We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room on quiet beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Haciendas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Haciendas to your Saves list
The Royal Haciendas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Special Price Tours!
Ranked #46 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful room on quiet beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We loved this hotel. Our room was a two-bedroom suite with a hot tub on the balcony. Room and furniture were beautiful We were in heaven. Hotel was very clean with friendly service. Kids loved the hammock area, and we all enjoyed the pool, and of course, the beach. The only downside is the distance to areas with lots of people. We took a taxi twice into Playa Del Carmen to sightsee and eat at different places. I wouldn't change it though because we felt like we had a great resort experience for a reasonable amount.

Room Tip: Two room suites with balcony hot tub is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    374
    129
    37
    25
See reviews for
700
519
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pearl River, Louisiana, United States
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Well, it was all good. There was no bad and surely no ugly. This is a beautiful and relaxing resort. As others have mentioned the resort is very quiet and peaceful. The hotel staff go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. We exchanged into the property and were required to add the all inclusive package for our stay. While there is only one fine dining restaurant on site and only one restaurant that serves breakfast there is enough menu options or you can partake of the theme buffets. We had room service a couple of times, the menu is limited but all was good. And my wife likes the room service option. Tips are included for the all inclusive, but we usually tipped extra while at the beach and the service was excellent. The Playa shopping area is a $14 cab ride if you can't get a reservation on the free shuttle. All in all a very relaxing vacation. If you need excitement, try something in Cancun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have been coming to the Haciendas since 2007, when we were invited by friends who are owners. We met some wonderful people and fell in love with the Haciendas and Playa so much that we have returned every year since, using points to exchange for this resort. We love the food and the staff and enjoy every moment of our time there. We also enjoy going into town each night and sampling the local cuisine.

With the addition of mandatory all-inclusive for non-members, the price of our vacation will increase by roughly $1000. We are extremely unhappy about this. We have our favorite restaurants in town, but now will be confined to the resort just so we can attempt to get our money's worth. It will be extremely difficult for us to spend the amount of money we will have to pay for all-inclusive, especially with all the items that are an "additional fee".

I'm sure you're thinking, why don't they just stay somewhere else. We love the Haciendas but more than that, we love the group of friends we've made while there. We vacation the same time each year so we can all spend the week together.

It shouldn't be this way. Things were fine the way they were. There are plenty of all-inclusive resorts in the area. Don't make me a prisoner of your resort and punish me because I own in another location. Offer all-inclusive as an option for those who know they only want to stay at the resort, but it shouldn't be mandatory.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you're looking for a beautiful and quiet resort, the Royal Haciendas could be just right for you.
While we have been members at the Royal Sands, its sister resort in Cancun, for 14 years, this was the first time we stayed at the Royal Haciendas. We were very satisfied with our stay. It is very laid back and about a10 minute shuttle or taxi ride into Playa del Carmen. The restaurants were very good with usual resort prices. It's a nice change of pace from Cancun.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have been an owner here since 2007, and I am always so impressed with the service and hospitality. The amenities are first rate and the grounds immaculate. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Royal Haciendas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We just returned from our trip of 5 nights(All- Inclusive) at this wonderful resort and with some of the reviews in regards to food and some towards service negative, we found it much better than we expected. While the breakfast buffet was lacking, as a tip to those considering this resort, try room service for breakfast prior to the last day(as we did regretfully) as the food ala carte was much better than the buffet. Lunch by the pool every day was fresh and delicious with Grouper and Shrimp tacos out of this world. Dinner at Las Mulapas was also nice and recommend splurging for steaks or Lobster. Our 2 bedroom was excellent as far as qualify furnishings with everything you need. Turndown service was nice. Great beach and pools. We regularly try All inclusives around Mexico and Central America for the last 20+ years and find this resort near the top of our enjoyable experiences and believe you will too. It's relatively quiet and lush landscaping with good location to Playa and activities. The only negatives were Wifi reception was poor and regular drop-offs as there is interference from other Wifi options. Also, with this being a Timeshare resort, we were never told we would have to change rooms in the middle of our trip until we checked in(Time Shares go Saturday to Saturday). While it was not a big deal initially, we were disgusted when we received our call and bellhop moved us to a dirty/filthy room which delayed our move. Even with this experience, we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: We chose the 2 bedroom option which is basically a 1 bedroom condo suite with living area and kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort myers, fl
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Another great vacation at the Royal Hacienda! Been an owner since they were built several years ago & now own 2 weeks together in the same unit. Luxury!! The staff is great, housekeeping wonderful (always clean & Maria Delores was the best!), food good, pool bar friendly. Just finished a 3 weeks vacation there & can't wait till next year!

Room Tip: We have a room in the 'H' building which is very near the beach & the pool. Best locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Haciendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas

Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. Experience the elegance of Old Mexico and the sophistication of a resort with personalized service, swimming pools for kids and adults, restaurants, a spa and so much more. Play a Nick Price championship golf course nearby. Take a five-minute taxi ride to Playa del Carmen, the Caribbean's most cosmopolitan city. You can have it all - so close to your spacious, deluxe two-bedroom Master suite with all the services of a fine hotel. Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Haciendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Haciendas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.