We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Yucatan Platinum Swim Out Suites” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Prolongacion 5ta. Avenida Mza. 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Chilliwack
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Grand Yucatan Platinum Swim Out Suites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My hubby and I were part of a group of 12 that just spent the week at the Grand Yucatan Swim Out Suites (Platinum package) from 24 Nov – 1 Dec 12. This was not our first time to Riviera Maya, we stayed at a 4 1/2 star the last time.

The positives of this resort:
The pools!! There are so many and we never had a problem getting a lounger for 6-8 people at any time. There are lots of swim up bar so we never had a problem to get a spot and special shout out to our favourite bartenders Damian, Carlos and Ruby!!
The resort is beautiful, huge, well kept and nicely decorated.
The Platinum package offered free Wi-Fi in our rooms and we liked that a lot, although some rooms in our party could not connect the entire week.
The beach was nice but a little rocky.

What was okay about this resort:
We ate at 6 al a carte restaurants and the food was average. I personally was disappointed because the food was not outstanding!!
The hotel gift shops were just a little above average for the typical Mexican souvenirs, although some of the things for sale were extremely over priced. ie $14 USD for a large bag of chips.

The negative of this resort:
The food and service!
The food at the buffet was average at best and there were always empty dishes on the buffet. When you entered the buffet there was a sign that stated "please wait to be seated" but there wasn't anyone there to seat you (except for dinner). At 5 out of the 7 breakfasts we had a the buffet we were over half way done eating before someone came by with coffee!! When we went to the coffee station and asked for coffee the servers usually took their time to get our table.
The concierge was less than helpful when we requested to reserve the daily shuttle to Playa for our group of 12. This resort only offered three free shuttle runs per day, 10 am and noon into Playa and 5 pm out for free and they would only take reservations the morning prior at 8 am, when we explained to the concierge that we were going on a day trip at 7:30 and want to the take the shuttle the next morning so one person in our group needed to book all 12 spots. She said this wasn't possible and we needed someone there from each of the 6 rooms to reserve the shuttle. Fortunately our day trip guide (not booked through the resort, a big thanks to Edventure Tours, I will leave a 5 star rating for you under tours!!) waited until we booked the shuttle and we left at 8:20!
The platinum section on the beach was over crowded and the "butler service" that was advertised for platinum guest did not exist.
The swims out pools for the Grand Yucatan were so cold that we couldn’t use them at all. The sun only hit these pools for about two hours per day and it was not enough to heat them. This may be different at other times during the year but in November it was they were too cold.

Finally, on our second day there, two of our six rooms were broken into!! It seemed like they came in through the patio doors (which had flimsy locks) and left through the main door of the suites. Our friend had all their money and valuables locked in the safes so they didn’t steal anything, but they trashed their suitcases. When the hotel’s staff was informed they said that this had never happened before. The third day one of these rooms that was broken into again!

Our trip to The Grand Princess Resort was eventful but we can still say that we enjoyed the trip immensely. It was the people in our party and all the wonderful people we met there that made it a great holiday.

This is one of the cheapest 5 star resorts and now I know why. If you stay at this resort I would not recommend paying to upgrade to the Platinum level.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,192
    1,645
    766
    388
    304
See reviews for
1508
2451
55
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just returned from an 8 day stay at this hotel complex and for us, the negative comments in some reviews previously prompts us too say how terribly unfortunate you must have been.

The room (we stayed in the junior suite....bottom of the accommodation rung) was more than adequate and found it to be very spacious with everything just as it said on the can label. The balcony overlooked the jungle, facing West (great sunsets) with a table and two rattan chairs. There was no bath but the walk in wet room was terrific with a great shower, his and hers sinks and a hair drier. The mini bar was restocked every day as were the towels and the sheets every second day.

The resort itself is huge by British standards and takes about 15 mins easy walking from the beach to the main facilities of the buffets, bar, shops and sports bar. There is a transport system which runs approx. every 10-15 minutes which will drop off or pick up at any stage upon its route from the beach to the main reception areas. The transport to Playa del Carmen however must be booked before 11.00am for the following day so don't leave it 'till the last few days of you holiday as you may well be disappointed due to its popularity.

The themed restaurants can be booked up to 3 days in advance but we found the buffets to be excellent in their own different themed evening each night with a great choice of differing foods and of course you can eat as much as you like. Bear in mind though that this is not fine dining but catering on a mass basis. That said, we didn't experience one meal that we wouldn't have been happy to pay for in any restaurant we have been to. There are two further buffets near the beach plus on the beach itself there is a bar and cook shack which serves hot dogs, hamburgers and a further different dish each day cooked on a huge paella pan.

The beach is planted with coconut trees to provide shade plus there are rush covered umbrellas also. We were told at reception that the resort was 90-95% full but there was more than adequate beach beds to flop down on. To gain access to the beach there is a small bridge over a swampy area in which lives a small crocodile whilst on the beach there are coaties (a small 4 legged bushy coated animal) scavaging for left overs.

