We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and accommodations equal to 5 start hotels in the US.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Save Saved
You added El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Privada 1 Norte, Mza. 35, Lt. 1, # 238, Col. Centro. | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 45% off & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 197 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Service and accommodations equal to 5 start hotels in the US.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We travel to Playa regularly, if fact 4 trips last year and we have spent the past 8 spring breaks in Playa. Spring Break trips are always loaded with extra kids, this year we had 6 kids, actually young adults, ages 17 -25. We usually stay at one of the wonderful houses in Playacar Phase I to accommodate our crew. This year we stayed at El Taj Beachside 302 and all of our spring breaks have been great this was one "over the top". I cannot think of anything that would have made this trip more perfect.

LOCATION. Whereas Playacar Phase I is about 3/4 mile south of "Playa Central". El Taj is Playa Central and beachfront. Great gourmet dining for the "old folks", that would be me and my wife is a short walk. The hottest bars are less than a block away which reassures these old folks our kids can make it home safely at 5 AM. I do not know how else to put it unless you are familiar with Playa, but the location alone makes this an ideal place to stay.

SERVICE. Unparalleled. Each person I encountered, especially Frederick, truly wants to make your trip perfect. The service I received was very similar to the service at the Ritz or Four Seasons without the arrogance. There is a warmth and sincerity with the impeccable service.

SAFETY. 24 hour attendant at the only entrance to this property. We never locked our door. Though I admit my own stupidity, I left my billfold on the nightstand when the maid was cleaning the unit and no one was "home". I never missed a penny. There are safes in the room, I just trusted our maid Elizabeth.

ACCOMMODATIONS. These condos stand WAY apart from any other condos in Playa. The quality and maintenance is NOT available anywhere else in Playa. I'm sure Myakoba is equal in many ways but Myakoba is not in Playa and we love love to stay in Playa.

BEACHSIDE VS BEACHFRONT. El Taj has 2 condo units and they share the same beach. We stayed beachside and the 50-75 yard walk was never a bother and I think the beachside units are actually larger.

BEACH CLUB. This is actually sublet and not directly managed by El Taj. At least that is the impression I got. The food is great. At times, chairs and beach beds were a little tight; however, I always had a place to bask in the the sun. Although my kids are older, I saw many younger family who seemed to be experiencing the same pleasure.

HIDDEN SECRET. A local restaurant Las Quesadillas just across a side street from El Taj has great, safe food for cheap. Chicken Quesadilla for 1.50 USD. Huge serving of guacamole made right before your eyes for 3.50 USD.

THE GYM. We used it everyday. Nice gym. Spinning Classes with great spinners. Free.

INTERNET/PHONE. Great deal. Some rooms it cost extra but if you purchase this package, the phone is international and allows you to call the states at no charge. This was great since we have elderly parents.

As mentioned above, we have stayed in many wonderful places in Playa del Carmen but El Taj is in a category of its own. It has everything including a huge desire to please.

NEGATIVE. The only negative is night time noise. Because it is in Playa Central, next to the hottest bars, the music is loud when these old folks are trying to sleep. Next time, I am taking a sound machine and ear plugs.

Room Tip: Beachside 302 large 4 BR.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    623
    119
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
294
259
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Our family, 2 adults and 2 children ages 14 and 11 stayed at El Taj during the busy spring break holiday. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this condo/hotel. We stayed in the beachside units (as opposed to the oceanfront) and we were very pleased with our choice. For the cost savings this is really the best best. We actually preferred the beachside pool and jacuzzi over the oceanfront. What really made El Taj so great was the fabulous in town location. It was so nice to be able to walk out of the hotel and be steps away from lively 5th Avenue with all of the great restaurants and shopping. There is some noise at night from the nearby dance clubs, so if you are a light sleeper this may be an issue. No problem for us.

The beach was nice as well. Yes, there are fishing boats anchored at the El Taj beach, but this wasn't a big problem for us. There is also a good sized drop off from the beach down to the water, but again not a big issue. It was fun to watch all the beach walkers stop in front of the El Taj to admire this great property!

Staff very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping did a nice job. No complaints!
We would recommend USA Transfers from the Cancun Airport. Very reliable.
Also would recommend eating at Carboncitos just off 5th. Best steak tacos we ever had!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

My sisters and I vacationed at El Taj for 4 nights out of our 5 night vacation in Playa. We originally booked in to stay at a 5 sar all inclusive and then realized upon arrival our that our hotel looked nothing like the pictures had promised. The facilities were dirty and the food was not fresh. It was so comforting to find El Taj Condo Hotel. We had an amazing stay!!! The staff are very friendly the beach restaurant was a great place to chill out durring the day complete with hip music and a very contemporary ambiance. As a guest of the hotel you get complimentary access to the Euro beach beds and umbrellas which was a very nice surprise. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and equipped with everything that you need to make yourself feel at home like laundry facilities & dish washer . El Taj came to our rescue and helped to make our vacation very memorable.

