We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Lafitte

Save Saved
You added Petit Lafitte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 200 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Comox, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I went there for my 65th birthday and had an unbelievable holiday. Not only was our cabana which is set in the sand - unique - but the staff -owner and son went out of their way to bring a totally AMAZING experience that I will never forget. We had taken the honeymoon package and had a private lobster dinner with our own server and the two musicians that were playing at the bar came and played on the deck - for us. You can walk the beach for hours and the water is this beautiful clear blue. I can't wait to go back. Thanks to all the staff and owners for an unforgettable time. Brandy

Room Tip: Cabanas are truly unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Brandy M,

We are truly honored that you chose Petit Lafitte for your 65 birthday celebration. (and...second honeymoon??). It is delightful to see that you are enjoying life intensely. Thak you for buying the honeymoon package. It is designed for ocassions like these. Lobster dinner, private music at your table by the sea, moon rising over the water.
Thank you for talking about it.
Hopefully we will get more honeymooners to vist and esperience the quiet beach strolls, and peaceful atmosphere.
Thank you for visiting and more so for sharing your coments with others.
Happy New Year and may you be able to return for another birthday celebration.

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    557
    136
    45
    6
    5
See reviews for
238
376
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We just came back from a week at Petit Lafitte. What a wonderful boutique hotel. We arrived and were treated like family....the staff was outstanding. The rooms are adequate but they also have bungalows...the bungalows just don't have phones or telephones in them.

The beach is beautiful and you don't have to rush down in the morning to get a palapa or chaise. The hotel is small and intimate with a great little bar overlooking the beach, where people wander up and have something to drink, or have lunch....where you get to meet the other people....that's if you want to be sociable. The breakfasts and dinners are included and were excellent - certainly better than other places I have stayed., My son has stayed there several times and recommended it, and he was dead on in his description. It's quiet and perfect for R&R. Many of the people have been returning there for 20 years since the staff have all been there forever. I look forward to returning.

If you like shopping, it's a taxi ride into Playa del Carmen. We went on a tour of two archaeological digs - Tulum and Coba, and the rest of the time roamed up and down the beach, checking out other hotels. They were soooo big and busy, so we would come back to Petit Lafitte and grateful that we weren't one of thousands of guests - but those hotels are for people with different needs.

Thank you to David, Luis, Jesus, Victor, Philippe, Javier, Martine, Giovanni, Antonio, etc.

Room Tip: Ideally, you would ask for a room with an oceanview. However, we stayed in the gardenview room, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Carrol333,

We are so glad that your son recommended Petit Lafitte to you, specially since you took his advice and decided to spend your week's vaction with us..
Family of our guests is family as well, so you are now part of that entity.
Thank you for all your nice comments for the staff and about the food and service, we certainly try to keep those two points on a high note.
Visiting Coba and Tulum is a must for those interested in archeology. We are glad your enjoyed those outings.
Stay warm during this winter and enjoy the holidays.
Feliz Navidad to you.!!!

On behalf of all the Petit Lafitte staff,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We decided to make the Petit Lafitte our first stop in Mexico after arriving from England. And, generally, it was a very good choice.
The flight from London took just over 10 hours, but it then took almost 3 hours to get through Cancun airport and pick up our hire car, followed by a drive of about an hour on the very busy highway to Playa del Carmen - our first experience of Mexican roads and driving! So when we arrived at Petit Lafitte we were very tired and somewhat stressed. However, all that was to change very quickly as we were welcomed by the friendly and efficient staff at the hotel.
We spent just one full day and 2 nights the this hotel, but during this time we were able to relax totally and recover from our journey. This was helped by the great standard of the service we received and the excellent location of the hotel which is situated right by a beautifully sandy beach.
We stayed in one of the rooms, in the main part of the hotel, which was spacious and very clean. However, we did feel that it was a little basic for the price that we were paying.
Breakfast and dinner was included in our tariff. We liked the choice of traditional Mexican food at both meals. At dinner the main dishes we excellent, but these were let down by the standard of the buffet style starters and desserts.
Despite a couple of minor criticisms we did enjoy our brief stay at Petit Lafitte and would happily stay there again if we ever come back to Mexico.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Graham John,

