We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, laid back resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Haciendas

Save Saved
You added The Royal Haciendas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Lakewood, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very clean, laid back resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I traded a time share to stay here for our anniversary during the week of 11/10-17/2012. We opted for the all inclusive package, which costs US $105/person/day for non-member time share people, and US $95/person/day for members. The all inclusive could use better explaining; we didn't receive much instruction at check in and found out later how to read the menus (everything, it turns out, is included, except for menu items with a notation of "surcharge" on them, or premium drinks, like a bottle of wine). The surcharges are minimal (i.e. US $9 for a steak, but our bottle of 2010 Napa Cab Sav was US $65).

The resort is super clean! All of the indoor and outdoor spaces are incredibly maintained.

Even though they were about 90% full, you never really saw many people around. There are plenty of chairs on the beach and around the pool areas. We never had trouble finding a spot to lounge in the sun.

There are only 2 restaurants on site; both of which are very good. The beach restaurant serves a different buffet every night, and also has a standard menu to select from. Also, the steak restaurant was very good. They require reservations, but were never even close to being full. You can also get lunch by the pool, which serves basics like chicken finger, fajitas, tacos, etc.

We got massages at the spa on our last day, and they were AMAZING! Sheer perfection!!

There is a travel agency on site, which is very helpful. We went on the Chitzen Itza tour, and were happy to go, but after picking up people at other hotels and the long ride there and back, our day was 14 hours long. Try to go on a private tour if you get a chance...this one isn't worth all that time.

One of the days we went into town for some shopping on 5th Avenue.That name could not possibly be more deceptive. The cab ride into town was US $12. The people were super aggressive and we did not feel safe there at all.

Pros:
Very clean, well maintained resort - microwave & fridge in every room
All inclusive option
On site market, which is well stocked with everything. Very much like a scaled down Walgreens
Decent service
Order a banana monkey - amazing frozen drink!!! yummy!
Wirless service throughout the resort, and even on the beach!
Balcony on our room - very relaxing

Cons:
Small beds...less than a queen size
Not very lively...could just be the week we went
Nothing outside the resort - town was awful and you can't walk to anything even if you wanted to

P.S. See my review of Cancun Valet for info on how to get to the resort from the airport

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    345
    120
    29
    22
See reviews for
646
481
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just got back from Royal Hacienda yesterday. Beautiful beaches and a pretty property. That's just about where the good part ends.
As non-members, we had to subscribe to the all inclusive package, which is about US$105 per person per night - that is very expensive, especially if you aren't a big eater/drinker. It certainly wasn't worth it for my husband and me.
On Wednesday (half way through the trip), we ordered room service (chicken roast, salad, veggies - no alcohol). The quality of room service is below average on a good day. That night - it gave me severe food poisoning. I was sick all night, the next day, the next evening - to the point that we had to call the doctor. She gave me a shot and medication, which I am still on. She was very kind and helpful and I am grateful for her help. The staff was kind too, and tried to help my husband food I could keep down - just to be strong enough to travel home to California. The management, on the other hand, is a disgrace. They weren't really interested in knowing about my conditions or the circumstances in which it happened, which they have a record of because of the all-inclusive 'prison system'. All they kept doing was refusing to admit that it could possibly be their fault - The irony is that we weren't trying to blame or look for compensation - all we wanted was an assurance that they will pay the doctor, and look into food safety better. But, our verbal and written communication has fallen on deaf ears. To add insult to injury, one front desk staff even made a crack about beer rather than have any consideration for us, who were guests in their hotel and their country.
So, go to Playa del Carmen - it's a beautiful place in a wonderful country. But, please reconsider booking with Royal Hacienda.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Operations Manager at The Royal Haciendas, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Management Response from The Royal Haciendas Operations Manager:

Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for visiting the Royal Haciendas and taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback relating to the areas in which you feel that there is room for improvement.

We are very sorry that you were sick during your vacation and that the response you received from certain members of staff was less than sympathetic, given the difficult circumstances you mentioned. Please accept our deepest apologies for their comments and any miscommunication that ensued. At The Royal Haciendas, the satisfaction of our guests is our utmost concern and we strive to provide memorable experiences for all of them. I’m sorry to hear that your vacation experience did not live up to your expectations.

