We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Relaxing Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Petit Lafitte to your Saves list
Petit Lafitte
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another Relaxing Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Petit Lafitte over the last five years. This was our second time staying in a garden view room. The other two times were in a bungalow. You can't go wrong either way! The garden view rooms are modest but well kept. I enjoy sitting out on the balcony, which overlooks the pool and the surrounding bushes and trees. Very pretty. Over the years, the staff has essentially remained the same. They have always been very responsive and friendly and most of them remembered our names whenever we ran into them. We have always enjoyed their breakfasts and dinners, as well as lunches from the bar. They have a good spot on the beach, uncrowded and plenty of beach chairs to choose from when we were there. We have always enjoyed the atmosphere of this smaller resort and the friendliness of the staff. It is also conducive to meeting fellow guests and getting to know them a little bit. I suspect that we will be back for our fifth visit before too long.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear SteveK,

I find it hard to respond to reviews like yours...There is a deep tempting desire to go to a more spiritual real in the response, as you clearly indicate that you've been at Petit Lafitte 4 times in 5 years and you are anticipating a 5th visit in the near horizon.
Our take on that is that, sometimes, places, people and situations coincide in space and time, just to realize that they are kindred spirits, and what a blessing that can be... such awareness transpires in your review and your words and feeling resonate deep in our hearts...until we meet again...

Un abrazo

I.F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    142
    44
    6
    5
See reviews for
244
383
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in garden room between christmas and new year. The room was rustic and would benefit from a facelift, and thorough cleaning. Only a few channels available in spanish and only CNN in english. There was no remote control or safe in our room. The air conditioner is extremely loud but we rarely needed to use it. The hotel is quiet and the beach is very nice, not as crowded as the larger hotels nearby. The hotel is far from the town, it takes about 1 1/2 hour to walk to Avenida 5 following the beach, or a short taxi ride (150-180 pesos). The food was acceptable. One big issue for us was the internet connection. While they have computers in the lobby with internet connection, the wireless network was dismal. We were able to connect for only a few minutes each day, even though we were getting a reasonable signal. My guess is that their connection does not have sufficient bandwidth to handle many users.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear chrisbdiver,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Petit Lafitte. We always find comments like yours as a great opportunity to correct those things that need correction and also learn about the expectations of our guests. There are good news regarding the internet situation, we have increased our bandwidth by 25% during the first week of January with visible results. We are considering even a bigger upgrade in that department and are currently in contact with TELMEX staff to analyze the options. We are also in the process of house improvements that will reflect on the rooms. New T.V.s, new courtains, reading lights, decoration, new balcomy and terrace furniture among the most important.
I would like to mention that even though most guest don't come to Petit Lafitte with the idea of watching T.V. (unless there is an important sports event or the Oscars or something of that nature) we do have a selection of 48 channels, of which we can select 12 that can be fed to the rooms. In the winter season when most of our guests are english speaking guests, we choose more english TV channels. In the summer when we have more spanish speaking guests we choose more spanish channels. If for some reason a guest finsd that the "balance" in the channel selection is not adequate, our concierge or any staff member will easily take care of the situation.
We enjoy hearing you say that there were parts of your vacation you enjoyed, like the uncrowded beach, the quiet atmosphere and the service.

Thanks for reminding us of those things that we may have overlooked, we wish you a lovely new year filled with health and a lot of delightful travels.

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just stayed at Petit Lafitte in one of the Bungalows and we had a wonderful time. From the time we got there we felt part of the family just think it this way (your are at home with no chores how wonderful is that!!!!! starting in the morning at breakfast (need to try Huevo Motulenos and the Pancakes) until dinner time you will see always a smile!!! At the bar we had fun with Chucho every time you ask for a mix drink or cocktail he will mixed Chucho style...... The rooms were remarkable clean and every day they made a dog with the towels that was so cute!!! We also took a snorkel trip at the dive shop was good the kids loved!! we saw a turtle, stars and the reef was full of colors and different type of fishes

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Lilia R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
We enjoyed meeting you, your friends and your family.
We are glad the children enjoyed their snorkeling trip and all the fish and sea life they saw.
Yeah, a lot of people come here to rest, we are glad you are talking about the water activities.
Food???
Motuleños and pancakes...exactly, I love Motuleños myself a typical Yucatecan specialty.
Thanks for feeling at home here and for sharing your experience with others. We see the hotel like our home as well, a lot of the staff here have been here for a long, long time, like Chucho, (More than 20 years), that is why it feels like a home and we make guests feel like family... a lot of us have devoted our lives to this place.
Thank you for noticing...
We hope your return home was hassle free and we are looking forward to having you visit again.

Until then, have a wonderful year!!!

I.F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Don't even know where to begin - beautiful, relaxing setting, so much space on the beach, friendly, helpful staff, delicious food. David, the manager, has a way of creating an intimate, family environment fun for couples and families. He sings, plays guitar, plays bingo and pinata with the kids, goes out of his way to make sure everyone is having a good time. And the drinks were amazing! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear amiller16,

Brief and to the point, your review brings warm and happy feelings to us all.
You go from the setting, the relaxed atmosphere and space on the beach, to the friendly and fun environment created by our management staff, the service provided by all the other staff and cap it with the food, the drinks, and a promise to return.