SJKR

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

What an amazing holiday! From the moment we were met at the airport, with our own personalized message board, to the cold towels, and water ready in the car for us, I could not believe the service. The concierge Teresa could not have been more helpful, as were all of the staff at the El Taj. With two teenage boys , we have a strict criteria of what works for us on holiday, we need local activities to keep them engaged, good food and lots of it:) without long drives out in the evening, and bedrooms with enough space for them to hang out- their own TVs and , of course, internet access! The El Taj provided all of this and more- from the moment you step in to the hotel, you realise that it has a quiet understated elegance. The condos are incredible- we stayed in #340, top floor penthouse and roof terrace with three beds, three baths- pure luxury! The beds were incredibly comfortable- despite earlier comments- I had some of the best night's sleep. The great deal on the privilege card- which we used every night to get a discount off the local restaurants. The boys did the ATV trip through the jungle- Teresa booked everything for us, and they really enjoyed it. We also did a private tour of Chichen Itza- where Teresa booked us a very comfortable car to take us there, and we had our own guide when we got there- much easier with teenage boys, who are not good at getting up at 7:40 am to get on the coach trip! We also tried out the hobie cat- which you can rent at the hotel next door. Our special treat was the private boat trip out snorkeling to Akumal- what an incredible place- and we felt spoiled having our own boat, lunch organised at a beachside bar- especially when we saw a pod of dolphins on our way home.
I have been to many hotels over the years, traveled through Europe extensively and North America and this hotel has to be one of the best I have ever stayed at! We eat breakfast a couple of mornings down at the Beach Club- where the service again, was impeccable- they remembered which tea I liked and with milk- and were just so helpful.
Best restaurants for us were: Yaxche, (ask for the cafe maya), Coccina 38- sticky toffee pudding:), La Casa del Aqua for the seafood platter( but watch the price there- it is expensive). Also liked 100 % Natural cafe on Ave 5- wonderful smoothies, and sandwiches freshly made, and very healthy.
All the restaurants are steps away from the hotel- and such fun walking along Ave 5 at night, just to see the shops in full "barter" mode as you walk passed. Boys loved to practice their bargaining skills-.
Can;t wait to go back. If you book this hotel, you will not be disappointed- get in early before it becomes too busy:)

Room Tip: Suggest you ring way ahead of your date- negotiate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

The El Taj is a beautiful report and the place to stay in Playa, especially if you are into the late night/early morning rave scene. The unit we stayed in (#312) sports several clubs as neighbors, and even if you choose not to go, the pounding beats of the techno music until 5 AM easily makes its way through the walls to you. So your best bet is to stay up all night and sleep during the day, or bring a comfortable set of earplugs for everyone. A beautiful resort, but our recommendation would be to only book a beach-side room away from the noise.

Room Tip: Go for the beachfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This was our third visit to Playa and El Taj made it the best yet.
When we arrived, we were met by helpful and attentive staff who immediately made us feel welcome and secure. Throughout our stay they continued to exceed our expectations.
The location of El Taj could not be better. The ocean views are stunning and the beach immediately adjacent to the building. Fifth Avenue, with all if its tremendous shopping and fine cuisine is only a block away. We walked the beach for miles each morning, enjoying the beautiful weather and endless sand. We swam in the ocean and in the pool which was often surprisingly quiet.
Our unit (#345) was extremely well appointed with quality throughout. It included three bedrooms, three balconies, a fully functional kitchen, and a huge rooftop terrace. The terrace included a jacuzzi, bbq, sofa, and palapa. The views were amazing. We were travelling with one other couple, but with the three bedrooms, balconies, large kitchen and living room area, and spacious rooftop terrace, this unit could accommodate three couples with ease. Although El Taj is close to some of Playa's night life, we found it very quiet and our sleep was never interuped.
We cannot think of a single thing that could have been better.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This Place is great, We where staying hear for the last week of our month long stay in Playa and well what a great way to end the stay. It all starts when you check in they greet you very well take your bags supply you with a great welcome book that provides you with discounts at local restaurants and spas not to mention a great pass to the GYM. Once you walk up the stairs and see the amazing view you will see just what I am talking about the courtyard is very very well kept and all and all the location is very peaceful. Take a few steps and you will see heaven the Spa tub with three built in chairs that let you sit and look over the sea what a amazing spot. Below that is the pool and then simply steps to the beach. The rooms are very well decorated and well equipped as well the maid service is spot on make sure to tip well as they sure work for it. While enjoying our stay we met Jack Perlman the owner of the development as well as a number of other location in Playa not to mention basically the man who has been the key person in Playas lovely development over the years. Now one would think meeting someone of this stature would be odd but what a amazing man to speak with there he was walking through the property one evening just to make sure all was well and to stop and talk with guests and ask "how are you, Enjoying your stay? Says a lot not to mention the 45 min talk he went on to have with us about his love of the city and the pride he has in his developments. What a great man and great place. Also if you enjoy being in the heart of town and close to the night life this is the place but dont worry Jack has done such a great job of the place that you do not hear the loud music should you wish to just have a nice night in.

If you are looking for the amazing place to stay look no further.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Address: Privada 1 Norte, Mza. 35, Lt. 1, # 238, Col. Centro. | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Amex, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.