We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local Mexican restaurant ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Calle 6th bis & 30th Ave., Playa del Carmen 12345, Mexico
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great local Mexican restaurant ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014 NEW

This place doesnt look like much and we would have steered clear if it wasn't for the good rating on trip advisor. However the food kept up with it's reputation on trip advisor. Great Mexico food, fresh and tasty for reasonable prices! Service was quick and friendly.
Drinks were average hence I've rated 4 instead of 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,048
    433
    95
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“typical mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014 NEW

love the tacos & nachos with a sauce made of avocado. a lot of locals also go there. can't remember the name of the food i had, overall it's good and they also offer very spicy sauce, which favored me very much!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great local food, large portions, good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We ate at the "touristy" location on 30th and Constituyentes. Despite this, we were 1 of 1 and 1 of 2 non-latin couples on our two meals here in 5 days. It's open air and hot, good service and excellent, relatively cheap food. Share the arranchera especial and get other items you can't live without like the taco gringo and chorizo. Meals can be paid in dollars or pesos with pesos getting you more. If we lived here, we'd be here wice a week easily....

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

a very good choice when in playa del carmen. delicious food, good quick service, reasonable prices (still high if compared with mexico but hey its playa del carmen), mostly locals at the table. a good find ;)

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“So glad we found it after being ripped off in 5th Ave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We discovered this place after enduring sub standard fare in 5th Avenue. We came here for dinner for the last 4 nights of our stay in Playa and cannot recommend it enough, absolutely delicious food and great staff!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fogon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.