Thank you for your review.
We love to get reviews from European guests. Primarily we have USA and Canada guests, so to receive guests from U.K. and have them say nice things about us leave us with a feeling of accomplishment.
Thanks!
We also appreciate that you mention those little things that you did not like so much, I believe that taking care of them will definitely help us improve our service and the level of satisfaction of our guests.
I am with you on the theme of salad bars and desserts, it is something we inherited from Petit Lafitte´s predecessor (Capitan Lafitte).
I can foresee leaving the salad bar as JUST salad bar and serve dessert and soups at the table. Specially during high season, to have guests design their own salads can be a nice thing for every one. But I agree, soups should be served at the table as well as dessert.
I am talkin with the powers that be, in order to fine tune this little details.
We are adding nice fixtures to the rooms that will greatly help with the comfort and the sense of good value.
Vanity mirrors for make up, new terrace and balcony furniture, some decoration and painting, just to mention some little things that will be noticeable.
I hope that next time you come to Riviera Maya, you try us again, hopefully for a few more nights to see the changes and improvemetns you are helping create.
Thank you again for trying us, we wish you many more happy journeys...

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just booked our stay for spring 2013, but we have been going to Lafitte every year for several years and LOVE it. It is perfect for a relaxing family trip - we do little else but read, swim, walk and eat while we are there. It is not always easy to find hotels to accommodate 3 kids, so the bungalows are great - we love walking out the door directly onto the sand. The hard-working staff members are always very kind to us and our kids, and we like seeing the same folks working there each year. The beach is peaceful, with not a lot of foot traffic. Margaritas and ceviche are fantastic. Can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Amy L,

Thank you so much for your belated, but very kind review for Petit Lafitte.
We are delighted to hear that you already booked your spring 2013 return.
We are honored that you have made a habit of coming to Riviera Maya and staying with us. Reading your review makes clear the reasons for your loyalty.
Not a lot else to be said.
Other than :
Thank you, happy holidays and see you soon.
Oh...and
Best wishes from all the staff.

Kind Regards

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The layout, a small hotel in Playa del Carmen with 30 rooms in hotel part plus 16 bungalows. North of Playa next to the Princess resort. Rooms 501-506 are ocean front as well as bungalows 1 and 9. Nice swimming pool, bar, restaurant and beautiful section of beach. Most (all?) bookings include breakfast and dinner.

We spent 4 days in the hotel starting November 6th. Hotels rooms reminded me of a Howard Johnson, main sleeping area with sink and separate shower and commode. Depending on what you are expecting it is a quant room. We started going to Cancun and surrounding area since the mid 80’s, my wife and I both thought the room reminded us of the hotels in Cancun before the resorts became commonplace.

The hotel is great. There were 25 or so guests at the resort while we stayed there. The only time I saw more than 4-6 other people was at dinner. This is one of the most restful places you will ever go to. If you are going to party or look for a night life this is probably not the right place. If you are looking for a low key place to have a great time. Lunch prices and drinks appeared pretty reasonable. Make sure and take anything you need with you such as sun screen as there is no on-site store to purchase misc. items. Oxxo (market like a 7/11) is about a 20 minute walk from the hotel.

This hotel is a real find. Not many of them left. If you are looking for a place to relax and have a great time you will not be disappointed. Our host was David. He does a great job and will make you feel right at home.

Walk up the beach to the Princess report and they have vendors on the beach, several with handmade items vs. the same stuff you see everywhere else.

While the hotel is not for everyone, it is a great find and we will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Roadboss,

We hope your return to Denver was nice and hassle free.
We want to thank you for choosing Petit Lafitte for your Riviera Maya destination, more so since you decided to take the time to post a review for Petit Lafitte, you are absolutely right when you say that we are not for "everyone" definitely we are not designed to satisfy the restless, but it is fair to say that we always have options for those adventure seekers, for instance we have a dive shop offering water activities that go from snorkeling to diving, fishing etcetera. Other adventures in the jungle, that include cenote swimming, zip lining, rapelling, canoeing etcetera are just a phone call away and David, our concierge will gladly arrange those for you.
We do have a nice un crowded beach, and that is excellent for resting, reading under a palapa or a palm tree I am sure you enjoyed those.
I would like to break the news of a gift shop openning in 2013, at Petit Lafitte, we are aware of the necessity of an on site place to get certain items, that guests sometimes forget to bring on vacation. We will also have souvenirs, t-shirts, and some knick knacks.
I´d like to also inform the readers that we do have a local crafts and jewelry maker named Manuela who comes on Tuesday evenings. Her stuff is hand made, unique and good value.
I would like to thank you once again, on behalf of the staff and family who operate Petit lafitte.
We hope to see you again on a future Mexico vacation.

Yours truly...