Thank you for your visit and for the favorable review.
We are already looking forward to seeing your faces again and we plan to continue with the nice drinks, the delicious food, the songs, the games and the friendliness.

May 2013, bring you many happy travel experiences, love and health.

Yours truly,

I.F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I went there for my 65th birthday and had an unbelievable holiday. Not only was our cabana which is set in the sand - unique - but the staff -owner and son went out of their way to bring a totally AMAZING experience that I will never forget. We had taken the honeymoon package and had a private lobster dinner with our own server and the two musicians that were playing at the bar came and played on the deck - for us. You can walk the beach for hours and the water is this beautiful clear blue. I can't wait to go back. Thanks to all the staff and owners for an unforgettable time. Brandy

Room Tip: Cabanas are truly unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Brandy M,

We are truly honored that you chose Petit Lafitte for your 65 birthday celebration. (and...second honeymoon??). It is delightful to see that you are enjoying life intensely. Thak you for buying the honeymoon package. It is designed for ocassions like these. Lobster dinner, private music at your table by the sea, moon rising over the water.
Thank you for talking about it.
Hopefully we will get more honeymooners to vist and esperience the quiet beach strolls, and peaceful atmosphere.
Thank you for visiting and more so for sharing your coments with others.
Happy New Year and may you be able to return for another birthday celebration.

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We just came back from a week at Petit Lafitte. What a wonderful boutique hotel. We arrived and were treated like family....the staff was outstanding. The rooms are adequate but they also have bungalows...the bungalows just don't have phones or telephones in them.

The beach is beautiful and you don't have to rush down in the morning to get a palapa or chaise. The hotel is small and intimate with a great little bar overlooking the beach, where people wander up and have something to drink, or have lunch....where you get to meet the other people....that's if you want to be sociable. The breakfasts and dinners are included and were excellent - certainly better than other places I have stayed., My son has stayed there several times and recommended it, and he was dead on in his description. It's quiet and perfect for R&R. Many of the people have been returning there for 20 years since the staff have all been there forever. I look forward to returning.

If you like shopping, it's a taxi ride into Playa del Carmen. We went on a tour of two archaeological digs - Tulum and Coba, and the rest of the time roamed up and down the beach, checking out other hotels. They were soooo big and busy, so we would come back to Petit Lafitte and grateful that we weren't one of thousands of guests - but those hotels are for people with different needs.

Thank you to David, Luis, Jesus, Victor, Philippe, Javier, Martine, Giovanni, Antonio, etc.

Room Tip: Ideally, you would ask for a room with an oceanview. However, we stayed in the gardenview room, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Carrol333,

We are so glad that your son recommended Petit Lafitte to you, specially since you took his advice and decided to spend your week's vaction with us..
Family of our guests is family as well, so you are now part of that entity.
Thank you for all your nice comments for the staff and about the food and service, we certainly try to keep those two points on a high note.
Visiting Coba and Tulum is a must for those interested in archeology. We are glad your enjoyed those outings.
Stay warm during this winter and enjoy the holidays.
Feliz Navidad to you.!!!

On behalf of all the Petit Lafitte staff,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We decided to make the Petit Lafitte our first stop in Mexico after arriving from England. And, generally, it was a very good choice.
The flight from London took just over 10 hours, but it then took almost 3 hours to get through Cancun airport and pick up our hire car, followed by a drive of about an hour on the very busy highway to Playa del Carmen - our first experience of Mexican roads and driving! So when we arrived at Petit Lafitte we were very tired and somewhat stressed. However, all that was to change very quickly as we were welcomed by the friendly and efficient staff at the hotel.
We spent just one full day and 2 nights the this hotel, but during this time we were able to relax totally and recover from our journey. This was helped by the great standard of the service we received and the excellent location of the hotel which is situated right by a beautifully sandy beach.
We stayed in one of the rooms, in the main part of the hotel, which was spacious and very clean. However, we did feel that it was a little basic for the price that we were paying.
Breakfast and dinner was included in our tariff. We liked the choice of traditional Mexican food at both meals. At dinner the main dishes we excellent, but these were let down by the standard of the buffet style starters and desserts.
Despite a couple of minor criticisms we did enjoy our brief stay at Petit Lafitte and would happily stay there again if we ever come back to Mexico.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Graham John,

Thank you for your review.
We love to get reviews from European guests. Primarily we have USA and Canada guests, so to receive guests from U.K. and have them say nice things about us leave us with a feeling of accomplishment.
Thanks!
We also appreciate that you mention those little things that you did not like so much, I believe that taking care of them will definitely help us improve our service and the level of satisfaction of our guests.
I am with you on the theme of salad bars and desserts, it is something we inherited from Petit Lafitte´s predecessor (Capitan Lafitte).
I can foresee leaving the salad bar as JUST salad bar and serve dessert and soups at the table. Specially during high season, to have guests design their own salads can be a nice thing for every one. But I agree, soups should be served at the table as well as dessert.
I am talkin with the powers that be, in order to fine tune this little details.
We are adding nice fixtures to the rooms that will greatly help with the comfort and the sense of good value.
Vanity mirrors for make up, new terrace and balcony furniture, some decoration and painting, just to mention some little things that will be noticeable.
I hope that next time you come to Riviera Maya, you try us again, hopefully for a few more nights to see the changes and improvemetns you are helping create.
Thank you again for trying us, we wish you many more happy journeys...

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Lafitte 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Lafitte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.