We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Calle 6th bis & 30th Ave., Playa del Carmen 12345, Mexico
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Allamuchy, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Delicious food – one of our family’s favorite places to eat in PDC. Big portions at reasonable prices. The service is great – the waiters are friendly and speak English so they can help you with the menu. We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,153
    473
    102
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Better than any resort meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was our favorite meal in PDC, and it was LOADS better than the food at our resort. If you come to Playa and don't venture into town for this place (and others), you're missing out.

Come after 6:00 to get the famous tacos al pastor. Pork and pineapple tacos, how can that be bad? They were the best we've ever had, and that's coming from some serious Chicago foodies.

We also got some delicious bean soup (frijoles charros?), which we kind of ordered by accident. Well, it was a happy accident, because it's one of the most delicious things we had in all of Mexico!

This place isn't to be missed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Friendly, tasteful, local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Located just off the beaten touristic track that is 5th Avenue, El Fogon serves great food for even better prices. The locals come here, but as a tourist you don't feel like in intruder. The crew is friendly and this place is an absolute must if you want to try the real Mexican cuisine. Highlight of our trip, foodwise!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST TACOS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our tour guide from a tour we took recommended this place and it is was right on! The tacos al pastor were delicious and we have tried them in many places. Good quality and good prices, not in the tourist area but worth the walk. If you are ever in Playa you need to come and eat here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went here our first night in Playa on a recommendation from the hotel driver. Excellent local food and flavor that is all freshly prepared on a grill at the front of the restaurant. Highly recommend this place if you are on a budget or just want to experience the local fare.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fogon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.