We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT USE EXPIEDA” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Haciendas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Haciendas to your Saves list
The Royal Haciendas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Special Price Tours!
Ranked #46 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Pueblo West, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“DO NOT USE EXPIEDA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel was ok the food was perfect, the beds sucks. The booking agency was the worst in the world. DO not use Expieda!!!!!!! the customer service of Expieda is the worst. They misrepresented this hotel. The suite (kitchenette) is a small room that is a bed room to a villa. The beach is very dirty and you are not able to walk out like others resorts in Playa del Carmen.

Room Tip: Suites kitchenettes are a small room that is a bed room attached to a larger villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We have a daily schedule for beach cleaning which sometimes can be delayed due to rain or other conditions. However: the waves sometimes wash seaweed up on to the shoreline, this is a natural process and we can do little about it. We are sharing your comments with Resort's Management in order to enforce beach cleaning more efficiently.

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    374
    129
    37
    25
See reviews for
700
519
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I are Marriott Horizons owners and she exchanged for the Royal Haciendas through Interval International. We have had our eye on this hotel for a few years after staying at a couple of Royal Resorts locations in Cancun. My wife was thrilled to see the Royal Haciendas on the exchange list.
Since it was an exchange we had to do the All Inclusive package. Their All Inclusive package was less than other resorts that we looked into but I think the price was on target for what you receive at this resort. I would not argue with some that think it is a bit overpriced but if so it's not much overpriced. We used dined at The LaPalapa restaurant for breakfast each morning and the night of our arrival. The food at this restaurant is great for breakfast and average with a large selection for dinner. We made dinner reservations at the Las Morales Restaurant 5 evenings and the food is amazing. The Morales Penne Pasta is as good as you will find anywhere and the Coconut Shrimp is the best I've ever had anywhere. There are several items that are included in the all inclusive package and those items that are not included do have a surcharge that is very reasonable. The Angus Beef Filet was just a bit over $6 and they have a 12 oz Lobster Tail for a bit over $22. This Lobster Tail would be well over $50 depending on where you live in the U.S. and I would say it was worth every penny. The salads and clam chowder were also amazing. We had wonderful service from all the servers from each restaurant and on the beach as well as the bar. Although we purchased the All Inclusive package I did choose to tip my servers and they were very appreciative.
Our room was a B unit which means it had a microwave and small refrigerator with 2 double beds. It would have been nice to have a king size bed but it wasn't a big deal. The beds are so/so on comfort but they were ok. The grounds are immaculately kept and very spacious. We told our concierge that we were Marriott owners already and were not interested in the timeshare presentation and he politely accepted that. He was still very helpful to us on the one day we chose to go to leave the resort and go to Playa del Carmen and Cozumel. We loved this resort and have been to many others in Mexico and the Cayman but this is our favorite. We will definitely be back to the Royal Haciendas and will encourage our friends and family to join us.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and at first I didn't like the idea until they showed us the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is our 3rd. trip to Royal Haciendas and each one has been a delight. We used the all inclusive and felt that the value was excellant, since we took advantage of all the resort had to offer. The service, as usual, was outstanding; resort grounds and rooms are first class all the way. We would never have a question about referring the resort to our friends or family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The good = the grounds of the resort were nice and well kept, the resteraunts were clean and had above average food, quality of all inclusive drinks and wait staff (I would rate these particular items at 4.5),

The bad =
1. This is a time share and was our first time to stay in a time share instead of a resort so we learned several lessons, if you do not book your vacation to accomidate the resorts schedule (saturday to saturday) you will have to move rooms and this will waste 2 to 3 hours of your day from (11AM to 1PM is the only time you can move rooms).
2. We paid for the all inclusive package, we had to wear a wrist band, give our room key and our name EVERY time we ate breakfast, lunch, dinner, a snack, ordered a drink, got towels for the pool, went to the buffet etc. and we had to sign a receipt as if we were paying for each transactions this was very aggrevating.
3. The pool bar is only open from 11AM unti 6PM after this you must go to one of the resteraunts or the main bar to have a drink, the all inclusive drinks are about 20 frozen/on the rocks drink options and 2 draft beer options, anything else is extra.
4. There is one main resteraunt in which you must make reservations for each morning (early) or it gets booked and your only other option is the buffetl, FYI at the main resteraunt over half of the menu is not covered under the all inclusive package you must pay extra.
5. The rooms were fairly clean, low water pressure, the tub would not drain when taking a shower, our room was so humid that even with a dehumidifier, AC running and the ceiling fan going we would wake up during the night sweating.
6. This is a very family oriented facility, there are kids pools and main pools, problem is the kids all stay in the main pools, dive off of the bar stools at the swim up bar, throw balls, swim right past you with their flippers, splashing on your food if you are eating, into your dirnks etc. there are signs up stating "no kids in this area" but that was not enforced.
7. And the last thing, this is a timeshare so every time we called our conciere they requested 90 minutes of our time to go through their presentation, we did agree to the go through the presentation, 3 hours into the presentation we stopped them and told them we were not interested and we were ready to go back to our vacation, at this time our sales person has to get her manager, he wastes another 30 minutes trying to "close the deal" offering discounts etc. After we finally got through to him that we were not buying they told us that they just needed us to sign a document stating that we declined so we agreed and this last QA/QC guy starts throwing out more one time offers, discounts, etc. this was very aggrevating and a waste of half of our last day at the resort.
8. We will not go back to this resort, we will stick to All inclusive resorts and not time share resorts, had we known all of this info up front we would have chosen another property to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Amazing time. Friendly staff *Antonio from the pool bar was the best*.
Easy check in, easy check out. Answered all of our questions. Rooms were EXTREMELY spacious, well equipped *even though we had all inclusive- well worth it too*
Food was INCREDIBLE! Drinks were great *miami vice, piña colada, mango daiquirys, etc. etc. etc.* Guac dip and fish ceviche HIT THE SPOT! and the views of the beach... a must see!

DEFINITELY recommend this resort!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: "A" rooms include the hot tub/ jacuzzy. All the "B" rooms have a small sized bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have been in several resorts and this is one of the best. The food and the drinks were great. The service is always excellent and the staf is always willing to help with anything you need. The beach is very nice and the weather was fantastic. Rooms were very clean. We love this place and we will recommend it again and again and again. We will go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winton, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The resort was beautiful with great employees, good food, great diving, good drinks. My wife & I enjoyed meeting lots of great people. We rented a car in Cancun airport and went to Playa twice . Great Trip all inclusive. Would do this trip again and stay at the Royal Haciendas!!

Room Tip: Quiet Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Haciendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas

Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. Experience the elegance of Old Mexico and the sophistication of a resort with personalized service, swimming pools for kids and adults, restaurants, a spa and so much more. Play a Nick Price championship golf course nearby. Take a five-minute taxi ride to Playa del Carmen, the Caribbean's most cosmopolitan city. You can have it all - so close to your spacious, deluxe two-bedroom Master suite with all the services of a fine hotel. Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Haciendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Haciendas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.