We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying here now.... Spectacular!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Save Saved
You added Rosewood Mayakoba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now
Ranked #1 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Staying here now.... Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place is really off the charts cool. So many amenities they're too hard to count! We've come to the Riviera Maya several times and have no idea how this amazing hotel escaped us. We were actually told about it by a friend in Finland who stayed here for a golf vacation. She loved it as well. Great food, super attentive service and the butler staff is incredibly helpful. If the days ahead are anything like our first day and night, we're in heaven!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, try to get an over water suite or a beach front suite. It's really the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    650
    75
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
196
426
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This resort is exceptional in every way. We've stayed in a lot of wonderful hotels from Four Seasons to the Trisara in Phuket, and Mandarin Oriental in Chiang Mai, but the Rosewood Mayakoba is now my favourite. The architecture, setting, rooms, pools, beach, but most of all the staff are exceptional. Everyone on the resort from house keeping to butlers to font desk to waiters/waitresses cannot do enough for you. The rooms are beautiful and tasteful - not the largest room/villa I've had the fortune to stay in, but it felt like home and was perfectly maintained. The spa is beautiful, the dry room, wet room, various pools are all stunning - the Gym is also excellent with staff immediately cleaning down each machine with fresh towels the moment a guest has used it. The best thing is that the resort does not feel formulaic or formal: there is a relaxed feel and the staff are there to help, yet do not impede on the sense of privacy.
This resort is probably the only resort that I have gone to where the website pictures if anything understate the beauty of the property. The architecture and sense of space were wonderful.

The bar serves the best (dirty) martinis ever!.

Everyone is friendly, and other guests not pretentious - it is hard to articulate, but both staff and guests all seem to be happy, relaxed and having fun. Prior to our visit, we spent a few days in the Banyan Tree, and there is no comparison. It is well worth the extra expenditure to experience the Rosewood, and actually, rooms apart, prices were a notch lower at the Rosewood for a higher quality product.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are interconnecting - you may want to ask for a room which is not
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just spent 4 days at this wonderful resort. Faultless service, beautiful villas (we were in 200), stunning gym/spa, and consistent attention to detail. The staff were without exception helpful, knowledgeable and welcoming: they have a real 'can do' and 'think for themselves' attitude. Small touches such as the morning coffee machine at the bar, the freebies at the beach and pool etc made a real difference. The grounds were immaculate. Had spent the previous 5 nights at the Banyan Tree, and the Rosewood is in a completely different league. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We travelled to Rosewood Mayakoba for our family holiday. My mother-in-law researched and chose this hotel for our stay, and it was quite simply amazing! The hotel is in a beautiful location amongst mangroves and also has a gorgeous white sandy beach.

We stayed in a Lagoon suite, which is the most basic room at the resort, but is by know means basic! Its like having your own villa, all the rooms are like self-contained little houses rather than your typical 'hotel room'.

We had our 8 month old baby with us, and there was so much room, the bathroom was to die for, the shower and the bath were HUGE!...there is an indoor and outdoor shower...lots of choice! We had our own boat deck and heated plunge pool, aswell as a roof terrace. The resort is great for children, and they have a Kids club called Rosebuds with daily activities, they also have highchairs available and there is a baby food menu too of different pureed foods etc. In the room they made up a lovely cot for our baby, and also included a little bag of baby toiletries which i have never seen in any hotels before....it was a nice touch.

The resort itself including the gardens and two swimming pool areas are beautiful. There is a large swimming pool area near the hotel reception, which is really beautiful, or if you prefer there is a swimming pool area overlooking the beach. They offer some free water sports at the beach such as sailing and kayaking. We spent most of our time near the beach area, where they have some lovely beach cabanas which are great to shade the baby. Staff come around regularly to clean sunglasses and also with refreshing juice drink or ice lollies.

The level of service we received at this hotel was exceptional, the staff went above and beyond to cater for your every need, nothing was too much trouble. We loved the breakfast there was a great selection of food layed out in buffet style, and you could also order anything from the Menu to be cooked fresh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Perfectly clean! Exceptional service, Butlers, Boats, Beach. The best of the best. pictures are wonderful but dont do it justice. Made the top of my re-visit as soon as possible list! Great get away place for couples or family vacation. Staff greets you by name every time, and are glad you are there and very helpful with any need or question. The food was more than very good as well wood fired pizza is a perfect lunch at the beach. Plunge pools are very relaxing and in every ground level room on the terrace. #1 in Mexico as far as I've seen. Beautiful in the day time, and equally beautiful at night.

Room Tip: 600 and up are on the beach, 500 series rooms are split with lagoon view and ocean view. 500 series...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful resort-- superior and very friendly staff and service! Excellent food! It is quite expensive but worth it for a real treat! You are taken to your suite by boat and you have your own butler! Everyone is so very polite! The pool area is delightful! I would certainly go back there again. You could easily spent your entire time just at the resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 600's. they are ocean front and so close to one of the pools and restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Rosewood Mayakoba far exceeded my expectations. The accommodation is luxurious and fabulous, the food at all 3 restaurants was outstanding, but what stood out above anything else, was the exceptional level of service that we received. The staff went above and beyond to meet our every need and to ensure that our stay was perfect. The staff are unbelievably friendly and greet you each time they see you as if you have been there for months. The spa is wonderful too. This is one place I will definitely go back to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.