We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya

Save Saved
You added Valentin Imperial Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valentin Imperial Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez KM 311 500 | Playa del Carmen, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First Class Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed with my girlfriend last April and have not been able to stop raving about this place to everyone I know. We had been to the beaches of Cancun and Riviera Maya a few times before but this resort was our absolute favorite. The service is outstanding as everyone goes out of their way to make you have a fantastic stay. Lots of acitivities are offered from Kayak tours, game center, Karaoke, etc. Everyday in the pool area the staff would hold pool games including dance contests and volleyball. In comparison to other resorts we had been to, this one had a great balance of nightlife and romance. We could choose to party all day or have the most romantic day. Imperioal Maya offers several restaurants, all of which were excellent. We are from New York so are very particular when it comes to good food and service and everyone we visited was right on point.
The resort is quite large but very easy to get around. The rooms were spacious and nice with a great balcony to sit out and overlook to the pool area. Each night there was some kind of live entertainment or show. We were fortunate to find the rock band playing at the beach bar one night and on the main plaza another night.
Overall this will be my go-to resort when traveling to Mexico!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Mexytraveler,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time for sharing your observations about your recent vacation at the Valentin Imperial Maya. We are pleased to know that you had a very good time in our resort.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,587
    1,581
    492
    159
    106
See reviews for
323
5526
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,977)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I visited the Valentin Imperial in July with friends and was there 5 days/4 nights. The two things that stand out for me at this hotel are the gorgeous beach and the beautiful landscaping at the hotel. The food is OK (the Mexican & Japanese restaurants were our favorites). The service was hit or miss. There were moments and places (like the Mexican restaurant) where the service was excellent, but those moments were few and far between. The pool has a very loud, drunk crowd, so head to the beach if that's not your scene. The pool is huge but wherever you are the drunks are close by. If you are heading to the beach, get there early if you want to have a spot with shade. Check in went smoothly and we loved our room. It was very spacious and the balcony was large. Our view was of some tropical trees so you felt like you were in a rain forest. There is a lot of walking on this property but I didn't mind it. You have two buffet options for breakfast and lunch which are pretty good. Overall I am happy with the trip and what I paid, but if you're a foodie and a stickler for good service I would recommend you keep searching. Also, this hotel caters mostly to couples; not necessarily the best place for a weekend away with friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Butterfly from Nueva York ,

Although is pleasant to know that you valued our grounds and beach, we are really sorry due we did not satisfy your expectations with the services you have mentioned.

Regarding the loud crowd at the pool, we have taken all of your observations up with the appropriate person in order to improve our service round the pool.

We are also so disappointed to know that all the service provided by our attentive staff was not the adequate to complete your requirements.

We do regret your experience once again and we very much appreciate your remark as these allow us to continue improving our level of service.

We hope to welcome you again at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield/ u k
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

i travelled to the valentin on the 7th of june, 2014, i left a review on trip advisor but it got removed , why i don't know but this tells me that if the hotel receives bad reviews it gets it removed, how it does this i do not know,
Well initially as we arrived it was fine, good check in and a cold towel and a glass of sparkling wine, efficient and straight to our room , upon entering the room we knew straight away it was old and tired, my future wife opened the minibar fridge only to reveal dried juice stuck to the bottom of the fridge, the tabled are all scratched and marked, the skirting boards lie with a covering of dust, the mirrors dirty, , right i thought lets just get a shower , changed and go for a meal and a drink as we had been travelling for over 16 hours from the uk, we eventually got to the courtyard to go for a drink , i went to the bar and ordered the drinks after queueing up for ten minutes, only to be served the drinks in plastic glasses, i never asked for the drinks to go before the customary reply says so, we sat down in the courtyard, not wandering off with glasses, i then after half an hour decided to go for some more drinks as the waitress service was non existent , yet again plastic glasses, but the american guy at the side of me was getting his drinks in the normal glass, it then dawned on me that unless you tip then you will get the plastic glass, we eventually ate at the italian restaurant, which was nice , but nothing special, which i find amazing how everyone raves about it as there is some fantastic italin restaurants in the u s a ,,, the chairs we sat in later in the courtyard are broken and dirty, i went back to the room and left a trip advisor review as i was by now ready to get on the telephone to my travel agents and get us moved, the next day i was telephoned by Fbrese the customer services manager, who i have to say is very efficient and methodical in what he does, i also proceeded to inform him that during our getting dressed routine i tried to iron a pair of jeans only for the socket to come away at the wall , he apologised and yes he went some way in trying ti make our stay at the hotel enjoyable, unfortunately the damage was done really , and this only got worse as the service in the restaurants is not good at all unless you have tips on view , this has been stated by many people on here,the toilets around the pool are shocking, wet floors , hardly ever cleaned, i never saw one person in the toliets cleaning them during two weeks, this hotel is tired and in need of refurbishment , the grounds are very nice, the beach is gorgeous, yeah some coral to the right where the privilege cabanas are , but hey just walk 2 minutes and the sea has no coral , fantastic waves, the concierge on the beach is ver good, the ginger restaurant is very good as is fellipe the waiter, food in a morning and in the afternoon is also very good with a good selection, apart from the restaurant by the beach , service food choices is bad, especially the service, i have been to many hotels in playa, the beloved , the playa car palace ext, all very very good with attention to detail , this hotel has lost all the detail , i really could not recommend this hotel to anyone to be honest, ,, yes it has fantastic reviews, but as i mentioned , if my first review got removed, how many other peoples reviews have also been removed ??????