I.F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We only stayed at Petit Lafitte for two nights, we wish we could have stayed longer as such a beautiful setting.On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly chap and were taken to our bungalows. The rooms are rustic but very well appointed and comfortable. Very nice bathroom, very nice large bed, and each bungalow has its own veranda. The best thing about this place is that you are just a few steps away from the most gorgeous beach. The sea is warm and wonderful to swim in, and when you are done you can just pop back to your bungalow to shower. There are plenty of sun loungers to relax on and hammocks as well. The hotel restaurant offers a set menu which we found to be very nice. The service at the hotel was second to none, really helpful friendly staff. We also had lunch at the bar, and again great food and great cocktails as well! What a setting, what a great little place. If you want a busy hotel then this is not for you, if you want some peace and quite in a lovely setting then this place most certainly is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Mrs. Moondog,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Petit Lafitte. We are sorry that you had such a short stay, but we are happy that in a brief time you were able to perceive the essence of Petit Lafitte.
We built the room having rustic, ambience in mind, but we wanted to add some comfort, air-conditioning, mini-bar, coffe maker in the rooms, etcetera. All these combined with the peaceful atmonsphere, and the beach that you call "most gorgeous" (Thank you so much) make us who we are. We are glad you enjoyed the staff and consider us to be second to none in the service department.
We are honored to have guests, like you from, so far away and appreciative.
You are welcome to try us again, perhaps next time you will reserve a longer stay.
That would be great.

Until then,
All the Best wishes...

Ivan Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had our first trip to Mexico in October 2012 and we were so lucky that we decided to stay with Petit Lafitte for 10 nights!

This small resort is perfect for relaxing holidays, located by the white coral sand beach of the crystal blue caribbean sea, yet only 2-3 Km away from the town.

The room is quite simple yet quite large and very comfortable, though the pillows are quite small but I slept well every night after the excellent dinners which included in the hotel room price. I found some review talking about bad pancake and the management of the hotel had replied with a promise to improve the pancake recipe by adding the banana in it, guess what? I tried the banana pancakes and I loved it! I either had pancakes or Molletes for breakfast, so yummy! bravo!

Every Wednesday night there's the barbecue dinner by the beach, it was 'excellente' and should not be missed!!! The dinner & salad bar is really good. At first we didn't think that we would stay in for dinner every night then it turned out that the meals are delicious so we only went out 1 night. There was also a Mayan dance show in the full moon night! After 2 days of the full moon, please come to the beach after sunset to see the moon rising above the sea, it's absolutely divine!

The most impressive thing about this little resort is their staff, they are professional, friendly and very very attentive. They learn your names, really pay attention and provide the best service ever!

I'm still missing Martin at breakfasts and Javier at dinners (I was addicted to the chili sauce Habanero which Javier brought it to my table every time without any requesting)
David, the experienced concierge, Filippe at front desk can give you useful advices about anything in Playa del Carmen.

It was unusual experience that you could really bond with the hotel staff but it happened here, we could really discuss or exchange cultures and knowledge. I had a great time chatting with Memmo and Edouardo daily during my stay. Thank you all caring staff who made me feeling like I was at home at Petit Lafitte.

Not sure if my review would be useful for the travelers but I just would like to point out that Petit Lafitte is a little humble place but what make it really special is their staff who sincerely provide the best service which I never found in any other places.

I will definitely go back to stay at Petit Lafitte if I travel to Mexico again...soon I hope!!!

Room Tip: Every hotel rooms have the balcony where you have an Ocean view. Even the garden view rooms (on grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear iNuchada,

What a great honor to be the resort you picked for your first trip to Mexico, your flattering review, closes the circle of a brief, but meaningful journey through the human experience. We hope your return to Paris was hassle free and that your memories of your 10 day Mexico vacation endure the test of time. I am very glad you mentioned the specifics about your "pancake experience." I feel is fair to share with others such experiences as they depict our view of service. It also says a lot about the quality of our food when you comment on how you stayed for dinner in all but one night. So...Merci beaucup
The cook-out wednesday dinner is definitely a hit and we plan to keep it, specially when are accompanied by a rising "Caribbean moon." We agree that such sights are breath-taking and we are glad you were here to witnessed that. We have created a package for "lunatics" ha,ha,ha,ha....well, I mean for guests that love the full moons.
I hope your promising remark of a possible future visit become a reality.
We will have the same humble, attentive service and atmosphere you found the first time around.
Once again, thank you so much for taking part of your time to write a review....
Happy travels and much health.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Lafitte 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petit Lafitte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.