We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love coming back.... BUT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Haciendas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Royal Haciendas to your Saves list
The Royal Haciendas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100US Resort Credit FREE
Ranked #43 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
phoenix, az
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love coming back.... BUT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

we have been members for about 15 years, and truly love coming back "home". of course things have changed over the years, some good , some not so good! While we certainly understand the reasoning behind opening up the resort to all-inclusive, and points and such, we feel that the "owners" are really getting the short end of the deal. We pay the maintenance fee each year and for what do we get??? the all-inclusive is very very reasonable, and much times less than what the yearly fees are. Yes we love always getting our same unit, for 2 weeks in a row no less, but feel that the company has lost touch with owners. Even the wait staff seems to cater more to the "bands" faster, more attentive than owners, and many of the wonderful staff we had known for years have also left. We just hope management starts listening to the "members" the people who have loved coming here for Years... and generations after generation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator. at The Royal Haciendas, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking time to post about our resort.

As you point out, our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges. However, we always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and we regret not achieving this goal with you. This is a continuous process and learning never ends, we'll always look for new ways to improve taking seriously all comments and yours won't be an exception.

We're looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    353
    121
    31
    24
See reviews for
656
491
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great location and facilities.
Service is great, and it's very clean!
Food is great along with the pool side service!

Main dining restaurant is OK, but needs more American food choices!
There is a grocery store so you can cook in the room if desired

Lots of things to do with the family and friends at this resort!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 weeks here, one week oceanfront and one in the lock off bedroom. Both rooms were clean, fresh, and well maintained. The food in the palapa, which has an amazing view, is above average by hotel standards.
Beach is no a swimming beach but has a fun shallow water reef. Pure white sand. Staff are friendly. A bit isolated but it is self contained.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Haciendas for our anniversary in late May. The rooms and hotel are very nice and super clean. The pictures show a large pool, but that is only one side of the hotel as they have two swim up bar pools, one on each phase (2 total, and the pools are super clean!). This is our first time here and we were very pleased at the whole experience. The La Palapa Del Sol restaurant is the main buffet style eatery, and the views are wonderful....and the water is 100 feet from the outside terrace...it’s like you are eating on the beach. The food and service were also very good, and I liked the ability to tip with the room key card so you never needed any cash with you. We had the all-inclusive package and really enjoyed that the snack bars like the Luna Grill had menus to order from with a variety of food to choose from, not the normal burger, chips and hot dogs as we have seen with some other resorts. The full kitchen in our room was nice and the fridge was always stocked with beer and pop for us. I would recommend this resort to families and couples and in late May, the place was not crowded....always found a nice chair by the pool. I want to add that this is still a timeshare resort, and checking in any day besides Saturday will only give you a temporary room. We arrived on Friday and had to change rooms on Saturday, as it’s the timeshare check in day. The nice thing was the resort is prepared for this, and the bell men were ready to move us the next morning (they even had new room keys!) with no delay or even calling the front desk......I was amazed for once.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We just spent nine days at the Royal Haciendas and it could not have been any better, we loved it and hope to return.

We did not experience any of the problems other reviewers have complained about. We checked in and they had plenty of key cards, got to our room and it was spotless and beautiful. Our luggage arrived 5-10 minutes after we did. The only thing missing was a baby crib but I called down and it was brought up within 15 minutes. There were always plenty of available chairs around the pool and at the beac.(we were in phase 2 which in General seemed more quiet). In fact most of the time I would say they were only half full. The buffet food was mediocre but typical. The pool restaurant food was all wonderful and Los Murales was excellent. Also I never had a problem getting reservations, we ate there 4 times during our stay. It's a small restaurant and they book up fast so call first thing in the morning. Also many people complained the drinks were watered down and syrupy but I think it's just what you ordered, I was pleasantly surprised how good the margaritas were after the poor reviews. They were very strong and made with fresh lime juice, yum!
We also were not hassled about the timeshare presentation at all. They offered it once to us and offered a free week if we participated! It was very tempting but I didn't want to spend my precious 2 hours of kid free time in a presentation and I've learned my lesson that those offers all always too good to be true. So we passed and they never asked again.

A few things to consider before booking here would be that it is first and foremost a timeshare property, they have just recently started offering the resort to non-owners as all inclusive and from what we understood they won't be offering this forever. They are not trying to become a typical all inclusive resort so many of the things reviewers are complaining about aren't going to change.
They say all rooms have an ocean view but I would not consider it an ocean view, most rooms have a garden view and you can see a small glimmer of the blue ocean if you lean over your balcony.
Because of the way the owners reserve their weeks you will most likely have to move rooms on Saturday. I did not realize this when I booked our rooms and I probably would not have booked had I known about this policy. Thankfully when we checked in they said we wouldn't need to switch rooms but he did say this was very rare. I can't imagine having to repackage and move half way into our trip with a baby and toddler, I am just so glad we didn't have to.

We loved our time there and we will definitely look at staying there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have stayed at The Royal Haciendas several times and truly enjoy our experience. The rooms are beautiful, the beach is calm and fantastic.....and the pool, need we say anymore. At 3 o'clock its pool time for happy hour. We are in the 1st Phase and the bartenders are wonderful!!!!! We choose not to be inclusive, just not our thing. But our Easter meal at Los Murales was wonderful, we had a party of 13 and reserve their private room for our guest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel was really nice, on the beach. We had a 2 bed 2 bath suite with an in room Jacuzzi. The resort beach was really clean, plenty of chairs, pools were huge and really fun. We had all inclusive package which I would recommend. The staff from the front desk to bell boy to the servers were really nice and helpful. The pool bar was our favorite. The other vacationers were really friendly as well. We played a few pool and beach volleyball games.

The food was above average at the hotel restaurants but we were not surprised by that. There were plenty of choices to pick from the buffet or you could also order of the menu. Some of the off the menu items had small surcharge but it was not bad at all. Loved the 24/7 room service availability, however some times not all items off the menu were available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Haciendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas

Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. Experience the elegance of Old Mexico and the sophistication of a resort with personalized service, swimming pools for kids and adults, restaurants, a spa and so much more. Play a Nick Price championship golf course nearby. Take a five-minute taxi ride to Playa del Carmen, the Caribbean's most cosmopolitan city. You can have it all - so close to your spacious, deluxe two-bedroom Master suite with all the services of a fine hotel. Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Haciendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Haciendas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.