We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Maya Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Maya Suites to your Saves list
Riviera Maya Suites
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Av 34 Norte S/N entre 5ta Avenida y 1era Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

This is a really great choice all around (value, location, cleanliness, washer/dryer, etc.).

-Location & Safety-
The location is perfect, right at the foot of 5th Avenue. You can leave your room and walk the shopping district for hours...and yes, it is extremely safe. We took our 3 and 6 year old out at night until 9 or 10 pm on 5th Avenue and never felt unsafe. There are tons of happy people and families everywhere. You can also take a 5 minute taxi and grab a ferry to Cozumel where you can do more shopping, snorkeling, etc. Tulum is probably a 15 minute taxi ride away.

-Pool & Beach-
There's also a pool and you get access to the pool next door at the Las Palappas resort (which is where you'll find people sitting by the pool drinking and eating), the beach is also right there.

-Rooms-
The rooms are BIG and extremely clean. The in room washer and dryer are great if you're staying more than a few days with the family.

-Families-
There are lots of families staying at the suites and Las Palapas, so our kids were making new friends every day from all parts of the world.

Seriously, the proximity to so many activities for the price is an incredible value.

-Also...-
-Underground parking
-Great bakery next door that also has incredible an incredibly tasty lunch menu ("Chez Celine")
-Don't miss the artists in the street on Thursdays (I assume it's every Thursday)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    32
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
117
32
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We stayed in this unit the month of February in 2009 after having discovered it during our stay the month of March 2008. The condo was true to the photos posted. Being located in the courtyard it is away from street noise yet only steps away from 5th ave and minutes from the beach. The beds were very comfortable, housekeeping satisfactory, and the kitchen well appointed. The high speed internet allowed us to keep in touch with family at home as well as check up on local restaurants and other entertainment. The pool is adequate, was seldom crowded and the grounds well maintained. The local representatives (Simona and Francisco) responded quickly to our needs and were most accommodating. The location could not be better: right on the edge of the action on 5th Ave, proximity to more restaurants than one could sample in a month's stay, and access to Las Palapas facilities. The latter is a significant perk over other condo rentals. You have access to the best beach in PDC, beach chairs under palapas, beach bar and restaurant and you can open an account with Hotel Las Palapas for your food/drink while staying in Riviera Maya. It is the best of both worlds: a private condo with access to an all inclusive resort right in PDC. The underground parking is an added benefit and definitely better than street parking.

This condo is well suited for family with teenage children or childless couples or others in between. No car needed as you can walk to all the late night action, all restaurants, supermarket for groceries, the beach where you can walk for hours (do not forget sun protection)

Since we discovered this little gem 5 years ago we have returned annually for an extended stay and have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Riviera Maya Suites as well as the adjacent Palmar del Sol condominium

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pijnacker
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Riviera Maya Suites is located near 5th Avenue, the place to go when you like to go eating out. The beach is beautiful and the sea has perfect waves. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice and clean rooms and bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraMayaSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Thank you so much for take the time to leave your comments, they are very important for us because this way we are sure you enjoyed your stay and your vacation. We will make our best to keep your preference.

Best Regarsds from all de Riviera Maya Suites team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

I looked on travel advisor for reviews and was very impressed, but Riviera Maya Suites is better than the best reviews. The apartments exceeded our expectations, they were extremely clean and very well resourced for a self contained stay. This was important to us because we had a 6 month old and 2 year old. However, the location is right at the beginning of 5th avenue, which is a beautiful pedestrian only street absolutely full of restaurants, cafes, snack places, so we ate out for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had a freezer, fridge, washer, drier, and fully stocked kitchen when we needed it. When we were taken to our room we were full of surprise and delight. The view from the 3rd floor was spectacular. Just above a canopy of lush tress, the beautiful Caribbean lapping on the white sand......and a huge balcony with outdoor furniture and 2 hammocks. The suites are set back enough to get away from the beach and feel clean and refreshed at the end of each sandy, humid day, but close enough to walk to the beach through the Las Palapas resort next door. We had full access to the outdoor facilities of the Las Palapas resort, including pool and bar and lovely thatched beach umbrellas and beach lounges. Drinking water was supplied,and even though we didn't ask for it, Simona the manager thoughtfully organised to have a high chair and porta cot ready for us on arrival. She is a beautiful person and made us feel so at ease and welcome and took care of our every wish. The daily room service was great, loved having the floors mopped each day, and even my baby's cot sheets made. I can't emphasise enough how ideal the riviera Maya Suites are for a young family, or for anyone for that matter. We had 3 bedrooms each with separate bathrooms, so tonnes of space. I loved being able to do the laundry every day, especially with how grotty my kids got. All detergents, cloths, etc were provided, even an umbrella. I was so worried about travelling to Mexico with the kids, but my husband and I had a great time, felt very very happy here, and very well cared for. I can't wait to go back. Do not hesitate to book a suite, you won't regret it. If you don't manage to get a room with a sea view, never mind, the trees are beautiful and there is a roof top verandah with wood sun lounges for all guests, so everyone can enjoy the elevated view. We had really bad weather for the first 5 days of our 8 day trip, so we really appreciated having a large place to stay indoors when it was too wet to do anything. I'd still rather be there in bad weather than where I am right now. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraMayaSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Dear Guest ,

We really thank you for your great comment. It is an honor for us to know that your stay have exceeded your expectations. As you said, we are very centrally located near to the best restaurants and the famous “Quinta Avenida” .The beach is also near and many other attractions alike. On the other hand, we would like you to know that our team is constantly training to provide the best service experience to our guest and develop the human potential that is within us. Based on your comment we do expect you coming back with us in the future we shall make sure your stay will be truly unforgettable.

