We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling Like A Golf Pro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club

El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club
Carretera Federal Cancun- Playa del Carmen Km.298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
52 984 206 4650
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses
Attraction Details
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Feeling Like A Golf Pro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Every Golfer needs to play this course at least 2 times when they visit.... though I am not a "Scratch Golfer" yet and have only played for 3 1/2 years I felt as though I could learn a lot from playing on a course of this stature. From what I was informed, the PGA has taken over the management of the course in light of an event to be played here in November of 2013.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    28
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Golf course was in amazing shape!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very well maintained & groomed. Greens ran true & the scenary was amazing. By far the best restaurant for value & freshness within the grounds.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast , Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“World Class Golf Course !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I travelled from Northern Ireland to stay at Mayakoba in May 2013. Our rounds of golf on the El Camaleon course were the highlight of our holiday.
Gregg Lown runs a 5 star operation at this 'PGA Tournament' venue.
The staff work really hard from the moment you arrive to make your golf experience first class.
Golf clubs and shoes were cleaned every evening and ready for us the next morning.
The best course management of marshalling the pace of play we have ever experienced.
As a 'two ball' we were never held up by high handicap 'four balls'. The ability to do this and not offend other golfers is a skill in course management and 'public relations'....well done guys !
The course is immaculately presented, with lush carpet like fairways and large fast greens.
Tee to green a really fair test of golf.
We have never seen so many different species of wildlife (deer,iguanas,coati etc.) and colourful birdlife on a golf course.
Club house food was excellent as was the service.
We took a lesson with Marcos Zauzu from the Jim McLean golf school.....Marcos is a naturally gifted teacher. He has all the latest hi-tech video analysis equipment to sort out your swing (though even he found my swing a challenge !).
If you play golf and are thinking of the Riveria Maya as a destination....don't miss El Camaleon...you're in for a real treat !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must play!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you're in the Cancun/Riviera Maya area, you must play this course. This Greg Norman design is difficult yet fair, well designed, and immaculately maintained. The greens are fast and true, the practice tee is tour quality, as is the putting/chipping area. I understand why the PGA stops here in November.
The real beauty of the course is in its design. Although most fairways are generous, water comes into play on most holes and if you're spraying the ball you'll need a few extra. Tee shots off the fairway will find water or mangroves...or both. Although the holes are near the shore really only 1 (technically 2) holes are within eyesight of the gulf. The short par 3 on the front offers a beautiful beach backdrop. Perfect photo op!
The back starts with a par 3 that edges up to the river on the right and ends with a fairly tight par 4. In between are some shorter birdy holes, all of which offer a variety of shots.
The wind may blow a little or often a lot, but you'll love the layout and along the way there'll be no shortage of wildlife. In our 2 rounds, we saw a couple of crocodiles, a few coatis, birds everywhere, and Iguanas guarding a few greens that were the size of small children.
So, open your wallet and bring a few extra balls and you'll have a memorable round of golf on one of the better tracts I've ever played.

The staff is as helpful and professional as you'd find on any top course.

Only one disappointing note....and management I hope you're reading. I'm always perplexed as to why a destination course of PGA quality has a fairly well equipped pro shop with a decent selection of apparel yet only has sizes in medium and xx large! Really? You've got 15 variations of shirts and I scrambled to gab the only large size available in any style and color before the next guy walked in. Inexcusable. The girl working at the time didn't seem the least bit fazed by my annoyance....as if its an everyday reaction.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, General Manager at El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Rich B,
Thank you for your sharing your impressions on El Camaleon, we agree with you that any golfer visiting Riviera Maya should consider playing with us. We take pride on offering the best golf facilities in the region and we certainly appreciate when a customer notices.
Regarding your comment on the apparel available at the pro shop, I wish I had a better explanation than to blame it on a successful season. We now have three new collections on display, but that does you no good at this point. We will certainly continue to work hard to keep the shop fully stocked and apologize for your inconvenience.

We look forward to welcome you at El Camaleon.
Sincerely,
Gregg Lown
Director of Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Super expensive! But the views from hole 7&15 are super amazing! We finished the round in about 2 1/2 hrs so they said we could play as much as we could get in before our ride showed up which was in about and hour and a half for no extra charge. We decided against that as we wanted to get back to the beach. So we decided to walk back to our resort on the beach, clubs and all! The started drown us the the 7th hole ans we hopped over the bushes& down the beach!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, General Manager at El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear misty p,
Thank you for your comments on the course, we agree with you that the ocean front holes 7 & 15 offer stunning views. We should have delivered your clubs to you at your resort when the shuttle arrived! Thank you for taking the time to post. I hope you enjoyed the other 16 holes, and the beach, as much as 7 and 15. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
Gregg Lown
Director of Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club to your Saves list