We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, tasteful, local” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Calle 6th bis & 30th Ave., Playa del Carmen 12345, Mexico
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Friendly, tasteful, local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Located just off the beaten touristic track that is 5th Avenue, El Fogon serves great food for even better prices. The locals come here, but as a tourist you don't feel like in intruder. The crew is friendly and this place is an absolute must if you want to try the real Mexican cuisine. Highlight of our trip, foodwise!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,274
    525
    115
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST TACOS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our tour guide from a tour we took recommended this place and it is was right on! The tacos al pastor were delicious and we have tried them in many places. Good quality and good prices, not in the tourist area but worth the walk. If you are ever in Playa you need to come and eat here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went here our first night in Playa on a recommendation from the hotel driver. Excellent local food and flavor that is all freshly prepared on a grill at the front of the restaurant. Highly recommend this place if you are on a budget or just want to experience the local fare.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food , prices can't be beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

the service
was fantastic food amazing we had The Pariillada, got in late and this was around the corner from us, Found this restaurant on Tripadvisor

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some of the Best Food Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is not in a tourist area and, therefore, had amazing food and even better prices! The best chorizo taco I've ever had! Our bill with an appy, food and cocktails was $21USD with tip!!! If you are in PDC, I recommend this place for truly authentic and excellent food!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fogon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.