We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rosewood with children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rosewood Mayakoba to your Saves list
Rosewood Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Rosewood with children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I don't know if a review like this is already up or not but I thought I would update it. My wife, I and 7 month old daughter are leaving rosewood today. I will echo what most people have said about the resort, amenities, service etc.

This was our first trip with our daughter and rosewood couldn't have made it easier. We actually used Canada transfers (see written review).

Check in was a breeze. We were greeted with drinks and shown to front desk where we were told that we were upgraded to a lagoon suite. The main items of the resort were explained and then we headed down to our boat for transfer. We stayed at unit 523 which is near one end of the resort, but close to the beach pool. Upon our arrival it was a surprise to see they had set up a crib and playpen. Our first day at breakfast they had a personalized bib made for our daughter. We required soap to clean the bottles, no problem. They even dropped off a steamer and bottle warmer.

We mainly stayed at the pool by the beach in our cabana. The resort has ample water toys for kids, day camp and baby sitting if required.

I can say how impressed we were with everything about this place. Is it expensive, yes!! You know that already, the service, location, resort itself is worth it. Everyone works with a smile and it's been a great trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    82
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
222
484
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Rosewood Mayakoba is one of the most beautiful properties on the Cancun peninsula. All of the Trip Advisor reviews we read accurately described the amazing property, luxurious accommodations, convenient location, outstanding spa and excellent amenities. This is truly a wonderful resort that provided my wife and me with the perfect antidote for the winter weather of the northeastern United States.

We are very fortunate to have visited some of the nicest hotels in the world and appreciate the level of service that differentiates properties.

While service at Rosewood was friendly and acceptable throughout the resort, our butler Fernando exceeded expectations and could not have been more helpful. Staff members at the main pool were attentive and prompt in the delivery of orders from the bar. Service in the 3 on-site restaurants was mixed, ranging from outstanding to a bit forgetful. Food and beverage options were extensive, but be prepared to pay surprisingly high prices -even for a 5-Diamond hotel- (dinner for two with a glass of wine - $150+) and a ridiculous add-on of 31% to every bill for tax and gratuity. That's on top of captive audience pricing for all food and beverages.

Don't miss the Mayakoba nature trail - great for running, walking and biking - which connects Rosewood to the Fairmount and Banyan Tree resorts. Also, a short taxi ride will bring you to the town of Playa del Carmen and a wide range of local shops, restaurants and bars.

The Rosewood Mayakoba excels in many ways but be prepared to pay everything you would expect at a top resort -and more.

Room Tip: The 2-story island villas are spacious and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Gorgeous property...from the modern rooms to the beautiful beach this property sits on. It's a Zen like feel throughout the whole property. The Mexican restaurant on site is FANTASTIC as was the Main (fancier) restaurant near the pool.

The place is expensive, food/drink etc however you had to be aware of this prior to arriving. This isn't low budget travel however i will say it was worth every penny.

The golf course on site holds a PGA Tour Event and it was a blast to play.

All in all a great vacation, and we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Rosewood is just simple put the most extraordinary resort in all of Mexico. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation with very none typical anything this is the place you must visit.
I want to start with the one bad thing about rosewood (just my personal thoughts but I've traveled extensively to some very high end resorts and may be a bit bias) the resort is expensive and for the price you pay service and attention could be better. The resort is massive in size but only has a little over 100 rooms you see staff everywhere they are very pleasant and friendly but lacking a bit in promptness to request and overall service.

Aside from that I have nothing but positive to say from the attention to detail in the resort layout to the food presentation fantastic. Rooms offer peaceful and quiet settings they are roomy with top notch amenities.
The resort is spread out so you'll be walking often but they have staff driving golf carts to assist in your transportation needs if you do not want to walk.
The gym and spa are luxurious and a must visit. Relaxing and very well designed. You will be refreshed I guarantee this.
The beach is far from most suites and is currently experiencing some major erosion but the pool layout is nice and spacious. I found the lobby pool to be much quieter and less crowded.

Food and drinks first and foremost do the meal plan. The food can't say one bad thing prepared to your liking portions are great and always tasted great.

Drinks always were on the mark and great presentation. If your there for the make your own drink night check it out.

Drinks/food expensive but worth it.

Aside from my first comment the staff is very friendly and accommodating. They try!

You absolutely need to get a bike for your visit. It will complete your rosewood experience. Take one day to ride the awesome trails and visit the two other resorts. Ask once you arrive bc sometimes there are not enough on certain days. Thinking about it now they probably should include two bikes in every suite automatically.

