We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best timeshare we ever stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Haciendas All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Haciendas All Inclusive to your Saves list
The Royal Haciendas All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring Special Sale!
Ranked #44 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
East Lyme, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best timeshare we ever stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This Royal Resorts timeshare must rank among the best in the world. Facility and accommodations are extraordinary. Food and service in the four restaurants are outstanding, one of which is among the finest restaurants on the Mayan Riviera. Two large heated pools, two giant hot tubs, and two lap pools acommodate all your swimming needs. if you like golf, the beautiful Coral Nick Price course is just minutes from the RH resort and they pick you up in a golf cart upon request. Lovely beach is wide, clean, and gentle. Tennis facility is very nice. Golf and tennis equipment is all free. Adult and kids' activities are plentiful and fun. Outstanding, well equiped gym is readily available. And the exciting city of Play del Carmen is minutes away. Can't say enough about the RH! It makes you realize what a great value a top notch timeshare can be.
Capt Thorne

Room Tip: Ask for a villa halfway between the main lobby and the Palapa restaurant in the center of the resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    424
    140
    37
    31
See reviews for
782
564
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cancun
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Exceptional friendly and upscale resort. Beach and pools are terrific. All restaurants exceptional. If you are on an all exclusive not enough choices but who cares? Downtown Playa is a foodies heaven.Lobby Bar is a secret , buy one get one all drinks not just frozen mexican variety.Shots and Vodka included.Units are beautifully done. Its 5 O'clock Right Here.

Room Tip: Well obviously as close to beach as you can. Last floor up is penthouse floor so have vaulted ceili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our family of nine, ages 9 - 76, had a wonderful week at the Royal Haciendas. There was plenty to do and lots of time to just relax. The fitness classes at the resort are fun and enjoyable. They are taught at a skill level for anyone. The resort has beach towels, snorkel equipment, some sporting equipment and kayaks that are available to check out. We bought gym and spa passes that were $38 for 8 punches. A punch was per day. At the spa I went to the sauna, steam room, jacuzzi every afternoon as part of the pass. The staff was wonderful and the mint drops in the sauna room was fantastic.

Our room was very nice. They had salt & pepper and dishwasher detergent. We went into town to buy groceries. The hotel shuttle provided transportation. If you do this, take large rolling suitcases to carry your purchases. The shuttle stop is several blocks from the store. Having said that, the resort store prices were very reasonable for bottled water, frozen chicken, beer and other things. The downtown store had better prices on fruit and veggies but some were very heavy to carry back to the shuttle.

I read other reviews that said the internet connection was awful so they paid for the high speed. We did not pay and had not problem connecting, checking emails and other sites. Now we didn't connect often, this was a vacation, but when we did it was fine. Our room faced the ocean, maybe that helped.

All in all, a wonderful time for all of us. It's a relatively quiet resort and by 1030pm it's very quiet. One down side were the sand machines that ran at 530 every morning. Would have preferred quiet or just the sound of the ocean. Would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind words about our resort.

We develop our resorts always keeping family in mind and It's very rewarding to learn you enjoyed the amenities at the resort. In fact we are considering go take some fitness classes too as they're so appreciated by our customers. Cleaning the beach is an important activity that insures you can enjoy it everyday. We understand your point of view and will make sure to address this to the appropriate channel so that our service may improve.

We will be happy to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very Nice hotel resort, food was awesome, quiet place, friendly staff, ... the AI is not worth it, if you can avoid it, avoid it. They don't have enough restaurant, even if the buffet is impressive and top noch quality, it would help to have a few more restaurant because the resort is far from Playa Del Carmen (you need a TAXI, or a rent-a-car) but for evrything else, it was really nice. The pool was awesome, the beach was awesome (even if it was windy). The 5th Avenue is a must for anybody, and it is only 10 to 15 minutes away with the shuttle or taxi.

Room Tip: Don't take the AI
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your comments and will make sure this are reviewed by the appropriated channels so that our service may improve. Nevertheless, we always strive to provide the best service available and sincerely hope you enjoyed your vacation at Riviera Maya.

