We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service and Natural and Blissful Accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Save Saved
You added Rosewood Mayakoba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now
Ranked #1 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service and Natural and Blissful Accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Rosewood Mayakoba is truly wonderful. It is built into the natural surroundings (mangroves, lagoons, beach) in an unobtrusive manner so that it reveals its beauty as you bicycle through (or take a boat or golf cart). The service is impeccable - each room is assigned a butler and the butlers are so helpful and informative and gracious. The waitstaff at the restaurants greet guests by name and it feels intimate despite having many rooms. In addition to the beautiful beach and pools at the hotel, there are incredible activities in this area of Mexico. Our teenage kids loved the underground cenotes, snorkeling with sea turtles in their natural habitat, and visiting the Mayan ruins. The snorkeling is great - there is a tremendous reef along the coast with so much to see. One can relax completely on the deck of one's room and by the pool one day and be zip lining the next day. The only area that we felt could improve was the food - it is good but not great. This was true at the Banyan Tree Mayakoba as well (which is also lovely but a little more corporate feeling). We have had much better food at the great resorts in Cabo and Zihuataneo. The food in this region seems a bit more bland. The beaches, natural beauty, and variety of activities in this area, however, far outweigh the difference in food.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    678
    76
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
205
441
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is by far the best, best best hotel you can go to. The rooms are amazing, all all the rooms have a plunge pool which is awesome, and an indoor and outdoor shower, they are so welcoming and friendly at the hotel...the grounds are beautiful....if your debating between Fairmont, Rosewood, go with rosewoods! I have gone for the past two years, and I will continue to go every year with my kids...The kids club is awesome, and the pool is nice for the kids..the service is great at the pool, the breakfast buffet and restaurants serve great food..I dont think i have any complaints about this place! The beach is awesome too, and the yoga instructors are great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Best service we've ever experienced at a resort. Everyone was genuinely warm and helpful. My daughter was recently diagnosed as Celiac, and they could not have been more knowledgeable and accommodating of her needs.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We loved our time at Rosewood Mayakoba in Feb 2014. We stayed in a lagoon one bedroom suite and have to say that the cabana, grounds and communal buildings of the resort are stunning and beautifully designed. Our private plunge pool and lagoon deck were such a treat and we loved feeding the iguanas and the coatis in our back yard. Our 2 yr old daughter loved the pools and the golf carts and was generally treated like a princess. Overall the service is terrific and all of the staff go out of their way to make your stay as lovely and comfortable as possible.

We also loved taking the lagoon boat between the hotels and going to the other hotels for drinks and meals. Its a nice treat and make a longer stay more interesting.

The main issue I had with the resort was also something another reviewer mentioned...there are a ton of little perks and services that you have to find out about on your own and oftentimes miss. This is terribly annoying and made me feel like I didn't get the most out of my vacation. For example, no one mentioned the free bike rentals to me. Did you know you can take a private lagoon boat ride and picnic? I didn't know either. Ipads for kids at dinner? Nope, didn't know about that one. Nature tour every day? Wish I knew about it before our last day. Meal plan? I'm not a mind reader. And the biggest one of all of them...kids eat free! You heard it right. Nowhere on the hotel's website, restaurant menus or anywhere else did it say this, but it happens to be a policy that kids eat free off the kids menu. Wow, I wish I had known that one before ordering hundreds of dollars worth of meals for my daughter off the adult menu. All of this was very frustrating and easy fixed by a proper orientation to the hotel at check in.

Besides these hiccups, we had a terrific stay. A few other tips below...
1) Bring water shoes as there is a strip of rocks in the shallow end of the ocean. In general, pools are much better than the beaches
2) Use the free spa facilities (pool, sauna, whirlpool, etc). They are terrific
3) Resort restaurants are ok, but not great. Best was the casual grill by the beach, worst was the sushi one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent one week in Rosewood Mayakoba, partly with a group, partly my wife and I.
All was absolutely fantastic, from the location to the service level. All employees are constantly available to help you, always with smile.
When there, you are immerged in the wild nature but still having all imaginable confort.
Just one remark on the food, which being good, is a bit expensive.
Breakfast is just fantastic.
If you want to spend some unforgetable time in a place where you feel you are the most important person on earth, just go there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

If you want paradise,then the Rosewood at Mayakoba should be your choice. The suites are fantastic,the staff smile all the time, nothing is too much for them. The service is impeccable.
The breakfast is so extensive with a huge choice. If you want a quiet peaceful time you stay at the main pool, which was like a bath. If you want facilities for a family, then there is the beautiful white sandy beach with another pool. If you want to luxuriate, then the spa is fabulous.
If you play golf, there is free transport to the wonderful PGA championship golf course, where for a fixed price you can play a weeks unlimited golf. If you like to exercise, there is a good gym and excellent trainers, providing numerous fitness classes
What more can one ask for on a holiday. It was great.

Room Tip: Choose a lagoon suite overlooking the lagoon, if you want peace and quiet. One not too far from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

After staying few nights at Banyan Tree we changed to Rosewood to experience it as well as we were just "next door" to be honest I was a bit anxious as our Ocean View Suite here was more than double in price than ours at Banyan Tree so we had a bit of expatiations and I must say it paid off… Rosewood rocked it, from the moment we arrived we could notice the difference in service although at BT we also had a great service but somehow Rosewood was better with more personal details not sure because we had one of the most expensive suites but it was very special anyway. The Ocean view makes such a difference and I definitely recommend this otherwise whats the point to be there right? Our butter Cesar was the nicest person we met at the whole trip very genuine and helpful… the resort facilities were very nice, 3 big pools one at the Spa where only adults can use although mostly of the kids normally stay by the beach pool anyway so we managed to use it early morning as our room was just next door and by the time it was getting busy we were enjoying the other areas of the resort. I must say we did have some minor issues with service like the first night they took way too long to service our room in the evening so after dinner we had to be outside waiting for more or less 15 mins and also we have ordered 2 glasses of Champagne at the same evening and it never came but they apologized it next day and we were fine… They did make us feel comfortable and took good care of us. The Spa facilities there were fantastic, much better than the Banyan Tree one with beautiful changing room, 2 waiting areas, welcome drink, steam room, amazing we loved it the only bit we didn't enjoy much is that we could hear the masseurs walking around during the massage perhaps because of the wood floor so they should do something about it maybe chaining their shoes… I guess we will come back there but this time we must be sure there is no holidays in the US so we don't have to deal with lots of kids…

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.