We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and quiet in the centre of downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cielo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cielo to your Saves list
Hotel Cielo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4th street, between 5th and 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Winnipeg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and quiet in the centre of downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was my first stay at Cielo, although I have stayed in Playa del Carmen many times over the past ten years. the rooms offered vary in size depending on your budget and personal requirements. rooms were very clean, well lit and best of all, within a short distance of 5 th Avenue I never had my sleep disturbed by street noise. With only one entrance which is constantly monitored the hotel is safe and secure. Staff, from the owner to front end staff and cleaners are always friendly and helpful. Two additional gems associated with this hotel are the restaurant next door (part of the hotel) and the so far only partially developed rooftop. Go up on the roof at night and I swear you can hear the Nylons singing "up on the Roof" with a Mexican accent of course. I loved my two weeks at Hotel Cielo and I will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have less of a view but are great for sleeping. rooms in the front may be noisier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you Chefdiverdon for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a great vacation experience. Thank you for mentioning the staff & coming from a chef, we really appreciate the mentioning of our restaurant Carboncitos, it really means a lot to us. Don, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya .
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    160
    29
    8
    11
See reviews for
84
251
75
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It was a toss up between booking a time share or this spot and glad we went with this option. Expenses in Mexico can add up- from excursions to meals to shopping to tipping- so this was a good deal. Staff was great- met the one of the owners, also from NYC. Overall, the convenient location is what sold us. If you are looking for a resort with a spa and pool, then don't come here. BUT if you are looking for a bargain that is close to the beach and the main strip, and whose staff pride themselves in customer service, then consider this spot. Great restaurant recommendations too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you Mrsdnyc for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you had a chance to experience our warmth & charm. And yes , you are correct, we do pride ourselves in great customer service, when I took over the management back in Feb 2011 I made a promise to bring back great customer service, not the mediocre customer service that you & I both have been accepting as good customer service. We feel this is what separates us from the rest of the hotels here in Playa & we thank you & our other guests for sharing their experience here on TA, it really means a lot to us. Mrsdnyc, we know there are many hotels here in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya .
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A very small and basic hotel right in the heart of Playa Del Carmen. Within steps from 5th Avenue and all the beach clubs, this hotel is perfectly located. Our package was room only basis but this still entitled us to 50% off breakfast in the ajoined restaurant Carboncitas and 10% off all other times.
The regular basic rooms are definitely no frills, dark and small which we fully expected when booking but unfortunately after a few days sick in our room, it became a very depressing sight. Lucky for us the wonderful and ever helpful Miguel in reception upgraded us to on of the bigger rooms for our last few nights. Miguel was fantastic throughout our whole stay and nothing was ever too much trouble.
The hotel provided 10% discount to the local beach clubs, Bad boys, Wicky's & fusion and also rented out beach towels at a 200 peso deposit
All in all a very cute hotel, definitely perfect for location and staff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you SUEYF for your review. Its terrible to get sick & especially when on vacation,we hope you are feeling much better. We appreciate the 5 star comment and Miguel was delighted to hear that you mentioned him. We know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen so we thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I spent 4 nights here recently and couldn't have been happier. Beautifully tiled floors, air conditioning, clean room and incredibly helpful and friendly staff. I had a number of questions and their staff were more than willing to book tickets, suggest great local spots and go out of their way. Its a stone's throw from the beach and right in the heart of all the action, but as its set back just off the main strip you aren't affected by any of the noise. I used this as a greaet place to base myself while I took day trips to Akumal and a number of local cenotes. I'll definitely be back,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you Matt D for taking the time to write your review. "Perfect Oasis"..... love the title, thanks, much appreciated. We are delighted that you had a great vacation experience & that you had a chance to feel our warmth & charm. Thank you for mentioning the staff, they are such an important part of our team & they really make Cielo shine. Matt, we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I'm impressed how clean and well laid out this property is. There is just a hand full of rooms, with a highly rated restaurant adjacent to hotel, very personal service and with the restaurant discounts you can eat like a king at the property or close by restaurants on 4th heading west. Very enjoyable and happy to recommend. I'll make sure to book here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you Bizatl for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you were impressed with our little hotel. Thank you for mentioning our restaurant & the service, our staff will always go the extra mile & they really enjoy creating great vacation experiences.
Bizatl , we know there are many hotels in Playa del Carmen so we thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we hope to see you when you return to the beautiful Riviera Maya
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is total comfort. The staff is very helpful. The rooms are clean with tiled floors and comfortable beds. The water pressure could be higher but it is acceptable. For the cost it was a great deal. The location is wonderful you can walk all over town or rent a bike or scooter a block away. Your breakfast is half off at Carboncitos which is a great restaurant. Anything I asked of the staff was taken care of with no problems. Would stay here for sure next trip to Playa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you Redhare54 for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & had a chance to experience our warmth & charm. We really appreciate the kind words & thank you for mentioning the staff, they really are the best. Redhare , we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for choosing Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you on your return to the beautiful Mayan Riviera.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is my third visit to the Hotel Cielo and it keeps getting better & better, on this trip I found that they had renovated all the rooms with most comfortable beds, the service and staff are always a pleasure especially Miguel & Abraham, they were nice enough to upgrade me since I had stayed there before, they also hooked me up with some great restaurant recommendations, try Romeos for the best Italian food in Playa ( my opinion )

Room Tip: Ask them for a upgrade and if they can they will
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCielo, Owner at Hotel Cielo, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you Marco Polo 9 for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & that you had a great vacation experience. Thank you for noticing our recent up grades,The beds, I know, they are the most comfortable mattresses, some times when the hotel wasn't full, I wouldn't return home just so I could sleep in heaven, then house keeping threw me out & I had to buy one myself. And the staff really enjoy the reviews, they are our extended family & really enjoy what they do, we appreciate the kind words. I also see you took advantage of my restaurant list, I enjoy Romeos as well, I eat there at least 3 times a week. Marco Polo, we know there are many hotels in Playa Del Carmen, so thank you for continuing to choose Hotel Cielo & we look forward to seeing you on your return to the sunny Riviera.Maya.
Owner / Manager
Steven Krisztin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo

Address: 4th street, between 5th and 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Santa Barbara)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cielo is a cute little boutique style hotel located steps to the beach, in the heart of the "original Playa." Our rooms start as low as $69 per night, balcony rooms with Caribbean views start at $109. Come see why people rave about our incredible value, friendly service, comfortable rooms and Highly Rated restaurant,Carboncitos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cielo Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.