We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Save Saved
You added Rosewood Mayakoba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now
Ranked #1 of 197 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Came here for a wedding and was blown away. Even the simplest rooms are suites with their own plunge pool, outdoor shower, rooftop deck. Service is on point. The resort is very spread out, and quiet. They rent bikes for free or will pick you up in a golf cart within minutes. Much of the natural landscape has been preserved, so you'll see lizards sunning outside your door and hear/see birds of all kinds. There are waterways with boats around the resort. The spa is another treat and the sauna, steam room, etc can be used by any guest without booking a service. The massage, though, was one of the best I have ever gotten. The restaurants are very pricey, FYI, but lucky for us, the wedding festivities included most of our dinners and drinks. This resort is really about as good as it can get!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    639
    74
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
194
418
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

my husband and I came here on our honeymoon a few weeks ago! we were blown away! the staff that greet you upon arrival were super friendly and came with complimentary drinks as we checked in! the ambiance is truly breathtaking and we had just made it to the front lobby! we get to our suite and got even more excited! we got the deluxe lagoon suite and were so happy with it! it was incredibly spacious (especially for being one of the cheaper suites available).

THE STAFF: probably one of our favorite parts about the resort. we were constantly getting pleasantly greeted by the entire staff of the Rosewood. The staff (from sweet cleaning ladies to the waiters) all seemed like they truly enjoyed their jobs! We loved all the friendly smiles that met us throughout the day!

It was really hard to leave this wonderful place! :) thank you to Missy at Beach Bum Vacation! Her email address is missy@beachbumvacation.com if you need a great travel agent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graeme d, General Manager at Rosewood Mayakoba, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello Maura G. congratulations on your wedding and wishing you both a lifetime of joy together. So glad that you chose us to enjoy your honeymoon and to hear how much you love Rosewood Mayakoba. Truly makes us all proud that we continue to create fabulous experiences such as yours and really a privilege for me to have such a phenominal team that all work together to create these wonderful memories for you and all of our guests. Hope to see you back for anniversaries and any vacation where you want the very best! Thank you so much again for your comments and feedback..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed for three nights in a beachfront suite. Room was great and everything we had thought it would be. The service and friendliness of every single staff member was amazing. We have stayed at lots of nice properties but this place had the perfect combination of everything. On our second night we were upgraded from our beachfront suite to the presidential suite. We did not ask or request but we were blown away. The only negative was the place was so nice that we didn't want to leave and will be hard to go back to the amazing suite we originally booked when we return..

Room Tip: Definitely stay in a beachfront suite if you can afford to. Amazing. Rooms 615 and 616 are the mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The service, food and amenities at this hotel are top notch. I can't wait to go back....

Get a bike and look around the property. The beaches are so beautiful. The spa is heaven. As were the margaritas....Probably one of the best vacations I have ever had. I want to have my wedding there....

Room Tip: We had a slight issue with the ac temp fluctuating, but was overall amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Excellent resort and our one suggestion to make it even better. For families it would be an important improvement to add an interior connecting door between some of the Beachfront Suites. Currently none of them connect so parents have to go outside to get to the kids' room. It would feel safer to have an interior connecting door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graeme d, General Manager at Rosewood Mayakoba, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello Jean. Thank you very much for your kind feedback. so glad to know that you enjoyed your experience overall. I appreciate your comments regarding connecting suites on the beachfront. We have just completed last month constructing 18 additional connecting suites in the lagoon area and we also have all of our beachside suites connecting for families as well as our beachfront presidential suite connecting for additional bedrooms. We offer a tremendous availability for connecting suites throughout the resort for families.. Understanding that our beachfront suites do not connect, we do offer excellent alternatives in the beach area and lagoon. Great suggestion for us Jean to review and work on creating more connecting on the beach front for the future.. Look forward to having you all return soon and let me know when you are coming so I can update you on your suggestion....Warm Regards..Graeme Davis Managing Director..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

After spending a long time researching hotels in this area, i decided on the Rosewood due to the comments on Trip Adviser!

We stayed for a week with another couple, and all of us had the perfect holiday.

From the moment you arrive till they wave you goodbye the service is the best in the world.
Being British, the constant 'Hola, can i get you anything' from every member of staff did get a bit irritating, but if thats the worst thing about the hotel then i think they are doing something right!

Whenever we had an issue or problem they rectified it immediately.

Downfall:
The class at the gym was a waste of money.
There was a wedding at the hotel during our stay and we all felt that the hotel put the wedding party first, and we had to fight to get seats at the pool because of them. They also spent all day in the pool drinking and smoking and being quite loud which did ruin the tranquil atmosphere and made it quite tacky, but they had fun i guess! Only advice would be to check with the hotel that there isnt a wedding during your stay.
Breakfast was silly expensive- you should just be able to order a fruit salad and not get charged for the buffet!

Best bits:
THE ROOM- never have i ever stayed anywhere as perfect, comfortable, and BIG!
The scenery
The bikes
The spa (best facial of my life)
The guacamole.
The wildlife
The service from every member of staff

I hope the hotel stays this perfect forever as i plan on going back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graeme d, General Manager at Rosewood Mayakoba, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello CAH.. Thank you very much for your kind and constructive feedback. so glad to hear you had the perfect holiday! Will certainly review your feedback regarding the value for the gym class and the breakfast concerns as we do offer every item including fruit salad at a la carte pricing .. Will definitely review with my team. Apologies for the intrusion for the wedding guests, will certainly work harder to ensure all our guests can enjoy together without disruptions. Typically our wedding guests never have caused any issues and with our many pools there is always space to enjoy and not be disturbed. Thank you again for your comments and look forward to your return in the future.. Warm Regards..Graeme Davis.. Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at Rosewood Mayakoba to attend a wedding, from the moment I arrived until I left it was amazing. Fab location, friendly and helpful staff who can't do enough for you. Spa facilities worth a visit. Luxury resort. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, depends on whether you want to be close to the beach. Rooms next to the beach a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.