We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely be going back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BlueBay Grand Esmeralda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BlueBay Grand Esmeralda to your Saves list
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Chetumal- Puerto Juarez km 300 | Camino a la Pileta, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #123 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Sherwood Park, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Will definitely be going back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This resort was beautiful, extra special, and exceeded our expectations! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The resort grounds were breathtaking, situated on rescued mangrove , you were right smack dab in the middle of nature!the walks around the resort were so beautiful, and if you didn't feel like walking there were always little golf cart shuttles making their rounds. There were friendly and cute little animals wondering around (blue crabs, iguana, ramonkey ( this is the name we gave them because it looked like a cross between a monkey and a raccoon) we tried out each of the a la carte restaurants , each one was amazing! My favourites were the sushi and the Mexican themed ones. Breakfast had endless selection, buffets were delicious. The pools were awesome , very relaxing, there were beach games and pool side activities that you could participate in. I won a blue bay shirt!!! Another ice thing was that we didn't have to wear wristbands like a lot of other resorts. There is a really cool bar right on the Beach that you sit on hanging swings all around the bar, that was a lot of fun!! Just don't order a shot of tequila and a beer at the same time or else you get a drop shot and that combo will do anyone in!!!! We took an afternoon trip to Los morales ( approx 15 mins away) to do some snorkelling , this was my first time. We had a blast. We saw sharks and sea turtles, even a baby octopus!! We had also heard that in the same town, there is the most amazing ice cream shop but weren't able to make it there :( next time I guess. Final revue best resort my husband and I have been to! We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If you want excellent drink service by the pool tip your servers! We loaded up on a bunch of u.s $1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,647
    1,968
    1,011
    522
    423
See reviews for
1,356
2,692
79
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a swim up balcony, I would enjoy that anytime I went, it was well worth the upgrade to have a private swimming area anytime 24/7. I did book an ocean front with the swim-up but never got my ocean view due to the mangroves. I fought for some money back and didn't get the full amount the upgrade cost me. Live and learn. I loved eating breakfast outside at one of a handful of tables overlooking the beach. The food was good for buffet style. We were close enough to 5th Ave to take a cab and visit a couple of times to enjoy a meal out or just shop. The sailing was wonderful and there was no problem getting a boat. (not the case many places we've been) Things were spread out but there was always a jitney available.

Room Tip: Don't pay for ocean front with swim up unless you're sure you're going to get it. I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strasbourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This truely is a beautiful resort, lots of wildlife great food however sometimes had trouble booking at some of the restaraunts.. I think they only make room for a certain number every nite as there was always empty tables. yes there is always complaints about the long walks to restaraunts and sometimes had to wait for trams. The beach isn't the prettiest but not their fault but a short walk to the left of the beach to the "Lagoon" is absolutly breathtaking . The most dissapointing thing for us was the entertainmen t[or lack of] We went to the sports bar for the eve and were very dissapointed.. no music etc for this reason I would not return. The time share people were annoying but eventually left us alone. rooms were always clean staff friendly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Wow! We are ardent travellers - abroad generally 4 times per year. We are always looking for something a little bit different - this certainly was. The hotel complex was fantastic, we were a flight of steps away from the beach. The idea of having accommodation split into different blocks is excellent as the noise level is kept to a minimum. The site was immaculately clean, staff washing walkways and walls every morning, tractor clearing the beach, pool attendant ensuring all pools were free from leaves and debris and room staff provided everything we needed and more - the towel sculptures were amazing!
The plethora of food at mealtimes was almost too much!!! We had to try a little of something different every day. Our evening meals were a selection of foods from around the world - including Mexican (of course), French Quisine, Oriental, Italian and my favourite the seafood restaurant. Booking a day in advance is no hardship - what else did you have to do? You have the rest of the day to relax!
The staff were polite, well mannered and couldn't have been of more help. We have never felt so welcomed to a place - and believe me we've been to quite a few!
It was lovely to see that the wldlife and vegetation were of prime importance.
Time share sellers? We were never approached and if a grown adult is unable to say no well then 'bigger fool you' money isn't everything!!!
We will be back!

