We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place ... Some hints for you.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Prolongacion 5ta. Avenida Mza 20 lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Place ... Some hints for you.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

My wife and I vacationed at this resort from March 2nd to the 9th. We had a great time, loved the resort. We read some of the reviews before we left and went there without any expectations. I thought instead of giving you how wonderful our holiday was I would give some insite to enjoying your vacation.

1. Buy beer on the bus - You are starting your vacation. Say hi to everyone on the bus with you.

2. Don't worry about luggage. If there is two of you one head to the line up to check in and the other head to the lobby bar and get drinks while you wait.

3. Don't wait for the bell hop to bring your luggage to your room. You could be there waiting for sometime (cuts into tanning time). Drag it with you. If your room is close to the beach, stop at the party pool and grab a drink.

4. Very important - your room key turns on the lights. Slide the key in from the top.

5. If your mini bar doesn't have want you want look for the house keeping carts and they are more than happy to get what you need.

6. We went for dinner early at around 7 - 7:30 and the food was good and line up was minimal or not at all.

7.Have a great time. Make it your holiday, don't sweat the small stuff. Life could be worse - you could be at work!!

  • Liked — Plenty of seating at swim up bar
  • Disliked — Not being able to stay longer.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,594
    1,286
    628
    304
    221
See reviews for
1,084
1,912
48
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

we stayed at this hotel 27feb/6mar. just like to say all the reviews are about right apart from those that rate it 5*(think not). leaking showers, to few staff,(but staff that are there do try),trek to lobbys, problem with mosquistos, think they may have sorted the restaurant booking problem out when we was there unless it has changed back (nightmare). ect.ect. just a couple of things we`d like to add . if you have buggies/strollers or wheelchairs there is not many lifts and if you have a ground floor room you may get eaten by bugs as the water fontains where not always on, they seemed to attracted them. the beach restaurant is not on the beach.very busy over the weekend. our room seemed damp don't know if any one else has had this problem. we read that this hotel had 9 restaurants 4 kids pools a number of adult pools 3 swim up bars ect,ect, sounds a lot for one hotel ? infact this is a two hotel resort sharing every thing apart from lobbys.thats around 1500 hundred rooms 3000 people for 9 restaurants does not sound that impressive now, does it ....

all in all this hotel is not yet a 5* maybe when everythings running smoothley it may be(my view is that it will always be to big). we still had a lovely time and met some great people who all had one thing in common , good holiday not 5*. if you'v read these reviews then your know what to expect great if you get a cheap deal , if not spend your hard earned pennies somewhere else.

  • Liked — weather/ italian restaurant
  • Disliked — getting eaten every time we went to/from our room on ground floor...
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mérida, yucatán
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

I'm coming back from the Riviera Maya Princess, and honestly I can tell you, i will come back next year.
It is a beautiful hotel, gorgeus, huge, everything brand new, obviusly there are a few things they need to improve.

Go with and open mind, and enjoy it, it's awesome.
here's my review, I went with my gf, and another couple of friends (24, 25 years old), and we had a great time.
ok, first, check in: we arrived at 2:00 pm, and Benjamin from the front desk told us that ours rooms will be ready at 3:30, 4:00 pm, that was true :), welcome limonade included. he gave me a Map, that doesn't work at all.

room: we paid for 2 junior suites, and we got 2 junior suite deluxe!! we didn't have to ask for upgrade, so cool! jacuzzi, plasma tv, one king size bed, balcony, GREAT!

pools, gorgeus, about 8 salt water pools, for everybody, if you like noise and animation group and activities, the central pools are for you, if you want some fun, and not that noise the pools near to the beach, and if you want a quiet place to take a nap, the pools near the laguna village are the place.

DISCO: GREAT TIME!
SPORTSBAR: FUN, BUT HOT.
BUFFET: GOOD!
DRINKS: AWESOME
BEACH: BEAUTIFUL, JUST GO A LIL TO THE RIGHT, AND NO ROCKS, JUST SAND, BUT TAKE CARE, THERE ARE SOME JELLYFISH, TWO LIL' KIDS GOT BURN WITH THE JF ACID.
MOSQUITOS: JUST A FEW ONE NIGHT, NOT A PROBLEM :)

service: that's the problem of the hotel, not the end of the world, i mean, and read to this friends, this will help you in a big way that i have to find by miself.
buffets are open from 8 to 10:30, 12:30 to 3:00, and its closed at 11 pm to dinner. there are 4 buffets, yes 4, nobody say about the other 3, 2 near the beach, and the riviera and sunset buffets, doesn't matter what side you're staying. You have to get in line, for 5 minutes, not big deal.
the sports bar (5th av) is on the sunset side on the 1st floor (A/C NOT WORKING), the disco (Areito) is on the riviera side 1st floor, and a la carte restaurants, ARE BETWEEN sunset and riviera lobby, on the second floor, you need to make a reservation (from 9 am to 1 pm, 40 minutes in line), and nobody told me about that, long walks to find diferent places, i mean my room 6103 near the beach buffets was 20 minutes walking of the front lobby, i spent 30 minutes finding my room.

