We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UN-BEL-IEV-ABLE!!! The Best Luxury Resort Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Save Saved
You added Rosewood Mayakoba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now
Ranked #1 of 197 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“UN-BEL-IEV-ABLE!!! The Best Luxury Resort Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011 via mobile

We are here now on our honeymoon and feel like we are in paradise found!! I couldn't have asked for a more exotic, luxurious, pampered honeymoon location. We looked at Bora Bora and here at Rosewood Mayakoba, it feels like you are in a tropical jungle with the best of everything. The staff are SO friendly and happy and just wonderful. We are enjoying dinner at Punta Bonita on the ocean- fabulous views and the food is a real dining experience. The "breakfast" at De Lago is phenomenal and makes the overall stay an incredible value if included with your room rate. I could go on and on about the suite!! Every review you read here tries to adequately describe the accommodations but it is too difficult for mere words.

My husband is a world traveler to Europe and Japan, and I have been a frequent visitor to St Barts, and this resort has exceeded all of my villas and resorts experienced on St Barts.

Thank you, Rosewood!! We'll be back, we already know this!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    640
    74
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
195
418
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnetka, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We could not have asked for a better hotel and family vacation experience. The Rosewood staff made us all feel special. They remembered my 5 & 7 year-old girls' names and my husband and my drink preferences! The suite was fantastic and large enough to allow the 4 of us to spread out. Beautiful grounds and a super spa! 5-star all the way!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We visited this place and absolutely loved it! We stayed in a 2nd story suite with a plungle pool with view to the ocean. This is the best money we've spent , we took advantage of having a butler, the SPA-GYM- top of the class facilities, the SPA, the food! The service was incredible with all the amenities and free refresing facials by the beach. We visited the tequila bar at night to enjoy some "chill" tequila. We also ran into some celebs! we also played golf by the Camaleon Golf Club, nice experience! and we tood a private tour of the caves-cenotes, all great!
We have stayed several Rosewood and Four Season properties and this is just another great property. We visited the restaurants from other hotelss- Maroma, Fairmont, Estancia and the food was excellent, it was quite a ride but totally worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view for the ocean,other ones are close to
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Just returned from Rosewood Mayakoba a few days ago, and my wife and I could not be more impressed. Although we travel fairly well, I have never written a review till now, but am doing so because they simply deserve it!
I will address the resort in categories:

Transportation: We opted to pay the resort ($230) for our ground transportation to and from the airport. If you have been to Cancun Airport you know that there are dozens of drivers and hustlers literally grabbing your bags to get you into their car, and you don't know who to trust. So it was very nice just to be escorted (immediately outside the door) to a luxury Mercedes SUV, where we were presented with cold washcloths, and a cooler of availablke drinks for the 40 minute ride.

Property: Unique layout and design of suites on this sprawling property. Unique in that most of the units, and the reception area, are built alongside a network of lagoons. In fact, after check-in, you are delivered to your suite via a charming 21' boat. This brief, but very cool ride allows you to appreciate the various villas, from a different perspective. The boat pulls right up to your suite, where you butler is waiting for you. If you absolutely love being "right onn the beach" then there are units better suited for yo than the "lagoon units", as it is quite a walk from many of them to the beach, although there is almost always a passenger cart shuttling around to scoop you up.
Also worth mentioning is that the grounds are perfectly maintained, and the lush landscape is well executed to say the least.

Suites/Villas: After much research we decided onthe "Over the Water Lagoon Suite". An absolutely perfect space! First of all, as you may have guessed by the name, most of the suite extends over the lagoon. The outdoor space is so pleasant with a small table and chairs, a very comfortable lounge for two, and a small, yet inviting plunge pool. We spent alot of time out there in morning and dusk, as it is the epitome of peaceful. There was a small island on the other side of the water from our deck, where there were all different types of birds to observe. Also turtles, fish and a couplke of alligators (or crocodiles...(I always forget which is which) swim by your deck throughout the day. The deck leads into the living room which has two walls which are sliding glass doors so you can create one large indoor/outdoor space. Mattress and pillows were so good it was tough to get out of bed in morning. Although I don't usually have much to say about bathrooms, I must say thos one rocked! The outdoor shower is like a little garden and the rest just so spacious and well-designed. Huge walk-in closet, separate vanity room, yada yada yada...get this suite! NOTE: Most of the lagoon suites are not "over the water", and are slightly less $$$, but without question, you should go up one category to the one we had. The suites by the beach are more expensive, but I feel you can get a beachfront room at any resort, so why not take the opportunity to enjoy something different. Besides, even the staff admit to the "lower category" over water suites" as being superior.

