We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you book at Oceanfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel to your Saves list
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Privada 1 Norte, Mza. 35, Lt. 1, # 238, Col. Centro. | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 40% off & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Make sure you book at Oceanfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

El Taj is really two properties: Oceanfront and Beachside. Oceanside is right on the beach. And Beachside is a block away. So, if you want a view of beach, book for Oceanside. We booked for Oceanside in room 324 with a partial view of the ocean and private hot tub. The condo was very lovely with a fullly equipped kitchen. Paula keep our rooms clean and free from the sand we dragged in. Lots of beach chairs available. You can use the Gym for free (about 2 blocks away on another of the CondoHotel property). The is a Beach Club restaurant - okay food, but nothing spectular. Free breakfast at either beach club or Imprevist. We preferred Imprevist. But it's a small restaurant so you should get there early - before 9am. The location of this hotel is great since it's only 1.5 blocks from 5 ave (shopping) but far enough away from the noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    141
    37
    13
    9
See reviews for
336
286
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kandahar, Afghanistan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location, with a beach front and a block away from the 5th Avenue. Even though it is close to the clubs we were not disturbed at all by the loud music. The hotel has two restaurants where you can have your complimentary breakfast, the Indigo beach club and the Imprevist. I recommend both but in my opinion the Imprevist was better. The staff was helpful at all times! We will definately return to this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Its our 7th time staying at one of Jack Perlman's hotels. Our second time at El Taj in Feb 2013 and it did not disappoint. Great service every time, great location, best beach club and nicest rooms. I've been to Playa Del Carmen probably 10 times in the past 10 years and El Taj can't be beat. Jack, if you recall, I met you when you were building Sacbe and I saw you at the beach club in February. Thanks for making Playa such a great place. We'll be back again next year!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the North side to keep noise down from nearby clubs. Not bad in any room, just a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

First of all, the physical property of El Taj was lovely. The layout, the plants, the palm trees, and our 1 bedroom condo was small, but very, very nice.
The location is perfect - literally 5 minute walk to Fifth Avenue which was fun every night we were there.... we found wonderful restaurants, boutiques, bars, and gelato/ice cream parlors -. and we felt safe at all times..
The staff in the front office and the beach club could not have been more helpful, friendly or accessible. Wonderfully accommodating staff.
The Beach Club had plenty of chaise lounges & beach beds, although they are in close proximity to each other. The complimentary breakfast buffet provided hot and cold options and had a variety of pastries and fruits.
NOW the reason for the 'but...' .... El Taj has a fine beach but it does NOT have nice access to the water. There were 15-20 fishing boats tied up in the water at the El Taj beach every day.. The boats caused a seaweed collection floating in the water in front of the hotel as well. The pier you see in the pictures actually doesn't reach the beach.... you have to wade/swim out to it. and there's no ladder. .We had to walk down the beach every day to wade in the water or swim.
In sum, El Taj is perfect if you don't care about a pretty water view or if you don't mind walking a ways to find a beach suitable for swimming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

One of the BEST hotels I have ever stayed at.. gorgeous views, beautiful facility, excellent buffet breakfast.

Pros: Centrally located. Less than a 5 minute walk from Avenida 5 (downtown). Easy beach access. Beautiful hotel. Beautiful luxury Rooms/Bathrooms. Fully Furnished Condos. Filtered Water provided. EXCELLENT Customer Service. Friendly Dining Staff. Buffet Breakfast included in room rate. Hotel plans fun activities most nights.

Cons: One Bedroom Condos barely have a partial ocean view – talk to the hotel directly before booking, or go to the hotel website for the best deal. 2 or 3 Bedroom Condos are the best options. Small swimming pools. Hotel can be noisy since they do offer live music a couple nights a week, this didn't bother me though.

http://www.honeywhatscooking.com/2013/03/el-taj-oceanfront-condo-hotel-playa-del.html

Room Tip: Room 328 is a 2 bedroom condo - boasts partial ocean views. Book directly with the hotel for oceanv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. All the staff were welcoming and gracious. The service was excellent and all needs attended to. I travel with a husband with a disability and everyone seems to care for us for seating, getting up, walking up stairs, etc. That special attention means a lot. The meals at Indigo are wonderful. Also the room service is an added benefit for us. I love the location because I can get out by myself and walk all over, either on the beautful beach in the morning or on Avienda Cinco (5th Avenue). Everything you need is right there. P.S. The pool at Beachside is my favorite.

Room Tip: We had unit 320. It has a roof top where my husband loves to spend the afternoon listening to him m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at El Taj for a 3 day weekend in March and had a lovely experience. The condo was clean, the hotel staff were extremely professional and accommodating. We stayed in condo 346 on the oceanside and can honestly stay we didn't hear a thing after we tucked ourselves into bed for the night. The complementary breakfast at Indigo was great, and the transportation services to and from the airport were professional and real easy to arrange with the hotel beforehand. We'll 100% be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Address: Privada 1 Norte, Mza. 35, Lt. 1, # 238, Col. Centro. | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.