TAKE CARE WITH YOUR STUFF, MONEY (I PUT IT IN MY BAG, CLOSED WITH KEY), AND NOBODY TAKE ANYTHING FROM US, THE SAFE WAS FORCED BEFORE SO.. BETTER NOT To USE IT.

DON'T WORRY ABOUT DETAILS, WE HAD A GREAT TIME!
JUST ENJOY IT. I'm mexican, and i recognize that there are some things to improve but this is a new hotel, and will be one of the best.

PS: CARLOS OF THE POOL BAR NEAR THE buffet on SUNSET SIDE, IS an AWESOME barman.

  • Liked — rooms, pools, food and drinks,
  • Disliked — needs more staff, no information, long walks
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

We returned from Grand Riveria Princess on March 3 and our party of 7 had an excellent stay. We did stay in the Platinum Building. Our room was 5117 and it had an awesome ocean view. We are beach bums and we love to hear the ocean at night. There were a lot of extra "perks" staying Platinum. The 30 minutes free massage was the best massage any of us had ever had. The Platinum Lounge is always open and there is food/snacks and beverages all day and evening long until 11 pm. There were no lines to check in and no lines to make reservations for supper. We were checked in and had reservations within 15 minutes of arriving at the resort. Our rooms were not ready as we knew check in was not until 3 pm but we had planned ahead and changed and headed to the beach. When we were done at the beach we headed to the lounge and they were waiting for us as our rooms were ready. Platinum also includes free room service and the food was awesome - especially breakfast, pizza (the teenagers enjoyed)and the desserts. They always came within 30 minutes and were HOT. Our maids always cleaned our rooms every day but we always left a tip too. Our refrigerator was always kept stocked. Our favorite restaurant by far was the Italian Restaurant. The Mexican was good but we had poor service because of the lack of staff. The teenagers room was on the ground floor and did have mosquitos but we brought spray with us and sprayed the room daily. I honestly feel we got more than what we paid for. Of course next year at this time, I am sure I would not be able to afford Platinum rooms. Absolutely a beautiful resort and will only get better in time.

  • Liked — Platinum Service
  • Disliked — rocky ocean bottom
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

Hopefully this review will put some people at ease prior to booking a trip to the resort. The review is based on a 8 day stay from Feb 26, 2008 - March 6, 2008. We are a young couple from Winnipeg with no kids. 2nd time to the Mayan Riveria. First time stayed at Barcelo Maya.

Check in
The check in was fine. Depending on the time that you arrive, your experience will vary. Just be aware that the rooms are offically ready at 3pm. But if you arrive earlier and complain that you want a room now, don't be surprised to find the room not ready or missing a few things. They are doing you a favor, Its your own fault for not having patience. Other than that there is no problem with the check-in.

Rooms:
Pretty much every review mentions the leaky shower, and the towel fix. Our didn't leak and we had no problem. As for the complaints of the toilets not flushing...uhmm hold the handle down longer, its a low flow toilet. The room itself is absolutly top notch, especially the bathroom. No problems with the air-conditioning, no problems with the bed, no problems with the mini bar, no problems with towels. There may be one or two mosquitoes in the room, but its is not bad at all. Also had no problems with safe.

Food/drinks:
Compared to the Barcelo, I'd say the Barcelo was better. Now I only say this because the food at the buffets is pretty much the same each night. The food itself is very good., and there is plenty to choose from. From steaks to tator tots. We only went to one a-la cart., "Miso" the Japanese restuarant. We enjoyed it very much, the food was great along with the presentation. Buffets run as late as 10pm, but you can order burgers/hotdogs/sandwhich from the sports bar 24hrs. Personally when its 4am and your half buzzed, the burgers from there are the best!
On Thursdays, they prepare a huge buffet on the beach which is very nice and we recommend it.
Drinks are great, if you want premium liquor just ask. What we did enjoy alot was the cappachino's. Never had a problem waiting for drinks.

Pools/Beach
The pools are fantastic. There are so may places that you can find that are secluded. Water is clean, and the service at the swim up bars is great. What we found annoying was (and I am going to generalized on what I saw, so its my 2 cents) the older folks leaving thier blankets on chairs early in the morning and then not arriving till noon after they ate breakfast or lunch. Its annoying becuase there is no need for that stupidity because there are so many pool chairs and so many pools there just is no need for it. LOL, solution was to just toss the towel, and then when the time came "sorry I didn't see any towel, wind must have blown it away"
The beach is very nice, yes its rocky (coral). Just watch your step and you'll be fine. Sand is soft , water was not as clear as I expected due to a stronger surf.

