at that time just because of her.
The bathrooms however are as most have described, as is most of the hotel, slippery when wet. However reading reviews of the hotel made me proactive and this problem is easily solved with a pair of water shoes.
The a la carte restaurants were good, I however wish that the mexican was more authentic as going into playa del carmen has alot more authentic and tastier food. The bartenders all know all of the drinks even from just describing them to them, I recommend the Riviera Maya or Mango Tango. Both delicious. Overall, Very good impression of the hotel and mexico.

Ps. My only other ask, would be to have a shuttle or an arrangement with a cab company at thee airport as dealing with the cabbies at the airport was a pain in the butt and expensive. But the taxi from the hotel to the airport was very reasonable. Good job for that. Everyone's english was great.

Room Tip: Guadalupe in the lobby bar will take care of you, shes one of the nicest people I've ever met.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Manager at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great review with TripAdvisor’s travelers.
It is very pleasant to read that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our facilities and services.
We are delighted that you underlined aspects as the hard work of our staff; it is fantastic to know that you went back home satisfied.
Of course I will share your comments with Guadalupe, she will be so glad to know that you recognized her efforts to make a great job.
We really appreciate your comments and observations and it will be taken into consideration and can assure you that we will do our best to improve our service.
On behalf of all our staff we give the most sincere thank you for choosing our hotel for a memorable experience.
Please feel free to contact us in case you need any further assistance. We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Grand Sunset Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I was worried after reading the latest reviews before we left for this resort October 16,2013.
What a relief when the resort turned out to be better than expected..
Beautiful grounds and pools are amazing .
Beach is ok but venture down to the "chill out" part of the beach for the white sand and crystal blue water. Tried out the " chill out" beach one day but found it wasn't really worth the $
The buffet was good for breakfast and lunch but the aka carte were the real pleasure. There Ate so many we ate @ a different theme every night.
Bartenders were not very nice even after being tipped but oh well
Sports are ok
Front desk staff was kind but had to be pushed to get help
Rooms are FANTASTIC and maid service phenomenal... Water and fridge stocked everyday..beds nice and perfect spot was room 2201 (right in the middle of the "quiet pool area) but close enough to be central.

BEWARE OF THE BEACH AND STRAIGHT PINS IN THE SAND FROM THE VENDORS.. MORE THAN A FEW TRAVELERS ENEDED UP WITH PINS IN FEET...OUCH...

Room Tip: Room 221 and room 2201 are perfect..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Manager at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read you had a great time in our Hotel; it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our facilities. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, it is heartwarming read we accomplished that goal with you during your stay.

Reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more and improve ourselves every day.
We will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Grand Sunset Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Let me start out by not telling you how big the grounds are and how far the beach cause you already read that....We were upgraded to platinum swim out after booking a regular swim out which sounded nice but we felt like we were to far from everything that was going on at the main pools, which was not that much but better than nothing,,,The food was just ok... MAYBE A 3 STAR RESORT as best

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We regret very much that we did not impressed you with our yucatan suites only adults, we took good note of your observations and we will be working in our process, however I would like to to explain that our suites are set away from the hustle so that our guests can relax to the maximum and is not necessary go to the main pools because our Yucatan guests have an exclusive pool for them.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Sunset Princess
Best Regards.
Grand Sunset Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I just got back from a week at this resort today and couldn't wait to write a review. My boyfriend and I went against all the bad reviews this resort has and are so happy we did. The grounds are so beautiful and well kept that the 5-10 min walk to the beach didn't bother us, as everyone seems to complain about. We never fell or even came close to falling on the so called "slippery marble floors" and I was in flip flops all week. The only people I saw falling were too drunk and running around after hopping out of the pool. Our room was on the princess side and right beside the main activity pool. We never saw a single mosquito and heard a lot of people got bit despite their bug spray on the riveria side. We had no issues with the smell of the room, any leaks or complaints about the comfort of the bed or pillows. Whenever we needed something like the iron or help with our safe, front desk sent someone within 10 minutes and called to follow up and ensure someone came. Our room was also right in the middle of the resort so no walk was too far for us. Less than 10 min to the beach and vice versa to the lobby. The entertainment was AMAZING. I can't thank the entertainment team enough - the daily activities at the pool, the pre shows (fire show, bingo, dance lessons, etc) and then the shows in the theatre every night were awesome!! We really enjoyed the horror and tropical show, they are a must see. The choreographer/main dancer is phenominal in all the work he puts into these dances. Back to the entertainment team, not only did they entertain, but they made you feel welcome and encouraged you to participate in everything you could. Special thanks to Adrian for all his hard work and dedication to this resort, we greatly appreciate everything you did for us to make our vacation that much more memorable. We will be coming back because of the lasting impression you left on us. The food was good, we have no complaints about this either. We really enjoyed all the a la carte dinners, in particular the French and received awesome service by our waiter, Valentin. I have no idea why people complain about the drinks at this resort. We never had to wait for service longer than a couple minutes and the drinks were never water downed or cheap in the amount of booze they put in. In fact I had to ask some of the servers to pour less alcohol because a rum and coke was like a rum with a shot of coke. Lastly, the beach. We can't say much about it because we didn't go there that often. We went into tulum and enjoyed the beaches there but when we went to the beach at the resort, we didn't mind the vendors because it was neat to see some of their stuff. None of them bothered us when we were on the lounge chairs because we didn't engage in conversation with them. The only thing annoying about this whole trip were all the people or parents letting their kids feed the wild life and the coaties being comfortable enough to come and steal your food. Everyone should respect the signs posted and stop feeding them! We couldn't enjoy the snack bar on the beach as much because of this but this isn't the resorts fault at all. Overall, I think we definitely got our money worth. I am certain we will be back here soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and kind review. We are delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations and mostly that we will have you back with us.
We have shared it among our staff and in particular passed your kind words on to Adrian and Valentin.

We look forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future!

Kind Regards,
Grand Sunset Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Great place for the value. Really enjoyed our stay. My wife and I went with our 2 little girls 4 and 2. We had a blast. Great choices of restaurants, entertainment and amenities. Place is very well landscaped, and u can definitely walk off the food you eat.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We feel privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you.
I am glad that our hotel, services and the attention from our staff, met your overall expectations.

We hope that you will not hesitate to visit us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Grand Sunset Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Address: Prolongacion 5ta. Avenida Mza. 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#66 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 674
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This All Inclusive Resort is located in the stunning Riviera Maya. The hotel is perfect for an unforgettable vacation thanks to its magnificent surroundings. The style of the hotel's architecture blends in with and respects the environment. The interior decor and ample functional outdoor spaces provide the setting for a fantastic vacation.The hotel features VIP areas, such as the Platinum Suites and the Laguna Romance Villas. They are privately located and offer exclusive services, including two Platinum lounges serving continental breakfasts, aperitifs, and premium drinks, along with a concierge, 24-hour room service, a private pool with waiters, and a water circuit in the spa.Grand Sunset Princess Hotel has seven restaurants specializing in food from a wide range of cultures, including Asian, Latin American, Mediterranean, and European. Each restaurant has its own unique feel and a few of them are located directly by the sea.After crossing the spacious lobby, you'll come to the Grand Sunset Princess, located near Playa del Carmen. The hotel features a total of twelve sparkling pools and some have an adjoining Jacuzzi. There are more than thirty specialty restaurants and bars, a lounge and a beautiful beach facing the majestic Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort And Spa
Grand Sunset Princess All Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Sunset Princess Hotel
Grand Sunset Princess Review
Grand Sunset Princess Mexico
Grand Sunset Princess Resort
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.