In conclusion this is not a place to go to if you are not looking for a relaxing retreat vacation. You will not see large amounts of people and it's does not offer extensive nightlife activities. The days are relaxing and spent mainly with the people you arrived with. There are lots of families some honeymooners. I think the resort itself could actually be added to someone's life must sees. It's just amazing and I've seen nothing like it anywhere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My wife and I just returned from Rosewood Mayakoba. I am in agreement with everything she said, but wanted to add the following. A Spanish company owns the large area identified as Mayakoba. It presently operates (through hotel companies) three hotels there, one of them being the Rosewood Mayakoba, Guests at the hotels can walk, bike or run along a beautiful and well-maintained trail that is 3-4 kilometers long and connects the three resorts. They can also catch the lagoon ferry to travel between the hotels - it's worth taking the ride just to enjoy the waterways, which are full of wonderful wildlife and beautiful vistas. We had planned to explore the Yucatan Peninsula during our stay, but the Mayakoba complex was so wonderful that we only left the area once. Arrive hungry - the food is fabulous at each of the three Rosewood restaurants, and if you purchase a meal plan, the temptation is to keep eating until you can't move. Luckily, there are plenty of opportunities for exercise, on the water and off. There are three pools, one by the ocean, one in the main lobby area, and one at the spa. Each one has plenty of features that would appeal to adults and to children, and interesting design elements. We appreciated the constant supplies of iced water, large towels, delicious treats and face spritzers at the pools and at the beach. Our room, an over-water deluxe suite, had a warm (as in warm enough for my wife to want to go in it) plunge pool on the deck over-looking the lagoon. Bugs were not an issue because there were so many birds and animals eating them - natural insect control. A perfect example of this hotel's approach to protecting the natural environment is how it deals with bird pests (eg grackles that hover around restaurants to steal sugar and morsels from plates). Two falconers bring hawks each day to drive away the bird pests. I very much enjoyed talking with Hector, a local falconer since age 16. His hawk Lucky was rescued after being shot, and, although he isn't capable of surviving alone in the wild, he is great at patrolling the beach and pool areas. After making a small donation to a local wildlife rescue organization, I was able to call Lucky to a landing perch I held over my head and feed him. Very exciting! Along the Mayakoba trail is a deep cenote that houses 7 kinds of bats. The resort keeps a guide there from 9 to 5, who takes guests to the underground cavern, and who also protects the bats. My wife and I have traveled all over the world, and we have never seen this combination of five-star luxury, commitment to protecting the local wildlife and environment, and absolutely delightful staff, at all levels. Children are welcome, and there is plenty for them to do, but probably because of the price, we saw only a few young couples traveling with infants and toddlers. One caution - the beach is wide, long and beautiful. But recent storms have eroded some of the underwater sand, exposing rock and coral lumps. For ease of walking in the water, I'd recommend water shoes, or getting into the water way to the left or right of the main beach area, where it's more sandy underwater. The hotel will replenish the sand, presumably during its next closed season.. That is the only even remotely negative thing I can think of to say. Rosewood Mayakoba is expensive, but worth every bit of the price.

Room Tip: Rooms 320 and 420 are more isolated. They face a bird rookery, which is great for birders like us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Rosewood Mayakoba achieves the seeming impossible - perfect service (meaning thoughtful, efficient and friendly) and luxurious surroundings with sustainable development and ecological stewardship. My husband and I enjoy birding, and much to our surprise, the hotel grounds and surrounding lagoons and trails offered some of the best birding we have ever experienced. There are very good spotting scopes in each room,. The architecture is beautiful and I have never seen a more beautifully lit hotel at night. The spa is stunning and welcoming at the same time. Our room, a deluxe over-water suite, had the best closet space we've seen in a hotel; the room is a five star jungle hut. Three amazing restaurants. Many thanks to the wonderful staff, especially Laita, Frank and Ramon. And special thanks to Raquel the biologist and James Batt, birder and photographer extraordinaire, for great birding cruises along the lagoon.

Room Tip: 320 and 430 are best for birders
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Just back from a week in heaven at the Rosewood Mayakoba. We stayed in suite 500, a deluxe Oceanview Beach suite that was beyond out expectations (and we have high expectations).

The service, the food, the location, the accommodations were just beyond...From zip lining, snorkeling, scuba diving and relaxing, it was one of the best vacations our family has ever taken. We can't wait to go back and I'd highly recommend a stay at the incredible Rosewood Mayakoba!

The Thompsons!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the deluxe Oceanview Beach Suites. A must have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.