We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Carribean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rosewood Mayakoba to your Saves list
Rosewood Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 198 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Carribean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We traveled to Rosewood Mayakoba for our 9th anniversary. It was amazing. From the reservation process, to the getting back to airport, it was perfect.

We look for places that are less than 4 hours travel time from DFW and this was perfect.

While making the reservation, the specialist recommended a hotel pick up from the airport. It was ideal. We walked out the airport door, met our greeter and were quickly put into an Escalade and off on way in under 5 minutes while others toiled in the heat and humidity. As we headed south, the driver offered to stop anywhere we need and he lead to quick in and out store to pick up a few thing on the way. He never left our side inside the store made sure everything was cool, even translating when we couldn't find something hard to describe. We were at the hotel before we knew it.

The hotel check in swift, professional and private. We felt we were the only ones their. After taking our bags, we were put in one of the electric boats and given a drink. Perfect. The boat dropped us off at our dock and we in our room seamlessly.

The room was perfect. Large, clean, high ceiling, and private pool. The bed and room are fantastic. The bathroom is 1st class. Indoor and outdoor shower, private sundeck and massive custom tub.

We used the private pool each day still went to the beach pool and lobby pool. The private pool was too hot when we arrived and someone "came out of the bushes" in less than 15 minutes to fix it. The beach pool is amazing and where we spent most of time. The private cabana and beach chairs make it fell like no one else is around. The snacks and drinks brought around by the hotel are a great added benefit. The staff drives you around on golf carts because the property is spread out for ideal privacy. Everyone knows your name and greets you every time they see you.

The food is great and amazing affordable for a 5 star hotel. We didn't feel nickle and dimed at all. We brought our own wine to drink on the beach and the staff was always eager to open and provide glasses without a charge. We ate in all the restaurants and had great experiences every where.

We had butler too, but never used him/her because, well, we really don't know what a butler does.

We will be going back in 2015.

Room Tip: They are all great. We stayed in the cheapest one and were still blown away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    98
    22
    11
    6
See reviews for
261
562
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I am not a young woman. I needed this trip, or a hospital!. The hotel was wonderful. I had
a personal butler and people knew that I was on my own and really paid attention to my requests and safety. The rooms are large and gorgeously swanky. I even had a roof deck and a private
plunge pool. I took cabs into Playa del Carmen to shop and believe it or not took a salsa dancing class! The hotel arranged (for a fee of course) to collect me at Cancun Airport. I always felt safe and in good hands as a solo traveler. They arranged for me to see Tulum, swim with the dolphins
and took me to the golf course to observe (I don't play but my PGA husband does...I had to report back!). It was not inexpensive but it was worth every single penny to feel so cossetted and appreciated. I would live there if I could afford it. Wonderful adventure.

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach are gorgeous but pricey. The suites are good if you have more than 1 person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

After staying at Rosewood's Las Ventanas last summer, my wife and I had high expectations that were almost met. The property is beautiful, the spa was wonderful and the service, particularly at the beach, was uber-friendly. The beach restaurant for both lunch and dinner was fantastic, while Casa de Lago seemed hit or miss. One dinner offered impeccable service, while one did not. TIP....ask for the complimentary bikes (beach cruisers) ahead of time. We were disappointed to be placed on a waiting list for 24 hours. The property is large enough that bikes are necessary and waiting for golf carts was not particularly fun.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beautiful spa suites, but they were pretty far from the beach. Next time we would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Rosewood Mayakoba is truly wonderful. It is built into the natural surroundings (mangroves, lagoons, beach) in an unobtrusive manner so that it reveals its beauty as you bicycle through (or take a boat or golf cart). The service is impeccable - each room is assigned a butler and the butlers are so helpful and informative and gracious. The waitstaff at the restaurants greet guests by name and it feels intimate despite having many rooms. In addition to the beautiful beach and pools at the hotel, there are incredible activities in this area of Mexico. Our teenage kids loved the underground cenotes, snorkeling with sea turtles in their natural habitat, and visiting the Mayan ruins. The snorkeling is great - there is a tremendous reef along the coast with so much to see. One can relax completely on the deck of one's room and by the pool one day and be zip lining the next day. The only area that we felt could improve was the food - it is good but not great. This was true at the Banyan Tree Mayakoba as well (which is also lovely but a little more corporate feeling). We have had much better food at the great resorts in Cabo and Zihuataneo. The food in this region seems a bit more bland. The beaches, natural beauty, and variety of activities in this area, however, far outweigh the difference in food.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is by far the best, best best hotel you can go to. The rooms are amazing, all all the rooms have a plunge pool which is awesome, and an indoor and outdoor shower, they are so welcoming and friendly at the hotel...the grounds are beautiful....if your debating between Fairmont, Rosewood, go with rosewoods! I have gone for the past two years, and I will continue to go every year with my kids...The kids club is awesome, and the pool is nice for the kids..the service is great at the pool, the breakfast buffet and restaurants serve great food..I dont think i have any complaints about this place! The beach is awesome too, and the yoga instructors are great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Best service we've ever experienced at a resort. Everyone was genuinely warm and helpful. My daughter was recently diagnosed as Celiac, and they could not have been more knowledgeable and accommodating of her needs.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We loved our time at Rosewood Mayakoba in Feb 2014. We stayed in a lagoon one bedroom suite and have to say that the cabana, grounds and communal buildings of the resort are stunning and beautifully designed. Our private plunge pool and lagoon deck were such a treat and we loved feeding the iguanas and the coatis in our back yard. Our 2 yr old daughter loved the pools and the golf carts and was generally treated like a princess. Overall the service is terrific and all of the staff go out of their way to make your stay as lovely and comfortable as possible.

We also loved taking the lagoon boat between the hotels and going to the other hotels for drinks and meals. Its a nice treat and make a longer stay more interesting.

The main issue I had with the resort was also something another reviewer mentioned...there are a ton of little perks and services that you have to find out about on your own and oftentimes miss. This is terribly annoying and made me feel like I didn't get the most out of my vacation. For example, no one mentioned the free bike rentals to me. Did you know you can take a private lagoon boat ride and picnic? I didn't know either. Ipads for kids at dinner? Nope, didn't know about that one. Nature tour every day? Wish I knew about it before our last day. Meal plan? I'm not a mind reader. And the biggest one of all of them...kids eat free! You heard it right. Nowhere on the hotel's website, restaurant menus or anywhere else did it say this, but it happens to be a policy that kids eat free off the kids menu. Wow, I wish I had known that one before ordering hundreds of dollars worth of meals for my daughter off the adult menu. All of this was very frustrating and easy fixed by a proper orientation to the hotel at check in.

Besides these hiccups, we had a terrific stay. A few other tips below...
1) Bring water shoes as there is a strip of rocks in the shallow end of the ocean. In general, pools are much better than the beaches
2) Use the free spa facilities (pool, sauna, whirlpool, etc). They are terrific
3) Resort restaurants are ok, but not great. Best was the casual grill by the beach, worst was the sushi one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.