We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scuba Caribe Riu Yucatan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scubacaribe

Scubacaribe
Av. Xaman-Ha Manzana 9 Y 10 Lote 1, | Playacar, fase II, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
212 555-5557
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 255 activities in Playa del Carmen
Type: Water sports
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scubacaribe specializes in providing a complete range of water sports and activities for hotels and resorts. The company was formed in 1991 when it began operating and providing services for the Riu Hotels in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. Since then we've grown continuously, providing service to the most prestigious hotels in the largest Caribbean vacation destinations. Our fast growth is based on a philosophy of always implementing the latest and best technology available. Our mission is to satisfy clients by providing a wide range of water sports such as scuba diving, snorkeling, windsurf, sailing, rowing, parasailing and a variety of aquatic excursions. Everything we do is executed with the highest regard for personal safety standards. Respect for the environment and a commitment to the local communities where we operate is of prime importance for us. We operate within an established corporate code of conduct, encouraging community relations and training local personnel for management positions, which also helps to improve overall administrative efficiency.
Cuba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scuba Caribe Riu Yucatan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Cannot say enough good things about this dive shop. Chose them over Dressel Divers which is the dive shop for ther Iberostar Tucan where we stayed. Excellent service. Very flexible with vacation dive schedule which is important as I have non divers in my family to schedule around. Candy the manager was very porfessional. Dive masters Loic an Alex provided excellent low key enjoyable dives day in and day out. Recommencd Scuba Caribe over Dressel Divers.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthtcm, Marketing Manager at Scubacaribe, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Josef,

Thank you so much for your candid feedback regarding your most recent visit with us. I am truly delighted to read that the level of service was satisfactory. Your kind remarks are sincerely appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Scubacaribe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    18
    6
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Webby01
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing - Avoid Discover Scuba Course”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We did a discovery scuba class for 5. There was 1 instructor for the large group. The instructor was not able to get through the skills with all 5 in the 2 hour block of time before the dive boat left. As a result, one of the folks in the class was not able to complete the skills and not able to dive. NO REFUND was offered up for this. They should have had another instructor for the large group or even started the class earlier. At the VERY least they could have offered up a refund and allowed the person in our group to finish up the next day. When we got out in the boat, one of the teens from our group was a little scared to get in the water for the dive. Instead of providing encouragement, they pushed her in. She promptly got out and never got to dive. As for the dive, there was very little to see. Very few fish, not much reef. Mostly just a sandy bottom on a very shallow dive (about 30 ft). Truly a waste a money. I would not recommend Scuba Caribe to certified divers or to anyone wanting to do the Discover Scuba Class. You would be best served to research other scuba places in the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthtcm, Marketing Manager at Scubacaribe, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Webby,

In Scubacaribe we take very seriously the feedback of our customers, therefore, we ask if you can provide more information about this situation.

We would like to know the name of the hotel where the pool check was made, and the name of the instructor who gave the course. This way we can identify what the problem was.

According to PADI standards, an instructor in the pool can teach a class with 8 students, but we take a maximum of 6 students and only during high season due to the increased demand, the average amount of students that an instructor has in a class is 4 students.

Our company policy is to offer a refund if the customer is not able to complete the course and specially if you haven´t done the dive.
We greatly regret this situation, we look forward to see you again, and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Best Regards

Scubacaribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing ... (go to Cozumel instead)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A well run machine in some respects (i.e. in terms of telling you what you can, will and cannot and will not do - I had to sign more indemnity waivers than you can imagine and I'm a lawyer + 9 year qualified Divemaster) but poor in others (i.e. generally disorganised, different every time getting on the boat and far too regimented dive times, e.g. if at 45 mins dive time you've got 100 bar / 1500 psi left you're coming up regardless).

I did 4 local dives with Scuba Caribe when I was staying in the Riu Tequila. First you get sent to the Riu Yucatan to deal with the blizzard of paperwork. Then you put on all your kit (apart from cylinder) and walk to the sea to get picked up by a guy on jest ski and taken to the beach 500 yards down the beach. Then you get off, walk up the beach for your briefing. Then you wait for the boat (note that it is not acceptable for you to be late for the boat but totally acceptable for the boat to be late for you).

Once you've had your briefing you wade out to the boat (depending on the situ of the tide it will be too deep to stand and you'll be swimming) consequently your kit gets 'washed' with sandy water which is a nightmare.

One guide / instructor whose name was "Lung" (in his own words "I'm that that crazy lung guy") took a group down again for what was a subsequent 40 minute dive after the group surfaced after nearly 10 minutes at 10 metres because a diver's own octopus was freeflowing (in my opinion after being dragged through the sandy water on the way to the boat - that's why I held mine above my head at all times, even when swimming to the boat). I have no problem at all that the group had to surface but no way was it safe to go down again especially after a few days of repetitive diving to 20 - 30 metres - something that Mr. Lung said wasn't a problem and that I was being too fussy. In my opinion the dive should have been aborted and particpants offered a re-run on another day.

The same guide / instructor was also teaching a drift diving specialty course to a man who only German. Lung said he only speaks Spanish and English so he hoped the German guy had not written the Knowledge Review in his book in German as he would not be able to understand it. I don't know what language it was written in but Mr. Lung 'read' the man's answers in his Knowledge Review as he walked the 500 yards from where we had put our kit on (all but cylinders) from the dice centre at the Riu Yucatan to the once at the Riu Palace.

I also had some kit (a brand new aqualung safety buy)) 'disappear'. It was attached to my BCD on the boat one moment and gone the next. Nobody could find it and I know it did not go overboard. (I also met a guy who said he had wrapped his sunglasses up in a T-shirt and put them in his bag and went diving. When he came back the sunglasses were gone and when he complained the manager / owner rounded up the staff and it transpired that one of them had 'helpfully' removed the sunglasses from the guy's bag and kept them safe for him in his pocket. Very thoughtful of him.