I received your comments card and have been trying to reach you on the number you kindly provided in order to talk to you personally, but to date I have been unsuccessful. We are working with reception staff to improve customer care and attention and prevent similar situations from happening in the future.

It is important for guests to be aware that many things, including food, weather and laws are different when they visit a foreign country and may affect them in unforeseen ways. For example, vacation stomach upsets may be triggered by a variety of factors that a person’s body may not be accustomed to, such as heat and humidity, over-exposure to the sun, water, different foods and drinks, etc. However, sympathy and the highest quality of care from staff should be expected at all times, with no exceptions and we are sorry that this did not occur in your case.

In your letter you cited the doctor and other staff members who did provide you with warm and compassionate service. We have shared your valuable feedback with them.

We would like to point out that our restaurant kitchens operate to the highest standards of food storage, preparation and hygiene and were recently awarded the Distintivo H from the Mexican Tourism Board and Mexican Ministry of Health. The Distintivo H takes into account the principals of the HACCP (Hazard Analysis Control Critical Points) system used in the United States restaurant sector to prevent food-transmitted illnesses.

We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future,

Kind regards,
Sandra Aguilar
Operations Manager
The Royal Haciendas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We are a member of this time share, but you can also rent here and enjoy an all inclusive style of pampering. The property is very well maintained and really pretty. There is tile work throughout the property that is exquisite. The beach is wide, clean and private. Swimming in the ocean is good because of the reef and Cozumel that blocks the waves most of the time. Snorkeling is pretty good right from the beach and equipment is free from the sports desk. They have a kayak to borrow also. There are 2 quality restaurants on property, one more fancy (business casual required) and the other on the beach and open air has buffets or menu service. The room service is also a great choice, quick and quality food choices. There are many things to do in the area and the travel desk will help you with information and tours which are convenient and a good value. It is $14.00 US dollars round trip to get to Playa del Carmen which has many restaurants and shops so you probably won't be going here often to eat. There is a free shuttle with limited times if you want to go for a visit. The rooms are large, really large and the kitchen is fully equipped so we usually go to the small market on property and eat some of our meals in the room. The spa is very nice and has various choices. Other than how beautiful this place is, the best aspect is the friendly and accommodating staff. They mostly know English and you really don't need Spanish when visiting here.

Room Tip: Most rooms have some view of the ocean. Upgrade to ocean front if you can afford if.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great place! Very relaxing and extremely friendly staff. The rooms were very clean with new appliances. Made for a very comfortable stay. Enjoyed the hot tub on the balcony. Over all was very great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This November made my 4th visit to Royal Haciendas and I have consistently found well-maintained rooms, beautiful facilities, great food at a reasonable price, and a staff that is helpful and friendly. The hotel is a 10 minute cab ride from the hustle and bustle of Playa Del Carmen and although they offer a shuttle service, it is not a simple process. This was not a problem for us, but needs to be considered. Wifi is sketchy, but since I go to Mexico to get away from 'connectiveness', I don't mind. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had a great week here and looking forward to returning next year.
Food was excellent, prices very reasonable and all staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
The spa experience was wonderful and we enjoyed the round of golf at the beautiful Grand Coral course right across the street from the resort.
The suites have all you could ask for and more. They are immaculately clean and well maintained.
All 6 of us returned home relaxed and very happy with the entire experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers Point, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was an excellent facility. The service and restaurants were very good. Nice location in that it was very close to town with free shuttles available. Also their is a very nice beach. The near-by golf course was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Haciendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas

Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. Experience the elegance of Old Mexico and the sophistication of a resort with personalized service, swimming pools for kids and adults, restaurants, a spa and so much more. Play a Nick Price championship golf course nearby. Take a five-minute taxi ride to Playa del Carmen, the Caribbean's most cosmopolitan city. You can have it all - so close to your spacious, deluxe two-bedroom Master suite with all the services of a fine hotel. Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Royal Haciendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Haciendas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.