Service: So wonderful that we could not stop talking about it. The restaurants, the beach and pool crew, the room service...all were incredible. Several reviews here, mention that the staff all call you by name and it is a very nice detail I must say. I don't know how they remember, but they do and it is professional and courteous. The staff and butlers actually anticipate your needs rather than just responding to requests!

Restaurants: My wife and I are two foodies, and not enthused by the mediocre, unimaginitive food at some places. We found the food to be very good here. Actually, the breakfast (included) was our favorite meal of the day. There is a comprehensive buffet, and ala carte choices featuring Mexican and American dishes. Breakfast is served in the main restaurant by reception overlooking main pool. This restaurant and the beachside restaurant (Bonita) are your twooptions for lunch and dinner. I reccomend the "Taco Night" (Wed or Thur) at la Bonita. I also reccomend going to the adjacent resort (on same property) Banyan Tree for a dinner.Make reservations for the Thai restaurant there as soon as possible, and know that weekends may be tough to get in as they seemingly hold tables for their own guests.

Pools: Both pools are very nice, but we enjoyed the one by the beach a bit more. As mentioned earlier , the staff there is awesome. They come around every so often with small (yet thoughtful) amenities such as homemade, flavorful ice pops, an attendant who cleans your sunglasses, while another does that whole 'cucumber over the eyes with cold compress" treatment. Not sure what that does, but it feels good.

Spa: First rate spa! Nice gym, and very comfortable spa services available for fee and free use of sauna, steam, gym, jacuzzi, relaxation room indoors and out etc. Definitely another reason to choose Rosewood.

I wish I could go into greater detail, but I am afraid I have to return to the mundane domestic duties that await us upon return from vacation.

In short, we had not one thing to dislike about our stay, and are obviously eager to return.

Room Tip: If getting the reccomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This hotel is one of the finest that we have stayed in. It is right up there with the Aman chain in Asia. I am not going to quibble with others over the value or whether it is reasonable to charge more than $10 for a drink. The fact is, the reason you come to a place like Rosewood Mayakoba is to feel pampered and important in a beautiful natural setting. It was tranquil and you will feel like you are really away. The architecture of the entire resort and each room is stunning. It is contemporary, unique and yet also very Mexican. It is built naturally into its surroundings with local materials, and each of the villas has a large and creative layout that includes gigantic tiled bathtubs, outdoor plunge pools, indoor and outdoor showers and a secret upstairs hideaway/viewing deck (outdoors). Do not be deterred by reviewers discussing the spread out layout. Every location is outstanding. The property is easily walked, even with children, and there are golf carts running constantly. To make the resort more compact would destroy its ambiance.

The service is the clear stand out for this resort. I cannot say enough about how friendly and attentive every single person was. You want it, you got it, no questions asked. No one is hassling you for tips. Everyone wants you to be happy and come back. There was virtually nothing that we could ask for that could not be handled. The concierge's desk was outstanding and helped us to arrange several activities and services. The attention was highly personal. Everyone made a point to learn your name and use it. Amenities at the pool included complimentary snacks every 20-30 minutes delivered to your lounge chair, as well as cooling towels and sunglass cleaning.

We had such a great time, and the Riviera Maya has so many great activities available when you want to get off premises including scuba diving (we did it), whale shark snorkeling (we did it), Playa del Carmen (did it), PGA golf course and of course all of the eco parks, Tulum and Chitchen Itza.

The spa was also standout and the men's and women's locker areas were luxurious with full spray showers, gigantic hot tubs and cool tubs, etc. The spa is on an island in the lagoon and has serene walking paths through short stretches of the forest to the treatment villas.

Yes, it is an expensive trip, but we also feel that it was excellent value, especially in the summer when prices are a little more reasonable. We loved it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. You do not need to try to get a room near the beach - the lagoon rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We arrived at the Rosewood Mayakoba and from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty! The hotel is gorgeous and our villa was just beautiful! The food and the service were impeccable. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

My wife and I just returned with our 10 month old son from a week at the Rosewood Mayakoba and it was wonderful. I can typically find at least a couple things to note that need improvment but everything here was first class. The service was outstanding -- I can't recall a single time it was anything but. The staff knew my son's name as soon as we arrived and remembered it througout the trip. The facilities were all in great condition -- pool restaurant, spa etc. The design of the place is really striking as well. I would highly recommend for families or just couples. It also felt very safe and secure for those of you that may be worried about the headlines from Mexico -- at no point did we ever see or feel anything out of the ordinary -- it really wasn't even a consideration once we arrived. We stayed in the beachside lagoon view rom and it was great -- close to the beach and the pool but very quiet and private too. All round a great experince -- certainly on par with One & Only resorts and other luxury properties.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.