We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Haciendas

Save Saved
You added The Royal Haciendas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #35 of 198 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our room was spacious and plenty big enough for the two of us. Lots of closet/dresser/drawer space. The kitchen sink, coffee maker and toaster were just right for preparing quick breakfasts. There's an onsite store at the resort where we purchased coffee, soy milk, cereal and bagels. Our room was kept spotless by our awesome maid. We had a gorgeous view of the resort and the ocean from our balcony. Every staff member who we encountered was courteous and efficient. What a great place to stay! We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your kind words and we're happy to learn you found your expectations to be fulfilled.

We're already looking forward to welcome you again.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    853
    291
    94
    24
    19
See reviews for
549
425
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keystone Heights, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Back in 2005 we visited the area while bulldozers were running around and bought a week "per construction." We keep wanting to be here more. Tranquil, good for your health, close to many great-rated dining experiences (as well as living at the highest-rated restaurant in Playa--Los Murales) makes this a delight. When we arrived in 2012 my husband woke up the next day to a horrible toothache. Found a four star dentist in Playa thanks to the Concierge and was able to finish the vacation after a root canal ! When I read criticisms that include a mention about rude staff I keep thinking they must not be at the same place. The SPA staff is most competent. I can't remember all the names but Efrin in dining and Laura in housekeeping are beyond excellent. Last year Justin was a Concierge/assistant sales person (although he may have been promoted by now) who can help you organize anything. Christian Amaya is our contact--can you give 10 stars??

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We're glad to read your kind words about the service and facilities and we're very happy to read you had received such a nice service from staff.

We're already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The resort was terrific but I was disappointed that it has become mandatory for non-owners to pay for the all inclusive package. We own a Marriott timeshare which we traded for a week at The Royal Haciendas. Usually I am a Marriott snob but I was pleasently surprised at how nice The Royal Haciendas was. We made our trade well in advance of the mandatory all inclusive fees so we did not have to pay it this time. We were told if we trade back again we would have to pay approximately $210 per day for the two of us. That's to bad because we will not go back because of that. First we don't eat or drink $210 per day. We went into town a couple times and another day we were on a tour all day. By 4pm the pool bar got a little crazy loud and when you start seeing people that can barely walk, it takes away from the atmosphere. I hope they reconsider and do away with the all inclusive. If that were the case, we'd go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We were on the lower level. Hard to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We value your comments and rest assured we'll address them to the appropriate channel so that our service may be improved. Nevertheless, we're happy to learn you had an overall good time during your stay.

We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Warm Regards

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Haciendas Resort mid-December 2012. The resort was very nice and the staff was always very friendly and willing to help however they can. The beach was beautiful and the rooms were quite comfortable.
We stayed in one of th Junior Suites, as a guest with someone who had a timeshare there. We did not have an all-inclusive pass and had to pay for our own food and drinks. The alcoholic drinks, for the most part, were pretty expensive. The breakfast buffet was very good and somewhat reasonable priced. We got groceries in Playa and/or at the resort grocery store and cooked our own lunch/dinner meals in the kitchen of our room, which saved us quite a bit of money.
The pools and resort grounds were beautiful and well-kept. They have a tennis court, a golf course right across the road, and many daily activities to keep the non-beach bum busy and having fun.
The WiFi was quite slow and spotty to come by, but I really didn't want to be plugged in the entire trip anyway...
We had a great time here and would definitely like to go back someday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to review our resort.

We are always listening our customer's feedback and will find ways to improve and give you the service you deserve.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great pools with lots of chairs; hammocks everywhere to relax in. Nicely appointed rooms with lots of space. Friendly staff.

Small grocery store on site with basics - we typically only eat breakfast in the rooms and it was more than sufficient. Food at the pool good for lunches. Playa del Carmen is only 5 minutes away with many great restaurants for dinner.

Location is central - about 30 minutes if you want to go to Cancun and about 45 minutes to Tulum.

Beach on one side got a lot of seaweed each afternoon and the staff would rake it up and bury it each day. Beach chairs on the other side get taken pretty quickly to avoid the seaweed, although the facility claims they do not allow people to drop towels off to "reserve" the chairs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time to post about resort.

Our resorts have a policy that asks members and guests not to leave towels on beach chairs they are not using. Thank you for reporting this, we will continue to enforce this policy.

We are looking forward to welcom you again in your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards

Cristóbal Galindo
Comunity Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Were we surprised when we went to check in and found out they didn't tell us about the "All Inclusive" charge of $105 per person per day. It really made the start of our vacation on bad footing. Thank goodness my husband didn't listen to me when I told him to leave his credit card at home. Felt like we were tied to the Resort instead of touring. Drank too much, ate to much. Didn't feel like we got our money's worth, since netiher one of us are drinkers or like to stuff ourselves at every meal. The service was great, maids were wonderful .Just be AWARE! montana

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Laurel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Back from 2 weeks of my 5th annual vacation to the Royal Haciendas. It's been a slow decline from the exemplary service of previous years. The biggest problem is the poor internet service which is posted as "free". If you want to try to read your emails it is free (and painfully slow). Otherwise it is $79 per device per week! So if my villa has 6 guests, all with at least 1 device (cell phone, iPad, laptop, etc) we will ALL be paying for better connectivity. As an owner I find this deplorable. We are in the 21st century. Starbucks and Panera have free hi-speed internet...can't this resort? In addition, service at all of the restaurants was lethargic. The wait-staff remains the same and they are lovely, but there appears to be a decrease in the number of staff. I shouldn't have to wait 20 minutes to just get a menu at the poolside restaurant. This was followed by a 40 minute wait to get a Ceaser salad. We killed an hour at this restaurant when we thought we'd be having a quick lunch then back to the pool. The quality of the food remains above average except for Los Morelos, but the service has lost it's elegance. Many features of previous years (table side food prep) have been eliminated since becoming an "all-inclusive" as well. Watch out for the hot-tubs which now double as kiddie-pools despite adult-only signage. The rooms are looking tired with nicks and scratches and peeling paint. The resort needs to decide if it's going to be a time-share or an all-inclusive...it's unknown identity has removed it's character and charm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Haciendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas

Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and comfortable, the tastefully decorated and fully furnished two-bedroom, two-bathroom villas sleep up to six people and offer 1,613.07 square feet of living space for you and your family (Flexivilla 1,332.46 ft2 and Terrace & Balcony 280.61 ft2). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Royal Haciendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Haciendas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.