We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfing in paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club

El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club
Carretera Federal Cancun- Playa del Carmen Km.298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
52 984 206 4650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 292 Activities in Playa del Carmen
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Golfing in paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was my second and third time playing El Camaleon Mayakoba - home of the PGA Tour stop in November. I love this course. Plenty of room to get in trouble, but the course is in wonderful shape. The views, the challenge, the service are all top notch. Played twice, and am looking forward to returning next year. My golf was arranged by Cheryl at Tee'd Off Golf and she made it so easy for us! Muchas Gracious!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    34
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great golf course by Greg Norman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I first visited this fantastic golf course last year during the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic. I truly liked the course, its design, location and how beautifully manicured it was. I returned this year to play it and it was great to see the course as good or even in better condition than it was at the tournament. I played from the back tees and found it playable notwithstanding the 20 to 25 miles per hour wind at some holes. It is truly a memorable course with great service and none of the red tape or stuffiness that you might expect at such a unique course. They seem genuinely happy that you are there. If you love golf do not miss this fantastic course. It is only a 40 minute drive from the Hotel Area in Cancun. About 5 miles from Playa del Carmen

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear a_B_Eduardo,
Thank you for your comments on El Camaleon. Reading your review is a wonderful testimony of the hard work that is done every day to keep the course in impeccable conditions. As you are familiar with the PGA event, we hope to welcome you back in November for this year’s edition of the OHL Classic at Mayakoba.
Sincerely.
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“gorgeous course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are someone who appreciates the game, this is a must course to play if you are in the area. Site of a PGA tour event, the Greg Norman course is literally carved out of the jungle with three holes on the ocean. Not cheap, but well worth the round if it is in your price range.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear forerichard,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent visit to El Camaleon. We are very happy that you consider it a must-visit golf course when in Riviera Maya and we look forward to welcome you back.
Regards,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We played this course and you just can not believe how nice this course is. Cost a pretty penny but no matter your handicap you will enjoy this course.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Worth the money? not by the standards of great American courses. But this course had some wonderful holes and is in great shape.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club also viewed

Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Camaleon Mayakoba Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.