We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Haciendas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Haciendas to your Saves list
The Royal Haciendas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Special Price Tours!
Ranked #46 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A very nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 weeks here, one week oceanfront and one in the lock off bedroom. Both rooms were clean, fresh, and well maintained. The food in the palapa, which has an amazing view, is above average by hotel standards.
Beach is no a swimming beach but has a fun shallow water reef. Pure white sand. Staff are friendly. A bit isolated but it is self contained.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    374
    129
    37
    25
See reviews for
700
519
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Haciendas for our anniversary in late May. The rooms and hotel are very nice and super clean. The pictures show a large pool, but that is only one side of the hotel as they have two swim up bar pools, one on each phase (2 total, and the pools are super clean!). This is our first time here and we were very pleased at the whole experience. The La Palapa Del Sol restaurant is the main buffet style eatery, and the views are wonderful....and the water is 100 feet from the outside terrace...it’s like you are eating on the beach. The food and service were also very good, and I liked the ability to tip with the room key card so you never needed any cash with you. We had the all-inclusive package and really enjoyed that the snack bars like the Luna Grill had menus to order from with a variety of food to choose from, not the normal burger, chips and hot dogs as we have seen with some other resorts. The full kitchen in our room was nice and the fridge was always stocked with beer and pop for us. I would recommend this resort to families and couples and in late May, the place was not crowded....always found a nice chair by the pool. I want to add that this is still a timeshare resort, and checking in any day besides Saturday will only give you a temporary room. We arrived on Friday and had to change rooms on Saturday, as it’s the timeshare check in day. The nice thing was the resort is prepared for this, and the bell men were ready to move us the next morning (they even had new room keys!) with no delay or even calling the front desk......I was amazed for once.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We just spent nine days at the Royal Haciendas and it could not have been any better, we loved it and hope to return.

We did not experience any of the problems other reviewers have complained about. We checked in and they had plenty of key cards, got to our room and it was spotless and beautiful. Our luggage arrived 5-10 minutes after we did. The only thing missing was a baby crib but I called down and it was brought up within 15 minutes. There were always plenty of available chairs around the pool and at the beac.(we were in phase 2 which in General seemed more quiet). In fact most of the time I would say they were only half full. The buffet food was mediocre but typical. The pool restaurant food was all wonderful and Los Murales was excellent. Also I never had a problem getting reservations, we ate there 4 times during our stay. It's a small restaurant and they book up fast so call first thing in the morning. Also many people complained the drinks were watered down and syrupy but I think it's just what you ordered, I was pleasantly surprised how good the margaritas were after the poor reviews. They were very strong and made with fresh lime juice, yum!
We also were not hassled about the timeshare presentation at all. They offered it once to us and offered a free week if we participated! It was very tempting but I didn't want to spend my precious 2 hours of kid free time in a presentation and I've learned my lesson that those offers all always too good to be true. So we passed and they never asked again.

A few things to consider before booking here would be that it is first and foremost a timeshare property, they have just recently started offering the resort to non-owners as all inclusive and from what we understood they won't be offering this forever. They are not trying to become a typical all inclusive resort so many of the things reviewers are complaining about aren't going to change.
They say all rooms have an ocean view but I would not consider it an ocean view, most rooms have a garden view and you can see a small glimmer of the blue ocean if you lean over your balcony.
Because of the way the owners reserve their weeks you will most likely have to move rooms on Saturday. I did not realize this when I booked our rooms and I probably would not have booked had I known about this policy. Thankfully when we checked in they said we wouldn't need to switch rooms but he did say this was very rare. I can't imagine having to repackage and move half way into our trip with a baby and toddler, I am just so glad we didn't have to.

We loved our time there and we will definitely look at staying there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have stayed at The Royal Haciendas several times and truly enjoy our experience. The rooms are beautiful, the beach is calm and fantastic.....and the pool, need we say anymore. At 3 o'clock its pool time for happy hour. We are in the 1st Phase and the bartenders are wonderful!!!!! We choose not to be inclusive, just not our thing. But our Easter meal at Los Murales was wonderful, we had a party of 13 and reserve their private room for our guest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel was really nice, on the beach. We had a 2 bed 2 bath suite with an in room Jacuzzi. The resort beach was really clean, plenty of chairs, pools were huge and really fun. We had all inclusive package which I would recommend. The staff from the front desk to bell boy to the servers were really nice and helpful. The pool bar was our favorite. The other vacationers were really friendly as well. We played a few pool and beach volleyball games.

The food was above average at the hotel restaurants but we were not surprised by that. There were plenty of choices to pick from the buffet or you could also order of the menu. Some of the off the menu items had small surcharge but it was not bad at all. Loved the 24/7 room service availability, however some times not all items off the menu were available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Valley, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The check in is painful! If you need anything from the front desk or management your trip is over! No chance these people should be in the service business! Food average downtown scary! I never thought cancun would look like a five star area but it does now! DO NOT PURCHASE anything from onsite vendors! Crooks!

Room Tip: Ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator. at The Royal Haciendas, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking time to post about our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and we will improve those areas in which there are opportunities.

We hope to see you again soon during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a five night stay Royal Haciendas. Had a great time and would go back again. We went on an 'all inclusive' plan which included most everything except transfer to and from the Cancun airport, as well things you'd expect to pay extra for (spa, golf, etc). Anyway, I made a list of what I consider 'Hits' and 'Misses' regarding our stay.

HITS: Cleanliness - The place is immaculate! The grounds are gorgeous - I wish my yard looked half as nice. There are several pools including a huge pool with swim up bar.

Staff - the people who work here are very cheerful and friendly. This goes for the waiters, room attendants, desk clerks, bell captains, etc.

Food - The food was generally good and plentiful, though the hotel needs more variety in places to eat. We ate at the poolside restaurant, the large buffet, and the more formal, Los Murales.

Exercise Facility - Treadmills, free weights, exercise machines; equipment looked new and was well maintained. Staff was quick to wipe down equipment after it was used. Place is spotless.

MISSES - Royal Haciendas is part time-share, as well as an all inclusive. Owners of course want use of their villas when they're ownership week(s) are at hand. That being the case, we had to change rooms after first two nights. Not a big deal for us, but somewhat annoying having to repack, and relocate. New room exactly the same as first, same building in fact.

Entertainment/Things to Do - Not much to do after dinner. They had an outdoor 'Fire' show with dancers twirling fiery batons which I thought was quite good. A few nights later they had the 'Mayan' show, which again was supposed to be outdoors, but was moved inside because of rain threat. The show featuring costumed dancers was again good, but the loud drumming forced us (and many others) to leave before our ears started bleeding! Not really, but this kind of show needs to be held outdoors, or at least in a large auditorium.
Other nights we visited 'The Rotunda' - A nice bar off the lobby, serving sushi, or we watched TV, or sat on the deck.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Haciendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas

Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. Experience the elegance of Old Mexico and the sophistication of a resort with personalized service, swimming pools for kids and adults, restaurants, a spa and so much more. Play a Nick Price championship golf course nearby. Take a five-minute taxi ride to Playa del Carmen, the Caribbean's most cosmopolitan city. You can have it all - so close to your spacious, deluxe two-bedroom Master suite with all the services of a fine hotel. Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Haciendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Haciendas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.