Best Regards from the Riviera Maya Suites team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Our family of four, including kids aged 6 and 4, loved RMS! The pool was a perfect size for young kids, with a shallow area they could play in, and we were the only people I saw using it the whole week. The beach was a 5-minute walk away--pleasant walk past iguanas and through the Hotel de las palapas grounds. The pool there was good too, and the beach perfect.
We had bad luck with the weather, which made us even more glad we were in a condo instead of a hotel--the kids had loads of room to play hide and seek, to build tents with blankets, etc. We cooked a bit and walked to lots of local restaurants. We'd rented a car, too, which we hardly used, but the parking was extremely convenient as well.
We were on the 2nd floor, and I heard the people above us just once or twice--it made me worry that people beneath us could hear the kids. You might ask for a high or low room depending on whether you're concerned about hearing noise or not disturbing others. That said, the windows were soundproof--you couldn't hear if it was raining, so I don't think our early-side visits to the pool (10am) disturbed the younger, more night-life oriented guests.
Simona was the staff member we dealt with the most, and she was helpful and amiable--everyone seemed really nice and sincere.
All in all, an ideal place to stay!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraMayaSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Dear Guest,

It's good to know that your stay at the Riviera Maya Suites was to your liking. The description of the location and the services we offer could not be better. Our entire team is grateful to you. Thank you very much indeed for your comment and we look forward to having you back again with us and get you to perceive more of our infinite Hospitality philosophy.

Best Regards from all the Riviera Maya Suites team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We stayed at Rivera Maya Suites for one week after a round trip through Yucatan and we loved our two bedroom appartment very much. Everything in the appartment was excellent. The livingroom with nice kitchen, separate room with washing machine and dryer. The two bedrooms with the bathrooms plus the terras with nice furniture.
Simona and the other staff were very helpfull and friendly. The location is perfect. It is about 5 minutes walk to the beach and 5 minutes to 5th Avenue with plenty of restaurants. When you are in Playa del Carmen, this is the best place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

This place was perfect in every way!! There was six of us and we stayed at the Riviera Maya Suites for 10 days.We loved the location,the beauty of the grounds,how clean well kept the suites were. The size of our 3 bedroom suite was huge.Having the use of the facilities and the beach at Las Palapas was fabulous.Simona was amazing and help us in every way she could.She helped us with finding great places to eat.Simona shared her knowledge about the different kinds of activities that would be interesting for all of us.She is amazing and always smiling. The staff was friendly and so helpful We loved the fact that after dinner we could take a short walk to 5 th ave and enjoy all the night time activities.The only downfall is the continuous thumping music from Mamamit's beach club which we could here from the balcony of our suite. We also had the pleasure of meeting Eric whom originally was the person whom picked us up at the airport. We enjoyed our ride to the Riviera Maya Suites with Eric as he had a lot of knowledge about the area and interesting things to know and discover.We hired Eric for a day and he took us to an amazing Cenote and snorkeled with us and told us about the Cenote and the history behind the Cenotes.We left there and then he took us to Akumal.Once we were there we went to Yakul Lagoon and had an amazing snorkeling adventure with Eric.He showed us all the great spots to find many fish ,turtles etc. This place was so beautiful!!. I can't say enough about Eric he is fun,kind,very interesting to talk to and shared so much of his knowledge about the Mayan Riviera. If you want to have someone to take you to different places then hire Eric.You won't be disappointed. Ask Simona the manager of Maya Riviera Suites on how to reach Eric. We will return and Thanks Simona and Eric

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraMayaSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment, we really appreciate the time you spent posting your
feedback about us. We feel very satisfied and proud to have contributed to a stay that went beyond your expectations. All of our staff share the same commitment in helping our guests to satisfy the expressed and…most important the unexpressed needs they may have. Be sure that during your next stay with us we shall extend you our warmest welcome and surprise you even more!

Best Regards from all the Riviera Maya Suites team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Maya Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Maya Suites

Address: Av 34 Norte S/N entre 5ta Avenida y 1era Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Maya Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Maya Suites has 12 exclusive apartments of two and three bedrooms, specially designed for family vacations by the owners of the well known Hotel Las Palapas, pioneers at Playa del Carmen. The apartments are fully equipped with high quality appliances, in order to fulfill all your needs and exceed your expectations. At Riviera Maya Suites you will enjoy an unforgettable experience at the Mexican Caribbean, taking advantage of the great location of our vacation rentals, only a few steps away from the beautiful white sand beach fringed by turquoise, crystal clear Caribbean water, where you can choose from an ample range of water activities like scuba diving and snorkeling at the Ccoral Rreef, yachting on Caribbean Sea, amazing sport fishing, and many others.Also, as Riviera Maya Suites guest, you will enjoy access to the private beach club, and all the facilities of the famous Hotel Las Palapas, the perfect place to laid back and enjoy the sun, the ocean breeze trough palm trees, and the magical atmosphere that can only be found at the particularity of Playa del Carmen, México.The building has a nice private swimming pool and is equipped with an elevator servicing from the covered parking lot of the semi basement to the three apartment floors.The roof has been designed as a solarium, from there and particularly from the third floor penthouses you can enjoy a spectacular view of the turquoise Caribbean Sea.The building offers 2 or 3 bedroom Suites. Each bedroom has a private bathroom. The main bedroom has one king size bed, the second bedroom has 2 double beds, the third bedroom has 2 individual beds. We can offer cribs and extra bed. There is a large living and dining room and nice balcony with chairs, table and hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, T4B, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riviera Maya Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Maya Suites Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Maya Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.