To sum up --

1) Scuba Caribe's website is slick but lacking in real detail or substance for experienced divers.

2) Badly organised.

3) Too much testosterone with all the 'supervisors' on walkie-talkies walking around and shouting into them behaving like they're Top Gun fighter pilots.

4) Rather expensive and inflexible.

5) Don't like the stuff going missing aspect.

6) Rental regulators were low spec and looked 5+ years old (Scubapro MK.2plus and R190 were discontinued in 2004/5).

7) Too much churning of try dives and trying to sell use of Jet Skis, sail boats etc. (I know it's a business but this was too much of a sausage factory style outfit for me.

~oOo~

Cozumel was another story though, amazing. I did 3 days there through Scuba Caribe (who sub-contract the excursions to another company, Underwater Technical World who were brilliant in all respects).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthtcm, Marketing Manager at Scubacaribe, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Scubawookiee,


Thank you for your review and for giving us the opportunity to make up for your disappointment. Our goal is, and always will be, to provide you with safe and fun water sports activities.

We would like to address each and every point in the same order as received:


We absolutely agree with you about the paperwork. There is no fun in that at all. But as a Divemaster and a lawyer, you know that it is required for professionals in diving, to fill out all the forms stipulated by R.S.T.C. members.
Nothing more, but also nothing less. We are currently working closely with PADI on a digital, faster and less-hassle-way of getting through all the paperwork.


As for the dive times, our instructors look at the air consumption of all the divers in the group. We start our ascend when the first diver reaches 50 or 60 bar, for shallow or deep dives respectively. As an experienced Divemaster it is very likely that you had the least air consumption in the group and therefor had another 50 bar left in your tank. On less busy days, we organise dives with small groups of experienced divers, so they can stay as long as the dive tables/computers allow. During high season usually it is not possible on shallow dives.


It is true that we have to wade out to the boat, as the government does not allow docks or jetties for environmental reasons. Therefor we ask our divers to hang the regulator set around the neck while getting to and into the boat.


We also agree that you should have been offered a free dive on another day. Not because it was unsafe to go down again after the surface interval, but because we were not able to offer you a satisfactory experience that day. And that is exactly what our goal is. With every client. Every day. Every dive.


Lung does not speak German, nor Russian, Swedish, Dutch, etc… And in big international resorts like the one you stayed at, we often deal with 30 - 40 different nationalities. Unfortunately we do not speak all the languages. But fortunately PADI does. So what we do is provide the customers with all the audio-visual material that PADI has, and we review the answers to quizzes in English, Spanish or whatever language we find in common.


About your surface marker buoy, we have no reports at all. Can you please let us know if you have reported it at the base? And if so, with who? We don´t like stuff missing either, specially if it belongs to our divers. Most of our staff though have been working with us for +10 years without any incident of theft.


As for our rental gear, here in Mexico we bought it last year. Remember that the volkswagen beetle for instance, was continued for many years after it was discontinued in Europe. This is what http://www.scubagearreports.com says about it (shortened version):


-MK 2 Plus 1'st Stage
This first stage epitomizes reliability and simplicity. Its standard piston design is ideal for divers who don't want to get bogged down with an overwhelming amount of bits and pieces, but still want the peace of mind that comes with a sound piece of equipment.
-R190 Second Stage
The R190 regulator was designed with the serious sport diver in mind; it is rugged and requires very little maintenance. This second stage's downstream highly design is dependable and ready to work.


Finally on the radios and the sales: At Scubacaribe only the base leader has a radio, and the boat captain of course, to ensure communication ship-to-shore at all times. Jet-skis and sailboats are not sold by Scubacaribe. The vendors of these companies share the same beach, as they got permits from the local government. And often times they can be rather pushy and loud. We do apologise for those inconveniences, but there is nothing we can do about them being on the beach.

Once again dear scubawookiee, we are sorry that you were disappointed about the Playa Del Carmen part of your dives and we would like you to give us the opportunity of diving with us again.


Please contact me at generalmanager@scubacaribe.com to follow up on the above mentioned points.


Sincerely Yours,
Scubacaribe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Even a 10 year old can do it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My 10 year old son and I just got back from Riviera Maya. We stayed at the Grand Palladium Kantanah. Scuba Caribe offers diving demonstrations and FREE 20 minute classes in the main pool at the Grand Palladium Colonial; which is just adjacent to the Kantanah. My 10 year old tried their free 20 minute pool class and loved it. The next day he talked me into taking the class. We took it together. I wasn't so good at it but he took to it like a fish takes to water. Our instructor was very patient, very safe and very professional. My 10 year liked it so much that we purchased their 45 minute ocean dive for $110. Considering the prices at the hotel this was a GREAT deal. If we come back to the Grand Palladium we will definitely be using Scuba Caribe again. Thanks guys!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthtcm, General Manager at Scubacaribe, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear 1976ster

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your first experience at Scubacaribe on TripAdvisor. It gives me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our DSD course. Thank you for your sincere words with regard to our service team. Feedback like yours inspires our continuous pursuit of excellence in everything we do.

Kind Regards

Scubacaribe team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matosinhos, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great dives just a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I did 2 great dives with scuba caribe at Grand Palladium Resort in Riviera Maya. The gear to rent is a little bit old but the instructors were very nice. The spot right there in front of the hotel are great.The only negative thing I found was the price. Really expensive. $75 for 1 dive is to much.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthtcm, General Manager at Scubacaribe, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment! It is a pleasure to receive positive reviews from our customers helps us to keep trying and improving. Kindest regards from the whole Scubacaribe team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scubacaribe also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Scubacaribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scubacaribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Scubacaribe to your Saves list