We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sur Steakhouse

Sur Steakhouse
Avenida 5 y Calle 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
9848032995
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Calle 12 & 14
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Nice restaurant on 5th Avenue. Good attentive service throughout and we ordered a 13 oz ribeye to share. It was cooked blue as we ordered and was hot all the way through, perfect. Reasonable price for the location and at £17 for a really good steak we were pretty happy. I guess about half the price of a top London steak restaurant. As well as the accompanying bread and sauces, we just had some grilled veg and a salad which was also good.

We sat just raised up from street level so we could people watch and and take in the atmosphere but you can sit inside and upstairs also. I would eat there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    100
    48
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

very good steak, great service and good salad. Sit upstairs so you can get the street view. Prices were more than some of the other restuarants but definitely worth it. Check out the desserts (save room). Good wine list (somewhat overpriced) but waiter made a good recommendation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“fanastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great steaks,chicken very friendly staff and prices around the same as uk service was excellent and we went back a second time as the 1st was so good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

From start to finish the service was excellent, we like eating at the street side but there was a second floor if you like to be above the crowds. Steaks were the best we have ever had and cooked to perfection we had a great meal. The only down side was the 2 couples who decided to keep the mariachi band playing song after song right beside us 45min of a trumpet in your ear is not great, this was no fault of the restaurant just thought I would say thanks to them, would return tomorrow if we were actually there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Ate there as a couple last night.

Argentinian sausage for a starter was very tasty and tenderloin steaks for mains were excellent, both cooked to perfection.

Service is good.

Slightly pricier than most of the places in the area, but the quality makes it worth the extra.

Didn't like the compulsory 15% service charge! but that doesn't change an excellent meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sur Steakhouse also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Sur Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sur Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.