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guests from Sheffield/ UK

After all the efforts of our attentive staff and management to change your first bad impression, we are truly sorry that you experienced such a negative experience during your holiday in our resort.

And even more surprised after speaking with you and your wife personally and after confirming me your intention to come back in September? That you felt to leave a third bad review regarding your last stay.

It is your right to post a bad review, however saying complete untruths is another thing, this is the reason why we would like to point out to the all TA community reading this response that our Guests do not have to tip to receive their drinks in a normal glass in the courtyard, this kind of speculation is completely false and grossly unfounded. We welcome all people here at the VIM, and have in the past, and will continue to do so in the future.

Once again, it is our regret that we were not able to exceed your expectations, although many travelers find the Valentin imperial Maya to be a great place for romantic and relaxing getaway, with excellent food options and outstanding service.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We chose this resort for my sister's June wedding and it turned out to be the most magical experience of our lives. The rooms were clean, spacious, and the all-inclusive package meant free room service 24/7. There are bars all over the resort, and even one by the beach. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating, and the amenities of the hotel itself are outstanding: a "lazy river" type pool that wraps around the resort (includes at least one swim-up bar), a top-of-the-line spa complete with massages, skin treatments, and hair and make-up artists. The weather was perfect the entire five days we were there. The food was incredible--they have various romantic restaurants offering every type of food imaginable--Thai, Italian, authentic Mexican, and an impressive open-air breakfast buffet with fresh fruit, and an omelet, smoothie, and crepe bar. Just remember to bring tip money for the friendly staff and a camera to capture the beautiful resort and beaches, and you're set to have the best vacation of your life.

Room Tip: Since we traveled with a large wedding party, we were able to see a good amount of the rooms (includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear recent VIM Guests from Austin, Texas,

Thank you for your wonderful review. we are happy to know that you received a superior level of service and that this had such an impact on your vacation, as we have said many times before, we are very proud of each and every employee and they are definately a big part of the vacation experience.

Thank you for choosing the VIM for your holiday and we hope to share many more in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Beach area - need to have a 2nd bar set up on the opposite end. The bar server could not keep up with the number of guests on the beach. We waited 1 hour for drinks! The server was trying her hardest but too far to walk and too many guests.

Beach Area - have snorkel equipment for check out on the beach!

Beach Area - have towel exchange there too! Not just the pool.

Pool - get rid of the torn /ragged blue floats in the main pool and lazy river areas. They need to be replaced desperately and need more of them.

Excursion - terrible and worst excursion ever experienced and I've been on quite a few. Went to Isle Mujeres with Sea Passion group... they were terrible and not at all customer oriented. First we were shocked to be charged $10/per person when we first were dropped into "hell" from the unfriendly tour bus driver. Then once finally on the catamaran, we were treated like cattle...dropped off stranded on the island and not allowed to reboard the boat. And they couldn't even properly dock the catamaran when we arrived We had to walk through another boat to reach the dock! 60+ people ...talk about safety concerns, lack of professionalism, and lawsuit material for injury risk! They were simply AWFUL!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear recent VIM Guests from Sturbridge ,

Thank you for your review and for your preference for the Valentin Imperial Maya.

We took good note of your not so positive comments, we have taken not of those as to share with the correspondent departments; be reassured that all comments are taken into consideration and are used to improve the guest experience, if needed be. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We hope that despite of this situation you afford us the opportunity to serve you again at the Valentin Imperial Maya.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I went to the Valentin Imperial Maya for my honeymoon. My husband and I were extremely impressed with the resort from the second we walked into the main lobby. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The food choices are great! We cannot wait to go back for our anniversary! I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking to travel to Mexico!

Room Tip: Golden Suite rooms were the best! Right in the middle of everything but still quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Madeline ,

We are pleased that you loved it here; your kind comments really motivate us to continue and further improve our services.

We are happy that you had a beautiful vacations and more so that you'll be back to spend your anniversary with us .

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Was there July 2nd thru 9th. Omg loved it! The room was amazing. The service fantastic. The restaurants great! The entertainment in the plaza spectacular! The location gorgeous! The only issue I had with the room was not being able to control the temp in our room. It was being raised everyday by "someone" other than us & we could not lower. And as Americans we prefer cool over moderate temp when in a jungle area. Room service was delicious! Though the morning we left our breakfast never arrived & we spent 12 hrs traveling home on empty stomachs.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Janine from Oceanport ,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya. We are pleased to read your positive comments , It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed most of our services and facilities.

Regarding your not so positive comments regarding the A/C, we have taken good note as to share with the correspondent departments; we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. be reassured that all comments are taken into consideration and are used to improve the guest experience, if needed be.

We hope that despite of this situation they afford us the opportunity to serve them again at the Valentin Imperial Maya.


Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez KM 311 500 | Playa del Carmen, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentin Imperial Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.