The staff have been commented upon so much in previous reviews and we must say, they were absolutely wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble for them as they genuinely want you to return again. Tipping is entirely up to yourself and doesn't make one iota of difference to the service but if you wish, have a roll of single dollar bills as I am certain you will want to give them a few bob as they are so good. They are all Mexican as well so you really get the feeling of being in Mexico, not just another resort with an eclectic mix of staff from all over the world.

We can honestly say that this is the very best example of all inclusive holidays one could wish for so go ahead and book with confidence and we hope you get as much out of it as we did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a week last year during the summer. For its value, it is a wonderful five star hotel. The property is huge and very well kept. The service is also excellent. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return. If anything, here is a small list of suggestions/considerations:

- Although almost everything is inclusive, I felt that a few areas were quite restrictive. The first is the buffet. It is open for the 3 meals/day, but only during certain times. If you miss breakfast (or any other meal.. But breakfast was the most frustrating one to miss), the only place that can serve food is this tiny/dark snack bar, serving burgers a fries. Secondly, the pools are all closed at 8pm. Again, for a resort, it makes the experience feel limiting since 95% of the time is spent at the resort.
- if you are able to, make sure that shuttle transportation is included in your package. A cab ride from the airport can cost up to 90$ USD (one way). If you are without included transportation, make sure to bargain with the cab/shuttle services - they present you with unreasonably high "flat rates".
- take a trip to playa del Carmen. If you book right, I believe the hotel has a free shuttle service.


  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chico,ca
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our agent said was just an additional restaurant, so we did not book platinum. Platinum gives you internet access, a private pool/beach. and is closer to the beach (a long way to the main compound however). Otherwise food/drinks the same. Wait staff are attentive. Drinks brand name unless it’s busy then you need to ask. There is a bar 24/7. The resort is huge, 3 actually. Sunset is quiet, Riviera, a mirror of Sunset, has the nightclub, theater and most restaurants, Yucatan adult only with no benefits I could see. The resort is a mile in from the road, so public transportation a hassle.Food at the breakfast and lunch buffets were good and items varied daily. Dinner, the one time we ate buffet, (10pm arrival) was tasteless. Mexican the best restaurant, salad/appetizer bar a meal in itself. A plus was the ability to book 3 nights at a time. Entertainment cruise ship caliber.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The property is beautiful and well maintained. The staff is super polite, friendly, and helpful. The resort is huge and there are many activities and places to eat so you never have to even leave the premises. Definitely make reservations for the restaurants as soon as you arrive. My fiance and I had an amazing time and definitely plan on visiting again with friends and family!

Room Tip: Junior Deluxe Suite with Pool access is AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel isn't any thing like certain people say! The staff/Maud's DO NOT STEAL!! And are not rude they have decided that they want to try and claim mOney back through insurance or holiday company so they write a bad review we have been warned about this in the past! And have been told the nationalitys that do it! Please don't belive any of the rubbish about stealing or staff being rude this is a brilliant hotel and after 4 visits and another 1 booked there can't be anythIng ba wrong because people wouldn't book again!! These people are liers and are putting a excellent hotel to a bad name because they have a sad life!! This hotel is a perfect hotel in Mexico u can quote me on this!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It happened to us also! $400 US went missing from the "safe" and it was missing the sticker just like in all the other cases reported.
I will not even report it-why? I will not get it back. They stole it the first day we checked in i guess to make sure that they get it before we spend it! Well they were nice enough to leave $200 in my envelope. I had $600 all together.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Address: Prolongacion 5ta. Avenida Mza. 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#63 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#68 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This All Inclusive Resort is located in the stunning Riviera Maya. The hotel is perfect for an unforgettable vacation thanks to its magnificent surroundings. The style of the hotel's architecture blends in with and respects the environment. The interior decor and ample functional outdoor spaces provide the setting for a fantastic vacation.The hotel features VIP areas, such as the Platinum Suites and the Laguna Romance Villas. They are privately located and offer exclusive services, including two Platinum lounges serving continental breakfasts, aperitifs, and premium drinks, along with a concierge, 24-hour room service, a private pool with waiters, and a water circuit in the spa.Grand Sunset Princess Hotel has seven restaurants specializing in food from a wide range of cultures, including Asian, Latin American, Mediterranean, and European. Each restaurant has its own unique feel and a few of them are located directly by the sea.After crossing the spacious lobby, you'll come to the Grand Sunset Princess, located near Playa del Carmen. The hotel features a total of twelve sparkling pools and some have an adjoining Jacuzzi. There are more than thirty specialty restaurants and bars, a lounge and a beautiful beach facing the majestic Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com so you can book your Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Princess All Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort And Spa
Grand Sunset Princess Hotel
Grand Sunset Princess Review
Grand Sunset Princess Mexico
Grand Sunset Princess Resort
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.