We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rosewood Mayakoba to your Saves list
Rosewood Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Long Beach, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband just got back after 4 night trip to celebrate our ten year anniversary. We had such a great time!
We used their car service which worked out really well and I highly recommend it!
The food was all great! We love casa del lago the best since the food was great and the service was outstanding! We ended up eating there twice!
The beach service was terrific! Fernando on the beach was so sweet and took such good care of us!! We loved him! The beach was beautiful and I do agree with other posts in saying that it's not the best beach I've ever seen but it was beautiful! And again, the service on the beach makes up for it all!!!

There were good number of kids but the staff knew we were there without our kids and sat us away from kids. I'm not sure if I would bring my kids. But I will say, the staff was very kind and accommodating to the families with kids. I did go and checked out rosebuds (kid's club) and it did seem very well organized.
We had an overwater suite and it was so relaxing to sit outside or in our pool and just listen to the wildlife and the stars! Breathtaking!
We used the spa for massages which were expensive but great. You can use the spa without a fee or a treatment. The spa is beautiful! I also used the gym and it was great as well.
Of course, we rented bikes and for us this just made the trip that more magical!! I loved feeling like a little kid all over again!!! I loved riding my bike and smelling all the different flowers around the property!!!
I hope to be back real soon! I'm just not sure of it's worth it with kids. It's a luxury resort and just perfect for the overworked and over-scheduled crowd! For our honeymoon, we were 10 years younger and with a much greater amount time to relax and home! Ten years later, with kids and more demanding careers, I need the vacation to unwind me! And this did just that!
The only negative encounter we had was the hostess at the agave azul. She was so nasty and short with us that she left me speechless. Other than that, everyone was sweet! The other resort guests were down to earth and nice as well. It was not stuffy at all! No one wore jackets to dinner! Sundresses with heals or sandals and men even wore dress shorts and polos. Funny enough there was a very overdressed couple, their clothes were all designer logos and I started to cringe thinking this was going to be the rule not the exception. I then overhear the staff say to them, "we hope you enjoyed your visit at our resort and your cab back to your resort should be here in a few minutes". I'm glad I didn't have to spend my vacation concerned about every little thing I wore. Sure, people had on beautiful clothes but never flashy!
Okay, I can keep going on and on but if you can afford it, just go for it!!! You will never regret it. I kept saying that I was so glad we didn't book anywhere else we were considering! This is a stand out and special!!! I miss it already!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    94
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
257
548
13
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I recently stayed here with my wife, son and my wife's family to celebrate my wife's birthday. I couldn't afford more than a one night's stay with all of our guests along, but we made the most of it and it was truly incredible. I've been to other Rosewood properties and other hotel/resorts in the greater Cancún/Playa del Carmen area and this is by far the best one. We stayed in the Deluxe Lagoon Suites and they were beautiful. The architecture, interior design, landscaping, everything was top-notch. There are much pricier rooms, but even the entry level ones are masterpieces.

The best part about this place is not only the property, but the service. The staff are incredibly nice, attentive and caring. You will never feel uncomfortable and they are never rude. I have very basic Spanish speaking skills and they played along nicely, no snobbery, just a very warm ambiance. They all speak English too, so nothing to worry about.

Being from Manhattan, I have certain technology concerns that I consider essential to relaxation. Rosewood Mayakoba met or exceeded all of them including: Internet service, water pressure, air conditioning, 24hr gym and proportions. Speaking of proportions, you won't find any undersized nonsense here, for example shower heads are around 7ft ceilings between 10 and 11ft.

The grounds are beautiful, the staff is amazing, the seclusion of the jungle is presented in a warm and safe way that is simply unmatched. When you first drive in, you get this amazing feeling that you are leaving the city of Playa del Carmen behind and entering a proper jungle. The interior details in the rooms are what you would see in the top 1% of Manhattan penthouses, it is Mexican modern with Manhattan feel, spectacular.

If you have any hesitations, forget them, I am not easily pleased and am perhaps one of the most detail demanding people this planet has seen. Trust me, you will love it here. If I could afford it, I would stay for months.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great hotel, although expected it to be the best of the Mayakoba hotel, I think Banyantree topped it slightly.
Although the arrival is amazing.. collecting you by boat they take you through the resort which really adds to the experience to make you feel a world away.. its a huge hotel so you will have to give 20mins to get everywhere by buggy..
Overall a great stay and defiantly recommended

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We are lucky to be able to visit Mayakoba on a regular basis and it only gets better each time. Lagoon or beach Suites, both have their own charm and both are great!
A must try: Mexican artisanal beers that the resort has just implemented, amazing taste and great sense of place, Mexical is on top of the list.
The Agave Azul experience is unique, sushis with tequila/mescal, a delicacy. And keeping in line with the location, ask for Mexican wines recommendations at Casa Del Lago!
The therapy would not be complete without a treat at the Spa and at the gym, Cesar is the master to keep you fit!
Hope to be back for another therapy session soon

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 4 nights here and they rate among the best hotel stays we have ever had. The entire hotel complex is fantastic. Private villas built around natural lagoons or beachfront. The villas are simply incredible and very well equipped. The assigned butlers are super friendly and resourceful.

3 pools and 3 restaurants to chose from (actually 9 restaurants given you can dine at the Fairmont or Banyan Tree and cross charge back to Rosewood), fantastic gym and spa & sauna facilities, the list goes on... Each room has bicycles so you can navigate the property easily, or you can call or hail a golf cart which will take you anywhere, so getting around is very easy.

The beach is great. While a bit rocky and not as transparent as quieter bays along the Riviera, it is immaculately clean. While you lie there, your towels get refreshed at will, cold water gets renewed regularly, and head massages, sorbets, candy, etc are constantly on offer. The hotel even flies hawks (rescued) every 2 days to scare seagulls away!!!

The staff is incredibly friendly. We've had nothing but pleasant experiences.

We would come back here in a heartbeat!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

One of the experiences that have let me without words.
Service - Professionality - Location - Suits - Food all Amazing.
One of the best of all. Continue to do like this and 21km of Hotels in Cancun are going do be JUST after you.
I have been there in August 2012, 10night.

Best regards From @soloviaggi

Room Tip: I prefere the rooms next to the beach where you have in front just the sand and the amazing beach. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Went here for spring break. The property was very impressive. Rooms were top notch, and service was beyond top notch. Everybody was extremely helpful. The property was amazing. It's so large you will need a bike to get around.

The restaurants on property were pretty good. The breakfast buffet is a little different. You have to order the hot items on the menu, cold items are available at the buffet. It's takes them a little while to bring your hot items so be prepared.

The Mexican food was not quite what we expected. We couldn't wait to get home to Texas to get some good Tex-Mex.

The only let down was the beach. It is fairly small, and VERY rocky. You will not enjoy going in the ocean without some good aqua socks. However, this hotel has more of a jungle vibe than a beach resort. The beach is attended very well. Staff is available to prepare your chairs, and bring whatever you need. Our butler even came to see us on the beach.

Don't be scared to take a trip to Playa de Carmen one day. The hotel can easily arrange transportation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.