We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Difficult Golf Course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playacar Golf Club

Playacar Golf Club
Paseo Xaman-Ha, s/n Mz. 26, lote 1 | Fraccionamiento Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
18003149712
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses
Attraction Details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Difficult Golf Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I played this course in July with my dad and 2 friends. The course was great. It's typically $200 per person, we were able to get a discount due to the room we selected at the Gran Porto. We paid $100 which included clubs ($50) food and drink ($15) and cart ($35.) I didn't mind paying $100 for golf, but the golf balls were $5-$7 per ball! Next time I'll learn my lesson and through a few sleeves and my golf glove in my suitcase.

They provide excellent clubs, but there isn't a chance to use the driver much. Mostly blind tee shots and lots of dog-legs. Greens are guarded by bunkers and there is some winding water. We play a 2 on 2 scramble and shot a 90!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    71
    14
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All inclusive golf at a fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nice course that is forgiving for tourists. There is a nice selection of natural features and rocks, some in play, others not. Some interesting holes. If you are not used to the heat, play early!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not golf here if you are a serious golfer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have golfed here several times now. Really disappointed as there has been a change in ownership and the quality of the course has deteriorated significantly. The staff are NOT friendly and when we golfed in May this year, the greens were filled with sand, the course is in bad shape. If you are just looking for a fun round of golf and not planning to keep score, this might be okay for you. I am a bad golfer so it was a nice day but it frustrated my husband who is a more serious golfer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Challenging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A great way to spend 4 hours, playing golf at the all inclusive playacar course. Played many times and I am always impressed with how friendly the staff are and with the all inclusive food and drink!! Excellent value

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Included”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We eat before and after golf. Breakfast buffet is typical fare. Nothing spectacular either way. Lunch is ordinary club sandwich type stuff.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playacar Golf Club also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen
Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen
 

Been to Playacar Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playacar Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Playacar Golf Club to your Saves list