We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club

El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club
Carretera Federal Cancun- Playa del Carmen Km.298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
52 984 206 4650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 292 Activities in Playa del Carmen
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Super expensive! But the views from hole 7&15 are super amazing! We finished the round in about 2 1/2 hrs so they said we could play as much as we could get in before our ride showed up which was in about and hour and a half for no extra charge. We decided against that as we wanted to get back to the beach. So we decided to walk back to our resort on the beach, clubs and all! The started drown us the the 7th hole ans we hopped over the bushes& down the beach!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, General Manager at El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear misty p,
Thank you for your comments on the course, we agree with you that the ocean front holes 7 & 15 offer stunning views. We should have delivered your clubs to you at your resort when the shuttle arrived! Thank you for taking the time to post. I hope you enjoyed the other 16 holes, and the beach, as much as 7 and 15. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
Gregg Lown
Director of Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    35
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Must play...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Perfect conditions greens, fairways, bunkers....must play if given the chance. The playability for a pro course was appreciated, I cannot think of a negative statement to say about this course.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“a must play course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

the place is a great play for the driver, most holes are quite open, but like any course keep it in the fairway or pull out another ball and stroke

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, General Manager at El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Gracias Disco-dale! We hope you can visit and enjoy the course soon.
Gregg Lown
Director of Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular Golf Course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This golf course is top notch. Can see why the PGA holds a tour event at the facility. We are in to our 4th golf game this week at a different course everyday. So far Mayakoba golf course has been the best maintained and difficult. Practice area was perfect, tee boxes, fairways were perfect and the greens .. Just professional grade. Views from every tee box was spectacular as well as every green. We even saw a small gator on the back nine sunning itself in one of the small pockets of water. There are a lot of workers around the course working in the fairways filling divots or watering the greens. They definitely make sure the course is a priority. I would of provided a "5" rating however we were extremely disappointed when making any purchase. We payed for souvenirs, food and drinks etc with US currency. They would not provide US currency as change. The Pro Shop attendant said "we don't have US money". Even as we watched as two other golfers just purchased merchandise and paid with US currency prior to our purchase. Even in the bar when we bought drinks before and after the round, paid with US money and received pesos as change. We have played four prior golf courses, actually every place we went so far, has provided us US currency as change. Very Sad that this facility operates this way. Wonder what they will do in November for the PGA Tour .. probably that one week they will have US currency. So if you plan on playing Mayakoba, bring a lot of small bills to make purchases.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, General Manager at El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Richard and for your wonderful comments on the conditions of the golf course. We do make it a priority maintain the course in perfect condition.
Please note that it is by law that we cannot give change back in USD or any other foreign currency, all transactions must be made in the local currency and so the change is provided in Mexican Pesos. We will not discourage payments by credit card at any time and that option is always available, even on the Beverage Cart. We pride ourselves more on our Service than our course conditions, so we hope to Wow you with service on your next visit to El Camaleon.
Sincerely,
Gregg Lown
Director of Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Excellent Golf and lessons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Tough Golf course - very challenging - nicely cared for great location. Expensive. We had a playing lesson that was wonderful. highly recommend

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear harlemfamily,
Thank you for playing at El Camaleon during your recent visit to Riviera Maya and for taking the time to write about it on TripAdvisor.
I’m pleased to read that you took advantage of a golf clinic at the Jim McLean Golf School at Mayakoba, and hope that it helped you improved your game immediately after.
Looking forward to welcome you back,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club also viewed

Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.