We are already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, IL
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Four of us stayed in a unit at the Royal Haciendas in April 2012. It was extremely roomy, with two full bedrooms, two balconies, a large full kitchen, dining and sitting areas. The main restaurant serves a different buffet style each night, so after traveling to Playa del Carmen the first night, we ended up eating at the hotel every other. Because of the large kitchen and the great grocery store within the hotel, we cooked most breakfasts in the room. The pools are beautiful and heated, which is a big deal in the cooler winter months. There are lots of activities and we enjoy fun spanish and dance classes. Very relaxing atmosphere, beautiful beaches and pools. The service is exceptional. Most service providers speak very good english.

Room Tip: Every location is good. The smaller lock out side is a very large hotel room, including large bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our resort.

Is very important for us to receive feedback from our customers and of course we appreciate your kind words. We're glad to learn our resort's villa fulfilled your needs and that you enjoyed activities offered in site.

Every member of our staff is able to opt for educational programs to speak better english. It is very important for us that our guests can communicate with anyone of us if needed. We're glad you noticed it.

We are already looking forward to welcome you during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minier, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Yes, I am an owner. The reason I chose to buy here is the close proximity to Playa del Carmen, yet the isolation on the beach and the weather. It's a healthy walk to the next hotels and into town. Plenty of activities for the family - Yoga, AquaAerobics, Snorkeling, Jogging, Games, Pool and Beach Volleyball. Equipment for golf and water sports available. Excellent dive shop on premises. The restaurants are very good with good variety-elegant, buffet, a la carte, and pool bar/grill. A reasonably priced grocery store is off the lobby. A beautiful environment with mosiac pools, landscaping and water features, infinity pools and a white shell beach - wide and well-maintained and a friendly well-trained staff. I find this resort is safe and user-friendly. Yes, the view of the sea from the upper floors is spectacular, Cozumel lies on the surface of the sea, while the young landscaping screens some of the lower villas' view, but that will change in a few years with the growth of the trees. The wi-fi will improve as demand increases. This management group is pretty responsive to guests requests. A lovely respite from the winter of Central Illinois. Take the Back of the House tour. It's phenominal how this resort is run.

Room Tip: Villas facing the south have full sun all day. North facing villas have sun on the terrace early in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your kind words which we find very rewarding. It is very important for us to receive our customer's feedback and we will make sure your comments are reviewed by the appropriate channel so we can improve our services. We're glad to learn you enjoyed back of the house tour, is our way to offer a different approach to the Royal Experience for both our hosts and guests.

We are already waiting to welcome you at your home away from home.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My parents are timeshare owners and we've been going down there for the last 4 years. Everyone is so friendly and the resort is beautiful! The beaches are kept immaculately clean and couldn't be more gorgeous. I love that I can take my time getting to the beach in the morning b/c I can almost always find a lounger and a palapa for some shade. They aren't all taken by 7am by folks who won't even occupy them for hours and hours. The water is a gorgeous blue and turquoise.

I will say there are a few drawbacks: the gym is not free (but, well, let's be honest, I wouldn't use it anyways), the wifi is beyond slow - but free! and you can upgrade and pay for faster service (which we did not do), and the food - to be honest, it isn't the best - but it isn't bad either! Also, it would be great if there were more shuttles to the town - but again, it's only a $10 cab ride so not really a big deal. One last little nit picky - all of our pillows were rather lumpy.

The last thing I'll say is that I'm disappointed RR is no longer associated with Interval as I think RCI has terrible options for trading - but again, we never trade so I'm not sure that will be a big deal either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your honest words. Is very important for us to receive feedback from our customers as we are convinced that listening to you will lead us improving our service and achieve the maximum satisfaction levels. We'll make sure this comments are reviewed by the appropriate channels while we continue to work in search of excellence.

We will be honored to welcome you again next year here at your home away from home.

Warm Regards

Cristóbal Galindo.
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Inclusive

Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Inclusive Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Haciendas All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.