We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Haciendas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Haciendas to your Saves list
The Royal Haciendas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Special Price Tours!
Ranked #46 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Arvada, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Do it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were completely floored when we first saw the resort and again when we saw our suite. This place is amazing and you can't go wrong if you stay there. All of the staff was awesome, the whole place was always clean and is a great place to relax.

I guess my only complaint about this resort is its isolation. A taxi or shuttle is needed to get to Playa Del Carmen but in a way it is a good thing because the place is quiet.

We went deep-sea fishing and brought some of our catch back to the resort. One of the restaurants on-site (Lapalapa) was more than happy to prepare some meals at a very reasonable charge. Excellent meals I must say!

We went snorkeling just off the beach several times...wish we had done it more.

Can't say enough good things about this resort. You can't go wrong staying there.

Room Tip: I believe all of the rooms are good and all have great ocean view but the ocean front rooms are prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    374
    129
    37
    25
See reviews for
700
519
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

It has been another great week at The Royal Haciendas, despite a few showers and even a small storm one night, it was perfect with plenty of sunshine. Staff was friendly and attentive. Explor is a must do tour. Only area to improve are prices of food and drinks, quality is good though. View from the villa was spectacular, and phase 2 has nicer pool areas.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The resort was very clean. The staff was extremely friendly. The grounds are gorgeous. The beach is very enjoyable. Our concierge, Sophia, was extremely helpful, informative and very attentive. Our maid Latissia was excellent.

Room Tip: B210 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The people are gracious hosts here at the Royal Haciendas in Playa del Carmen; they do their best to make everything enjoyable.

Our maid, Delia, was simply amazing. Every day she left a different towel sculpture in our bathroom. One day she created a towel basket containing fresh flowers and the next day she morphed it into two swans carrying a different kind of flowers. She made fans out of the dish towels and always did little fancy things with the toilet tissue. It was fun to come back to the villa to see what awaited us.

We have been members of the Royal Resorts since 2000 and I have never seen the down side. We own a beachfront villa at the Royal Sands and a beachfront villa at the Royal Haciendas.

This year we added a week at the beginning of our regular week so that we were here for two weeks. This first week, therefore, we were in the G Building overlooking the gardens and the kiddie pool. It was quiet and relaxing.

The rooms at the Royal Haciendas are very elegant and the furniture is comfortable on the balconies as well as in the villa. I especially like the hot tub on the balcony. I have used it three times this week and enjoyed privacy and serenity each time.

The kitchen is very well equipped. The vegetables and fruits in the grocery store in the resort were fresh and reasonably priced. It is a short hop to the Walmart or the Mega in Playa del Carmen for specialty foods. I even prepared Huachinango in my villa.

The staff in general is super polite and well trained.

If you come, please take the "Back of the House Tour" where the Guest Relations Manager, Jorge Lopez, personally takes you through the laundry area, the Reverse Osmosis System plant, the employee classroom areas and the other parts of the underground system supporting the hotel. It is an amazing tour. You could eat off the floor -- it is so clean.

This place is run like a military operation, with the exception that everyone is here to make sure we have fun and enjoy our vacation.

Our concierge has told us where the best places are to explore around the area. However, we just like walking on the beach. By the way, the beach has been improved. They seem to have brought in a lot of extra sand and covered up a lot of the rocks that I remember being there before. The water seems cleaner too than I remember it.

The WiFi internet access has been very speedy and reliable. We did not experience any trouble anywhere in our villa. We could work from our laptops at the desks in the bedrooms or on the balcony -- it worked well anywhere.

Room Tip: The top floors in every building are all deluxe villas with larger master bathrooms, larger master b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Through my timeshare exchange program, I was able to book a week at The Royal Haciendas in Playa del Carmen. I never expect anything from exchanges and yet again, I was pleasantly surprised. Everyone is genuinely nice; this is a lot to be said when customer service is nearly dead in NYC. Our personal concierge, Estella, is a sweet lady. She respected our time and privacy and in return, we attended an informational session on timeshares at The Royal. Again, our time was respected so we were there for 30 minutes tops (record!). There was no curtness or rudeness when we declined to buy, just a request to tell friends and family about The Royal.

Here's a summary of our week:

PRO's
- Great hospitality.
- Excellent amenities. No extra charges for rental of kayaks, snorkeling gear, golf clubs, tennis racquets and courts.
- Never crowded at the pool or beach.
- Quiet.
- CLEAN. Everywhere you go was spotless. We actually saw groundskeepers raking seaweed along the beach.
- Grocery store on site which was reasonably priced.

CON's
- Gym use comes with daily charge, unless you book a treatment at the spa.
The free activities made up for it though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We own 2 weeks at this resort and have done so since before it was built. We love everything about this place except the very slick outdoor tiles!! This year we again watched several people slip and fall, some get hurt and I'm sure that it ruins their vacations. Everyone in my family has fallen at least once, luckily none of us has had a major injury yet. I did lose a toenail this year, and that sucked, but luckily I was still able to scuba dive after a couple days. I just want people to be aware that when the floor is damp it is like ice! Please fix this, sand the floors, spray something on them, this obviously isn't going to fix itself. We also own at the Sands and slick floors have never been an issue there. My wife and I are only in our mid 30's, we worry about our parents and ourselves if this doesn't get addressed. If you are a Diver you won't go wrong with Dive Balam, best in the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great resort, staff and beaches! This is a great place to get away and have a great time. I have been staying at the Royal Haciendas for five year and have never been disappointed. The level of service and quality is Close to down town Playa Del Carmen and everyone is so very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Haciendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas

Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. Experience the elegance of Old Mexico and the sophistication of a resort with personalized service, swimming pools for kids and adults, restaurants, a spa and so much more. Play a Nick Price championship golf course nearby. Take a five-minute taxi ride to Playa del Carmen, the Caribbean's most cosmopolitan city. You can have it all - so close to your spacious, deluxe two-bedroom Master suite with all the services of a fine hotel. Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Haciendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Haciendas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.