We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rosewood Mayakoba to your Saves list
Rosewood Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This resort is amazing. Our favourite destination ever! We are still here, 4 nights to go and could not be happier. We have 2 children, 14 and 17 and all the staff have been wonderful, so sincere and friendly. The: food, ambience, rooms, facilities, size and beauty of the resort is unforgettable. We stayed in the Number 300 villa section and it was a great position, we could walk, or ride bikes or hop on one of the golf carts to take us anywhere. The spa is unbelievable and the tequila library is very interesting! The staff are my favourite ever and on our second day welcome us back wherever we go and remember our names! Love it..

Room Tip: All are beautiful...you actually get to ride a boat at check in as they take you to your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    82
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
222
481
13
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Amazing place...... great service.This is the first place I can compare to Maldives. I do travell a lot and love staying in 5 * anywhere I go. At least 5 times a year I go on vacation like this one, for a week. It is beautiful resort! Very romantic and wild too. I really enjoy it and will come back! The beach is like in Cabo S. Lucas.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Tops in aesthetics, Rosewood Mayakoba made for an amazing four day getaway. Boutique in scale but with mega amenities, the escort is just large enough to afford extreme privacy. The lagoon rooms (basic) are huge with the most gorgeous bathrooms, outdoor shower and upper deck. Inside, all spaces are well thought out and modernly minimal , but with luxurious textiles angles and curves. The plunge pool and sumptuous outdoor lounges made it hard to leave the room for the outrageously beautiful pools!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I had never been to Mexico, more of a european traveler but went for a friend's birthday.
Wow, this resort was spectacular. So beautiful! Paradise. We went into town also by taxi and it's about 20 minutes away but fun to shop for jewelry and little souvenirs. But you never have to leave the resort if you don't want to. The restaurants are great, the beach is peaceful and the rooms are just gorgeous. Would definitely go back someday.

Room Tip: rooms in walking distance of the pool/beach are great but you can call and they pick u up quickly by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We love the Rosewood Mayakoba and this was our fourth trip back. We have two young children and the hotel was very accommodating and family friendly (but we've also been without our kids which is great too). The rooms are beautiful and we loved spending time at the plunge pool while our kids nap. My 2 yr old couldn't get enough of the food at Punta Bonita and still talks about the virgin mango margaritas. He also loved the ecotour and getting to feed the fish! Last but not least, we can't speak highly enough of our butler, Russell, who helped make our trip as easy as possible and exceeded our expectations with his kindness, responsiveness and efficiency. We will definitely request him the next time we go back. Thanks Rosewood Mayakoba for another amazing vacation!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Went to Rosewood Mayakoba for a wedding and it was simply spectacular. Great location, stunning facilities, impeccable service and great food. This is a beautiful place with all the quality you would expect of a 5 star resort but without all the stuffiness. Staff are proactive, helpful, friendly and down to earth. Don't miss the beach, breakfast and tequila bar! Rooms are beautiful and the staff are great. They even gave our 1 year old son turn down service on his crib. :)

Room Tip: I don't think they have any rooms that aren't great. Ours was on the lagoon with a small pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I would like to think that my husband and I are well traveled and have stayed at some really swanky places, however Rosewood Mayakoba is beyond comparison to any place we have ever been. We were amazed by the creative layout of the resort, giving a private feel to each suite and guest. We arrived and our room was not ready yet so we spent the morning at the spa. My husband got a massage, loved it, and I being pregnant (first trimester) opted to just lounge at the pool. The spa was beautiful and offered many different amentities to the guest. We were then transfered to our overwater lagoon suite. Words cannot describe how incredible this suite was. We loved everything about it, probably the outside shower and personal plunge pool the most. Sitting on the deck with my morning tea was one of the highlights as well. The food at the various restaurants was excellent as well as the exclusive service. It really does live up to its reputation and price tag. You get what you pay for. The whole first day I kept asking my husband, when can we come back??? I would highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting a beyond luxurious vacation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.