We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, food/restaurants needs some work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Prolongacion 5ta. Avenida Mza. 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, food/restaurants needs some work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a week last year during the summer. For its value, it is a wonderful five star hotel. The property is huge and very well kept. The service is also excellent. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return. If anything, here is a small list of suggestions/considerations:

- Although almost everything is inclusive, I felt that a few areas were quite restrictive. The first is the buffet. It is open for the 3 meals/day, but only during certain times. If you miss breakfast (or any other meal.. But breakfast was the most frustrating one to miss), the only place that can serve food is this tiny/dark snack bar, serving burgers a fries. Secondly, the pools are all closed at 8pm. Again, for a resort, it makes the experience feel limiting since 95% of the time is spent at the resort.
- if you are able to, make sure that shuttle transportation is included in your package. A cab ride from the airport can cost up to 90$ USD (one way). If you are without included transportation, make sure to bargain with the cab/shuttle services - they present you with unreasonably high "flat rates".
- take a trip to playa del Carmen. If you book right, I believe the hotel has a free shuttle service.


  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,194
    1,648
    766
    388
    304
See reviews for
1,509
2,453
55
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chico,ca
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our agent said was just an additional restaurant, so we did not book platinum. Platinum gives you internet access, a private pool/beach. and is closer to the beach (a long way to the main compound however). Otherwise food/drinks the same. Wait staff are attentive. Drinks brand name unless it’s busy then you need to ask. There is a bar 24/7. The resort is huge, 3 actually. Sunset is quiet, Riviera, a mirror of Sunset, has the nightclub, theater and most restaurants, Yucatan adult only with no benefits I could see. The resort is a mile in from the road, so public transportation a hassle.Food at the breakfast and lunch buffets were good and items varied daily. Dinner, the one time we ate buffet, (10pm arrival) was tasteless. Mexican the best restaurant, salad/appetizer bar a meal in itself. A plus was the ability to book 3 nights at a time. Entertainment cruise ship caliber.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The property is beautiful and well maintained. The staff is super polite, friendly, and helpful. The resort is huge and there are many activities and places to eat so you never have to even leave the premises. Definitely make reservations for the restaurants as soon as you arrive. My fiance and I had an amazing time and definitely plan on visiting again with friends and family!

Room Tip: Junior Deluxe Suite with Pool access is AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel isn't any thing like certain people say! The staff/Maud's DO NOT STEAL!! And are not rude they have decided that they want to try and claim mOney back through insurance or holiday company so they write a bad review we have been warned about this in the past! And have been told the nationalitys that do it! Please don't belive any of the rubbish about stealing or staff being rude this is a brilliant hotel and after 4 visits and another 1 booked there can't be anythIng ba wrong because people wouldn't book again!! These people are liers and are putting a excellent hotel to a bad name because they have a sad life!! This hotel is a perfect hotel in Mexico u can quote me on this!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It happened to us also! $400 US went missing from the "safe" and it was missing the sticker just like in all the other cases reported.
I will not even report it-why? I will not get it back. They stole it the first day we checked in i guess to make sure that they get it before we spend it! Well they were nice enough to leave $200 in my envelope. I had $600 all together.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The staff were very nice. It is a beautiful place. The lack of attention to detail makes this resort fall way short of our expectations. The food was good overall but several meals were below the quality we expected. I had a t-bone for dinner that was nothing but gristle. It wasn't even edible. We had the platinum package which was suppose to include a special dinner that we never recieved. We did not have anything extra as a platinum guest, I guess that was just a ploy to get more money out of us. We could hardly get a dinner reservation at all even though every restaurant was only half full. The room smell a combination of insecticide and mildew. Everything we brought home smelled like the room. Room service does not exist. We called several time for things and no one ever showed up either time. We never did locate the platinum section of the beach. Again this was money paid for nothing. We had a jacuzzi on the balconey. The problem is that everyroom around you has a complete view of your balcony, no privacy. Shuttle service was always late if it showed up at all. We got tired of having to walk so much. If the shuttle did show up it had two flat tires and you had to breathe diesel fumes while you rode. The pools only receive a cursory cleaning and there were alot of bugs floating around in it. If you went in the water at the beach the bottom was too rocky to walk on. I will never go back to this place again. THey will try to sell you a membership. You could not give me a membership to this place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

this was our 5th trip to Maxico and this was the worse trip..I am not a person that complains at all, but this time had to let everybody know what to expect. We all work hard for the money, when we go on vacation, the idea is to have fun and not get frustrated.The resort is beautiful, clean and people are friendly, but the food is disgusting same food everyday for breakfast...was expecting maxican food but disappointed..and the beach is the worst ever, dirty water and very small area very noisy with all the maxican trying to sell.
When we arrived in our room we had two double beds (we had requested for one king when we booked), unfortunately we were told that they do not guarantee this and were unable to accommodate..Phone was not working, no iron in the room, and also small bugs in the bathroom. after 2 days we moved to other room with king size bed,,this time flush was broken.

At the end of the day, for the amount we paid I don't feel this resort was worth the price tag. It wasn't uncommon to over hear people complaining about various things as you passed by (and there were a lot complaining). I'm confident you can have a better and more enjoyable experience elsewhere in this area at a cheaper price. The staff was great in a lot of areas but not so great in going above and beyond to ensure you are fully satisfied.

will go back to barcelo tropical i stayed my last trip..was amazing experience..

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Address: Prolongacion 5ta. Avenida Mza. 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#63 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#68 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 674
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This All Inclusive Resort is located in the stunning Riviera Maya. The hotel is perfect for an unforgettable vacation thanks to its magnificent surroundings. The style of the hotel's architecture blends in with and respects the environment. The interior decor and ample functional outdoor spaces provide the setting for a fantastic vacation.The hotel features VIP areas, such as the Platinum Suites and the Laguna Romance Villas. They are privately located and offer exclusive services, including two Platinum lounges serving continental breakfasts, aperitifs, and premium drinks, along with a concierge, 24-hour room service, a private pool with waiters, and a water circuit in the spa.Grand Sunset Princess Hotel has seven restaurants specializing in food from a wide range of cultures, including Asian, Latin American, Mediterranean, and European. Each restaurant has its own unique feel and a few of them are located directly by the sea.After crossing the spacious lobby, you'll come to the Grand Sunset Princess, located near Playa del Carmen. The hotel features a total of twelve sparkling pools and some have an adjoining Jacuzzi. There are more than thirty specialty restaurants and bars, a lounge and a beautiful beach facing the majestic Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Princess All Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort And Spa
Grand Sunset Princess Hotel
Grand Sunset Princess Review
Grand Sunset Princess Mexico
Grand Sunset Princess Resort
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.