We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great trip to the Rosewood Mayakoba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Save Saved
You added Rosewood Mayakoba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now
Ranked #1 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another great trip to the Rosewood Mayakoba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We love the Rosewood Mayakoba and this was our fourth trip back. We have two young children and the hotel was very accommodating and family friendly (but we've also been without our kids which is great too). The rooms are beautiful and we loved spending time at the plunge pool while our kids nap. My 2 yr old couldn't get enough of the food at Punta Bonita and still talks about the virgin mango margaritas. He also loved the ecotour and getting to feed the fish! Last but not least, we can't speak highly enough of our butler, Russell, who helped make our trip as easy as possible and exceeded our expectations with his kindness, responsiveness and efficiency. We will definitely request him the next time we go back. Thanks Rosewood Mayakoba for another amazing vacation!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    81
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
210
452
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Went to Rosewood Mayakoba for a wedding and it was simply spectacular. Great location, stunning facilities, impeccable service and great food. This is a beautiful place with all the quality you would expect of a 5 star resort but without all the stuffiness. Staff are proactive, helpful, friendly and down to earth. Don't miss the beach, breakfast and tequila bar! Rooms are beautiful and the staff are great. They even gave our 1 year old son turn down service on his crib. :)

Room Tip: I don't think they have any rooms that aren't great. Ours was on the lagoon with a small pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I would like to think that my husband and I are well traveled and have stayed at some really swanky places, however Rosewood Mayakoba is beyond comparison to any place we have ever been. We were amazed by the creative layout of the resort, giving a private feel to each suite and guest. We arrived and our room was not ready yet so we spent the morning at the spa. My husband got a massage, loved it, and I being pregnant (first trimester) opted to just lounge at the pool. The spa was beautiful and offered many different amentities to the guest. We were then transfered to our overwater lagoon suite. Words cannot describe how incredible this suite was. We loved everything about it, probably the outside shower and personal plunge pool the most. Sitting on the deck with my morning tea was one of the highlights as well. The food at the various restaurants was excellent as well as the exclusive service. It really does live up to its reputation and price tag. You get what you pay for. The whole first day I kept asking my husband, when can we come back??? I would highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting a beyond luxurious vacation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited just for the spa, to try their new Sun and Moon Couples Retreat. It was HEAVENLY. We were told the spa was #2 in Latin America, but I can't imagine how amazing #1 could be. We were pampered all the way... from teh chocolate body masque to the massage in the private palapa to the AMAZING chocolate deserts waiting for us at the end. TRULY A CLASS ACT!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

One of the best hotels in Mexico I have ever stayed at, one of the best Rosewood properties I have ever stayed at and one of the best breakfast buffets I have ever had anywhere in the world (only better was in Bora Bora).

The staff was on top of everything, not a single area.. pool, restaurants, concierge, maids could I say did anything wrong. We arrived to a lagoon room and upgraded to a beach room. I would highly recommend the beach, it was perfect. This was also our first official vacation with our new baby (4 months old) and she did great, the crib was comfortable, the room was big enough and the maids organized every piece of her belongings each day making things so easy on me and worry free.

The property is gorgeous, the pools are all different and equally fun to hang out at each day.

One of the cart drivers recommended Saffron for dinner one night at the Banyan Tree and I highly recommend you do the same. Our favorite dinner on property was the sushi restaurant. The pool restaurant was great too... the best lobster tacos.

I thought the golf carts would be inconvenient but they weren't ... the most we ever waited was maybe 2 minutes to get on one.

Have fun, it was a great experience!! We will be back

Room Tip: Get on the beach.... it is just pristine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I chose this resort for our honeymoon based on the recommendation of our travel agent. We were hesitant at first because of the price and because of earlier TA reviews that stated it was overrun with kids. However, our travel agent guaranteed that it would be worth every penny and she was right.

We vacation in Mexico quite frequently but were still blown away upon arrival. The resort had a very tranquil vibe and the lobby is completely open air. Our room was not ready (we were early) but Sean took us to the Beach Club by boat and told us to grab a drink and relax and that he would come get us when our room was ready. Sean and our butler for the week picked us up in a golf cart a short while later and we were escorted to our over-water suite which was phenomenal. The suite was larger than our apartment in Boston and was completely stand alone. We were so excited to not have anyone above, below or beside us for our entire stay. We had a large walk in closet, outdoor and indoor showers and a plunge pool on our outdoor deck. We also had the option to open the sliding glass doors and have the front portion of our suite screened off. It was heavenly.

We had a wonderful week relaxing both on the beach and in our suite. Gabriel was our favorite beach server and Ivan took care of us at the bar. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. Our package included breakfast and we looked forward to it every morning. We ordered room service a number of times and it always arrived at the appropriate temperature. We did not have one complaint our entire stay. We hated to leave and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Splurge for an over-water suite for ultimate privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

After noodling on where to take my wife for 15th anniversary trip and booking and canceling a reservation at a hotel in the Caymans that hosted lots of conventions, I settled on the Rosewood Mayakoba after doing lots of research. I couldn't have made a better choice. When we arrived we were greeted by name by the staff. After registering, we were taken by boat through the lagoon (incredible wildlife...you see egrets, iguanas, turtles, exotic birds) to our villa and greeted by our butler Nick. The suite was incredible with a plunge pool on the terrace, indoor shower and tub that are bigger than most hotel bedrooms and outdoor shower as well. The beds are extremely comfortable and Rosewood provides the finest linens and towels--even at the beach. We forgot our battery charger for our camera and Nick had one delivered to our room within minutes of learning about our dilemma.

The grounds are magnificent...every attention to detail is given to manicuring the lawns and plants. The beach is not incredibly big, but there is plently of space for the resort guests and it's very well laid out. It's great when you can arrive at the beach at 11am and a cabana staff member will let you pick your choice of several cots that are open....you don't have to rush early in the morning to get prime seating on the beach because it doesn't feel overly crowded at the resort the way it is laid out. You will find all of the staff extremely gracious and everybody says hello to you. Balde and Alan and the Punta Bonita pool cafe were extremely friendly and congenial and went to extra steps to ensure we enjoyed our meals and service.

The spa is incredible. The gym while not huge was certainly very adequate for a resort. It has plenty of equipment and lovely floor to cieling view windows of the spa pool and closer to evening the resort arranges the large lanterns around the pool with candles for a sparkling view. After using the gym you will want to take advantage of the great steam and sauna facilities and the cold plunge and hot tub in the spa. The spa staff was incredibly attentive and helpful...Bernie will make sure that you have everything you need.

The architecture of the resort is so well thought out....you see how they blended the beauty of the landscape with the bulidings and how the villas are laid out such that you feel that you are the only guests on the property.

After using our bikes to ride around the Mayakoba property (the bikes became available on the second half of our trip...they are part of the amenities but there is sometimes a wait list) and spending time at the other resorts, it's evident that the attention to detail, service, ambience, and amenities puts Rosewood's Mayakoba in a class of its own. Looking forward to going back next time and playing the golf course that holds the only PGA event in Mexico.

Room Tip: The lagoon rooms are great. The 100s are closest to the spa...the 300s and 400s are likely more cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.