Overall Resort
The resort is amazing and very beautiful. We went to one show and thought it was fine. The nightlife is somewhat non-existant. Seems everyone goes to bed at midnight. They have a disco which is good, but could be great if more people went. They have a live band in the courtyard, as well a pretty good acrobatic show one night. There are many place that you can find that you can just sit down and enjoy the night and not be bothered. They have free internet that most of the time is being used by teenage girls on Facebook or MSN Msger (so you will be waiting).

We really enjoyed the resort, and we did not let little things that people have complained about bother us. Its all how you make it. And for us it was 5 star.

  • Liked — The beauty of the resort
  • Disliked — Repeative buffet food
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

We travelled with Air Transat on Feb 27 and arrived at the hotel around 5:30pm. Check in was fast. Make sure you get a drink from the lobby bar....rum and coke was excellent!!!

Reception arranged to have two side by side rooms with King beds.....what we requested. Got our room and it was great....although minor problems......such as jaccuzi blew brown bubble (filter issue??), toilet not flushing, need to lift cap and manual flush, shower door and partition water leak....they were all mentioned on the review and hence not a surprise to us. However air conditioning worked great!!!

Room service was okay.....mini bar service had to be reminded twice over our stay.

The next morning went to the Air Transat reception. The host said that there was a change of the a la carte booking....as of march 1 there are more restaurants opened with first come first serve, hence no need to reserve. As we went through our whole trip...policy had changes again as we were rejected three times tried to go to the a la carte restaurants supposedly no reservation needed. Total confusion!!!!

The Air Transat beach party was great!! Food was excellent...As to the rest of the food....buffet food was great but too much the same over the 7 days...getting a bit boring.....a la carte was very average.....not to a 5 star standard

Nifghtly performance definitely need more improvement. We went to the first night shoewand it was a total disappointment..worse than amateur....

Swimming pools were nice and warm.....beach was ok and defintely need water shoes...

Overall it was a good trip...weather stay up with us everday. However we satyed at Bahia Principe Coba couple years ago....compare both, if Coba is a 4.5 star, Princess will never be a 5 star.....

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

We have just returned March 10th.from this resort. The weather was perfect but the hotel has a big problem....room security. Previous reviews have mentioned that travellers experienced problems with unauthorized entry into their in-room safe. As a result we checked with Air Transat on site as we we staying in their Regency Club area. We were advised that previous problems had been solved and it was safe to use the in-room safe. Wrong...all was well until our last day when our daily inventory of valuables revealed that 100 US had been taken from our safe. A report was immediately filed with management, Air Transat rep. and security who conducted an investigation by taking a read out of the door lock and found that an unauthorized card had been used that day. It would also appear that the person had an over-ride code to the programmable safe lock although a read out of the safe lock was not performed.
As we had to leave early the next morning we did not receive any results concerning the hotel's ongoing investigation ?? We are continuing to contact both the resort and Air Transat in an effort to obtain a report of some type.
This was not an isolated event, as the security person allowed me to view reports filed that same week concerning the same theft problems.
Our room in the 8000 section was to be a deluxe junior suite, but half of the furniture was missing including the couch and all the patio table and chairs. After numerous requests we gave up....not the way we intended to celebrate our 40th. anniversary.
Pools - need more ladders / steps
Buffet food - good but same every day, no theme nights, pasta bars should be separate from main buffet...line ups all the time

  • Liked — Weather
  • Disliked — Room Security
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Address: Prolongacion 5ta. Avenida Mza 20 lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#65 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 674
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa is located on the stunning Riviera Maya, just three kilometers from the famous Playa Del Carmen, in beautiful surrounds, with large and spacious natural parks and the delight of a good tropical weather. Besides our fascinating beach, renowned for the clear water and splendid sea beds, typical of the east end of the Yucatan Peninsula, the Hotel invites you to discover the huge wealth of the archaeological remains of the Maya culture in this area. After crossing the spacious lobby the splendid “Paseo de los Dioses” is reached, which invites the costumers to discover the charm of the hotel. It is a gift to our senses to enjoy all our facilities that can be found to our left and right on the way to the marvelous beach awaiting for everybody at the way of the pleasant stroll.Opened in December 2007, Grand Riviera Princess offers 674 fully equipped rooms with a range of services that give the clients a variety of possibilities to choose from: Junior Suite, Junior Suite Deluxe (some with direct pool access), Platinum Suites and Laguna Villa Suites (ideal for the most romantic honeymoon).A fascinating Spa is offered to all the clients, and the most complete activity program during day and night. A range of services in the varied and international selection of top quality food provide the perfect counterpoint when sharing moments of peace and calm with excellent meals in beautiful and inviting specially decorated surrounds, some of which are by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, getaroom.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort And Spa
Grand Riviera Princess All Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Riviera Princess Hotel
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.