We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff and great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Rock Grille + Cocktails

Salt Rock Grille + Cocktails
Quinta (5) Ave | Between Calle 34 y Calle 38, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 147 7925
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, South American, Contemporary, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Take Floribbean, blend in Asian Fusion, throw in a couple of South and North American Classics, and finish it with some European dishes with a twist...You have SALT ROCK Grille + Cocktails. Home-made bread and chutney start the meal and in-house baked desserts finish it. A nicely shaken Martini or Wine (almost all our wines are available by the glass) will complement any dish. This small Family-owned and run restaurant is new to Playa but is getting great positive feedback and reviews. Sit nside or on the outdoor patio overlooking the NEW QUINTA Avenida.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome staff and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We visited Salt Rock because of the very good reviews on Trip Advisor and were amazed by the super friendly service paired with awesome food and drinks. The martinis are a must if you enjoy girly drinks. The owners of this little gem were super friendly and made sure we were taken care of throughout our meal. Overall it was just a great experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine P, Propietario at Salt Rock Grille + Cocktails, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Eliza,
we know that there are some great restaurants in Denver, so we feel honored that you enjoyed your meal at Salt Rock Grille + Cocktails. Tell all your Friends back home to stop by if they are ever in Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    6
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We tend to shy away from restaurants on 5th Ave however, after reading some great reviews on Salt Rock Grille we thought we'd give it a go. Four of us visited and we were all delighted with our selections from the menu. We all had appetizers, mains & 3 of us had deserts. Each and every dish was fabulous. They have a wine list with a good selection - it is not a huge selection but certainly something for everyone and very reasonably priced.

Catherine the host/proprietor was a pleasure to meet and although very busy took the time to stop by our table for chit chat when appropriate. Our waiters Aldo & Gary were great, had a good laugh with them. We shall definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine P, Owner at Salt Rock Grille + Cocktails, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Alison,
I passed on your praises to the waitstaff as well, as they appreciate it when customers see how hard they try to get it right. When we get guests like yourself at our restaurant it is a joy, as you made us all laugh and enjoy your vacation with you. See you son, maybe before you leave. Happy that you liked the Wines, we try to feature many of our wines by the glass as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“As amazing as ever!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

First of all... We are kind of Catherine and Jose "roadies" now. We loved them and everything they had to offer in Las Vegas when they owned Elements, and when we heard they opened up down here in Playa we had to come. They are probably the greatest of people to meet and know, and they find the greatest staff to surround themselves with. That alone makes the trip into the restaurant awesome. The location is great, not too loud (easy to carry on a conversation), and you can watch everyone walking 5th. The drinks alone are superb, done well, and have great flavor (that alone should be enough to get you in even if that's all you do). But the FOOD...bursting with favors, some of the BEST I've had. We started with the calamari (great) and moved onto the main course eagerly. I had the ciopino and my wife had the steak and shrimp, and of course we shared. Amazing!!! Every bite had flavor, their infusion is remarkable, everything compliments the other flavors sublimely! And the desserts. What can I say? You can tell that both Catherine and Jose cook with passion and their hearts. Needless to say we could barely walk out of there because we didn't want to leave one bite! Lastly, the price, for everything is incredible, the only thing you'll be breaking is the scale because you'll want to eat there everyday!!!!
So go, and I promise you won't be disappointed!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine P, Owner at Salt Rock Grille + Cocktails, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
What a great feeling to see a customer from one of our previous restaurants visit us all the way in Playa, and continue to enjoy what it is we do. Thanks Aric and Becca for your kind words, we will see you next time you are back in the área.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's the best dining in playa del carmen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is pleasant, casual but sophistacated. The service is excellent. The food is super good, creative, and topped with the most amazing sauces personally prepared by chief Jose Luis. And dont pass up the best martinis and desserts of katarina the chief wife.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine P, Propietario at Salt Rock Grille + Cocktails, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We will keep on shaking up those martinis for you. Next time try one of our new ones, like the Peachy Keen and the ´S Mores. and Thank you for your continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Where to start?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

When you see a restaurant named Rock Salt, you expect something pretty basic, so our expectations where lowish when we visited. It is close to where we are staying and in a spot that has seen other eateries come and go. I truly hope that Rock Salt stays for a LONG time.
Starting with the bread and dipping sauce, which gives credence to the term 'explosion of flavor", the meal was a revelation.
I had the special, tilapia cooked with ginger among other spices and, while it was delicious, I became envious of my spouse's salmon, cooked with balsamic and strawberry puree and absolutely incredible.
Gourmet level food, good drinks and super service for under $60. We will go back again, if only to see if they can re-create such a wonderful meal. (I may just have the bread and dipping sauce!).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine P, Propietario at Salt Rock Grille + Cocktails, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We so appreciate when our guests take the time to share their impression of Salt Rock Grille + Cocktails. This is our 7th restaurant where we have offered the Salmon Balsamico, so happy that you enjoyed it, we will definitely have to keep it on the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Rock Grille + Cocktails also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Salt Rock Grille + Cocktails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Rock Grille + Cocktails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.