Room Tip: Ocean View room ensured we were a flight of steps away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The service was still good, but there were cut backs!! From toilet paper to lotion and soap, shampoo (they stink) The wine was much cheaper then last year, also the food quality was not good.
That is why we give the resprt only 3 stars, they have to try harder to come back to a even 4 star resort. Many people told us they will not be back!
The best bartender was Roga, the name is shortened, than Jonathan
At the vip beach Francisco and Erick were wonderful.
Best waiter in the morning and lunch was Jorge, than Jose.
The very best was ANGEL!!!
Hope next year is better again like it was in the past years.

Room Tip: Building 5 ocean view!! But not the ground floor too many animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is just OK. Do not stay here if you use a wheelchair or have babies in strollers. Everything is a long walk away and if you use a wheelchair or a stroller you can't get on the golf cart type transportation. It is Ok if you do not like swimming in the beach because it is not the best beach in the area. The beach is good for sun bathing only.
The lobby floor was a little bit chipped and looked like it needed repair. The bathroom by the pool was missing a toilet seat.
I personally do not like to be offered time-shares at my hotel. They try to get you to attend a "complimentary breakfast and tour". You can decline but I would rather do not be bothered.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I've only just got back today but felt i had to write a review now because before coming here i read the bad reviews and was a bit put off. Don't believe them! There ridiculous and petty because i had an excellent stay and would go back in a heartbeat!

The only thing i would say they could do better is the entertainment in the sports bar. It was abit boring at night time so some nights ended up going back to our rooms. Other than that it was an excellent holiday. Also if you are looking to go on excursions i would bring quite alot of money as they range from about $70-$200 each depending on what you want to do. I would recommend the catamaran trip. It was amazing and one of the cheaper excursions.

Theres a swing bar next to the beach which was nice and was open till 1am. So if the sports bar is too boring i would go there. However, on the last night we found out about the beach parties they have in the vip area bar. Everyone can go here from 11-1am. I prefered this bar as it played music and the swing bar did not.

The food was great and there is always something there for everyone. It changes everyday so you won't get bored of it. The restaurants were good but because we wen't during low season they wernt all open all of the time. There was only ever 3 open in one day rather than all 6. We ate breakfast and dinner at jaal-ha and our teas at festival.

The rooms were great and also the showers in the bathrooms were good. Everyday we got towel art regardless wether we gave a tip or not to the maids. Also, there is a mini bar with 4 beers, waters, coke, fanta, etc.. You dont get charged for this. Don't worry!'

The beach is not to clever. Its sometimes looks dirty but on other days looks clear. This is because of a hurricane they had apprently and it ripped the beach up. Now they have had to put sandbags there to try and stop the beach from completley disappearing. If you want to go to a beach with crystal clear waters then i would go into playa del carmen. If you walk straight down 5th avenue its there. To get ther you have to get a taxi and it's 200 pesos each way.

The best part of the resort i would say is the staff. They are so welcoming and friendly and will do anything for you wether you give a tip or not. So people who are putting that they are rude in there reviews then you are crazy!

I would deffinatley recommend coming here in low season as its not crazy hot so you can sit in the sun and you can get the same sunbed everyday. Also, its not busy at lunch, dinner and tea in the buffets, which i liked.

Hope this review helps!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BlueBay Grand Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Grand Esmeralda

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal- Puerto Juarez km 300 | Camino a la Pileta, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#82 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Grand Esmeralda 4*
Number of rooms: 979
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in an area of 445 acres in a prime position on the beach on the Riviera Maya, BlueBay Grand Esmeralda combines elegant Mayan features with contemporary design and a wide range of service to suit the most discerning traveller. BlueBay Grand Esmeralda provides a relaxed atmosphere for holiday makers. The Hotel features 979 elegant and well-appointed rooms and suites with the option of a sea or garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., T4B, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BlueBay Grand Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Esmeralda
Bluebay Grand Esmeralda Hotel
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Mayan Riviera
Grand Esmeralda
Blue Bay Grand Esmerelda
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Resort
Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda Beach Resort Spa
Blue Bay Esmerelda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlueBay Grand Esmeralda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.